GCI Employee Reviews

Found 84 reviews matching the search See all 100 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Network Administrator III (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 24, 2019
Tons of work and tons of opportunity to learn. Lots of good times in urban and rural Alaska. The way employees are treated is second to none if you have a solid work ethic.
Pros
Free food, training, overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Distrito de LisboaJanuary 9, 2019
GCI was one of my best professional adventures. Beijg selected as Accout Executive for GCI in April 2017 was a game-changer for me as I had the opportunity to contibute to the PR of the Web Summit, the biggest tech & startups event.

A definitely ‘yes’ if I had to come back!
Pros
Excellent working-environment; opportunity to develop my career;
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKDecember 26, 2018
Great environment to walk into each morning, team player type of company, having contest made working fun and something to work towards. Best job I've had to date, would go back and work there again in a heartbeat
Pros
Awesome environment, great incentives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  AlaskaDecember 23, 2018
GCI likes to get the most out of their employees. The culture there is work hard every day and if you are liked, you will be compensated for it. The company is growing too fast and the management team have no technology background so it makes it hard for the company to succeed.
Pros
Pay, Benefits.
Cons
not consistent policy structure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Sales Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKDecember 4, 2018
Learning new things constantly to broaden my knowledge on products and billing systems. GCI allowed me to grow as an individual and taught me so much about management. The camaraderie among the different departments was genuine and the company has a family feel to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gci
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKDecember 2, 2018
GCI was a fun working environment. The managers were polite and took time to assist individuals. It was a fast pace work place. You were given all the resources to succeed.
Pros
Management
Cons
Fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Support
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 26, 2018
Enjoy working here with knowledgeable people that are always willing to help each other out. Advancement opportunities are there but you have to work hard and prove your work. I would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is decent but not much else
Retail Store Specialist (Former Employee) –  Juneau, AKNovember 21, 2018
i was forced to work long hours, often times, without an official lunch break. The pay was average, with commission it was decent. But the issue is, commission was often denied with no reason or feedback given so a person cannot correct the issue. Under the management that is in place when i was employed there, if anyone missed a day due to illness, you were disqualified from progressing or getting promoted for 6 monthsK
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging and fun
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 6, 2018
Fun, competitive and challenging environment. Great co-workers and challenging projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data entry on spreadsheets, updating correct information into company software.
Logistics Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKOctober 31, 2018
Reviewing software information that needed updating, doing research into input given from customers for quality services that were going through new system. Management was good overall. The workplace culture was excellent and was easy going and relaxed. The hardest part of the job was finding out exactly what my supervisor wanted at the beginning of employment. And a lot of questions needed to be asked before finding out how they wanted it done. The most enjoyable part of this job was the people I worked with.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
This was temporary employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 23, 2018
Great benefits with a wonderful culture. Plenty o paid time off and HSA options. There is a transition happening at GCI but I think change can be good. Overall I would work for them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Lifeguard and instructor (Former Employee) –  Greeley, COAugust 16, 2018
The job was not hard but the hours and time spent in the water took a toll on the body. The supervisor is wonderful and does her best to work with hours. You work a lot with the elderly and young children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMay 13, 2018
I would work there again! Friendly co workers and great benifits as a full time employee you receive dental and health! The discounts on products and service was definitely a plus!
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMay 3, 2018
I love the management, like the work atmosphere and I've enjoyed working with GCI. Learning new things everyday is my routine, I love meeting new people everyday at the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company constantly changing
Universal Service Fund Manager (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKApril 26, 2018
We are very reactive instead of proactive. GCI employees are smart and talented individuals to work with. Pay and benefits are competitive. The job is stressful. The culture is chaos. A lot of inefficient systems, so heavy reliance on Excel.
Pros
7 hours PTO every pay period
Cons
lack of communication between depts/silos
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at family oriented
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Wasilla, AKApril 4, 2018
A nice place to work at with competitive pay for the Mat-Su. There is a diverse group of people that works there. Working with the public is great experience. You meet all walks of life.
Pros
They have health coverage and 401K package
Cons
You tend to have to go through a lot of managers to figure out a simple question sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Environment
Wireless Data Administrative II (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKApril 3, 2018
The networking side of the business was very fast-paced, constantly changing, and very stressful. The positions often times called for after hours on-call and overtime was always available. The hardest past of the job was balancing the after hours work with home life. The other majors issues were the constant changes to the network and trying to stay abreast of the changes and technology. The most enjoyable was the understanding and flexibility of management. There is always something to learn, however, with the work load, there is not always time. It is not uncommon for only one person to know how certain equipment worked and was configured. This information is only for the networking side, I know the other departments operated differently.
Pros
Overtime, great benefits, opportunities for advancement
Cons
Stressful, fast-paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, productive workplace
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 14, 2018
Friendly atmosphere with high expectations regarding job performance. There are quite a few employee incentive programs to encourage excellent customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Subject Matter Expert (SME) (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAMarch 2, 2018
Great place to work, excellent opportunity to learn new skills, training, work/life balance, people and culture. Unfortunately they were purchased by another defense contractor.
Pros
Excellent benefits and pay
Cons
Got bought out by a large conglomerate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace and Benefits
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  AKFebruary 20, 2018
Fun culture, great benefits, really cares about employees and customers. Training programs could be improved however management is great! Customers can be difficult but GCi offers solutions for all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport