GCG Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management - No HR Protection
Project Manager, Operations (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 18, 2018
Management decisions reflected personal choices. HR was run by the onsite manager and violated several policies including retribution for stating legitimate complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In The Beginning, It Was A Dream Job
Headquarters Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lake Success, NYMarch 22, 2018
The first 3 years were great. However, after a shift in management, things began to change drastically, and the long-timers were either leaving in droves by choice or being forced to. That made things incredibly stressful after a while.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are great.
Banking Administrator (Former Employee) –  Lake Success, NYMarch 19, 2018
There are positive and negatives to every company you work at. GCG is no different. Communication is so important and management must learn that. Not the worse company I have worked at.
Pros
Good Work/Life Balance
Cons
Not very Transparent as they claim to be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and Friendly Atmosphere
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Success, NYMarch 7, 2018
Sometimes, the days brought stress where you felt like you couldn't breathe. Other days, you could enjoy going to work.

Over 20 years, the duties were diversified and I gained a considerable amount of knowledge. Working with different departments was rewarding.

When you are at a company for that period of time, the friends you make become family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in GCG
Business Analyst\Software Test Engineer (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 7, 2018
There were lot of unsettling changes with the company and management vision kept changing constantly. Upper management didn't care if their employees\reports are happy or never had time to connect with employees to find out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling Company
Associate (Former Employee) –  Lake Success, NYFebruary 24, 2018
Unprofitability and deep layoffs have left the company bereft of talent. Morale is low. A new management team is trying to turn the company around, but industry trends are bad.

Management is a mixed bag, like most places: some great, some terrible.
Pros
You can wear jeans if you want
Cons
The company is shrinking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Claims Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hammond, LAFebruary 18, 2018
the best company that i ever worked for. unfortunately my job ended due to lack of work in this area. they know how to treat their employees. very caring and compassionate
Pros
competitive pay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 10, 2018
Do not recommend anyone working at GCG. This company will find a way to end your employment without cause as quickly as you can snap your fingers. I do not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Manager (Former Employee) –  New Hyde Park, NYFebruary 3, 2018
The company is falling apart. There is definitely an issue with stability. Management is doing a poor job. The work is plenty but the pay is little. Take from the poor, give to the rich mentality.
Cutting costs in all the wrong places.
Pros
Good people to work with, pool table, kitchen cafe
Cons
short breaks, expensive health insurance, mediocre employee benefits, low pay, poor management, instability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work review
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 1, 2018
not the best place to work at, you can be let go at any moment for anything. do not work at this company, and career advancement. only good thing is getting paid every every week.
Pros
the pay
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Leadership
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHFebruary 1, 2018
There is no development and or support from the upper management team. They do not appreciate their employees or make them feel valued. (Unless you're in the director's personal "in crowd") There was obvious favoritism among the management team.
Pros
The HR Manager at least acknowledges the need for change
Cons
The Director Eric Weber has created a negative culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but the company is in trouble financially
Sr. Claims Control Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYJanuary 15, 2018
GCG has always been a good place to work until the current Administration took over, which resulted in mass layoffs and corporate reconstruction. The place is filled with loyal workers who were lifetime employees and recently given pink slips so the moral is very low and depressing as of 10/2016 to present (1/2018).
Pros
Medical Dental Vision Benefits
Cons
High deductibles for coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHDecember 30, 2017
Stressful work environment, poor benefits and pay. Very hard to advance, nepotism is the culture, you are safe as long as the boss likes you. You are overworked an not well compensated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an in and out kinda job.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHDecember 11, 2017
Temp job nothin really exciting . Picked up calls for claims on settlements. Very slow paced and not really much room for advancing within the company.
Pros
Pay ok
Cons
Sitting around doing nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Project Administrator, Operations (Current Employee) –  Dublin, OHDecember 3, 2017
I absolutely love what I do on a daily basis. They've been very accommodating with my schedule. Theyve taught Me supervisory skills. Just not sure if there's job advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Place to Work
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Dublin, OH 43017December 1, 2017
I have been with the company for almost 5 years. Pleasant atmosphere and great team work. The management is always there to help and had most of the answers to my question.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gcg
Litigation Administration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 25, 2017
I was hired as an temporary, I help to complete a assignment that addressed the Horizon Gulf Coast Crisis. I supported the call center team. I help to update the legal aspects of the legal settlement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHOctober 22, 2017
Get to sorting the mail and distribute. pay attention to detail and be productive. Left the job because I was treated unfairly AGAIN. I loved my job and they realized they messed up on this hard working and reliable woman.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough
PM (Current Employee) –  NYOctober 17, 2017
GCG has some awesome people who are overlooked and underappreciated. This makes for a challenging work environment, and there seems to be a lack of talent the higher up one goes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laxed environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHSeptember 18, 2017
It was fine but it was a temporary position. They started at $15.00 several years ago, but unsure it has been increased. It should have been increased.
Pros
laxed environment
Cons
You are required to read your responses verbitum while on the phone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GCG. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 142 reviews
530
435
338
217
122

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture