Gavilon Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 14 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51
47
33
21
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gavilon
Sr IT Project Leader (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 15, 2016
The diversity of the work is what kept me working here along with the
good people that I worked with.
Pros
The pay is good and the people that you work with are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company for earning advancement
Geographic Information Systems Intern (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 26, 2016
Management is firm and knowledgeable; can guide and motivate you with their passion for achievement and self-advancement. I was a GIS intern, and my manager taught me as much coding and database management as I was interested in learning. My team was small, and the two of us (manager and intern) were the only employees doing geographic work. Hardest part of the job was the data grind, but there was a large amount of freedom to investigate and innovate ideas. My four star review on security and advancement are related to advancement - at least in the GIS team, there was no opportunity to advance or get a full-time job. It seemed that I would be an intern for as long as I was willing to be an intern, but I *was* paid, and paid well, so being an intern wasn't bad, only dead-ended. However, it did seem that if you were a trader, the sky was the limit, based on how hard you wanted to work. Other departments, like accounting and HR, did seem limited.
Pros
Great culture, prime location, amenities
Cons
No full time positions available in GIS team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool environment not much career growth
Accountant I (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 11, 2016
Not a lot of ways to move up. The environment is different, very fast paced, and anything really goes here. Management not very professional. not alot of boundaries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable group to work with
Finance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 31, 2015
Gavilon is well located in downtown Omaha to entice talent on both side of the river. The benefits are great with enjoyable co-workers who made working there a positive experience.
Pros
Location
Cons
Insular
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a contractor with Gavilon
Trader Assistant (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 1, 2015
I am a contractor with Gavilon and am here on a temporary basis.What I have experienced is all good. The people and training are excellent and the work life balance is wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gavilon
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 24, 2015
The receptionist position was good however, they did not have enough work for the desk. Great company, beautiful building and wonderful employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management Duct tape fix for everything
Scale operator (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute InMarch 12, 2015
Management takes no responsibility....but can u blame them they have no clue how a elevator runs....hard work low pay no advance not a career place unless u want to live poor
Pros
we did whatever we wanted cause nobody else New anything
Cons
company thinks a degree makes u superior, Dumbest management I've seen
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good company
Elevator Laborer (Former Employee) –  Abilene, KSJanuary 20, 2015
The people I worked with were awesome. But if you want a life other then working this is not the place. No advancement opportunities at all unless you are a Merchandiser. Pay is terrible for the work you are required. Management isn't for good also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a number
hourly nothin (Current Employee) –  new carlisleNovember 21, 2014
New managment believes this is a prison and views the employees as replaceable...you work outside and they dont believe in breaks..You are expected to work whenever for as long as they want...
Pros
There is a fridge in breakroom
Cons
You're not allowed to go in the breakroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entertaining
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Abilene, KSMay 22, 2014
Great company to work for. They teach you what you need to know. Employees are great and freindly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company for those with good work ethic and attention to detail
BUSINESS LEADERSHIP INTERN (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 5, 2012
Company provides learning and support through educational programs. Managers and executives are accessable and eager to help. Colleagues often assist on projects across departments. Performance is closely measured with strong emphasis on value added but many tools are offered to help reach goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operator
heavy equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ALAugust 15, 2012
running the grain elevator and excavator, giving commands
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 17Report

See more Gavilon reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gavilon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question