GDS Group Employee Reviews

Found 32 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for professionals
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 16, 2018
This is a company for fresh starters, right out of college. The money can be really good for someone who does well, especially if they still live at home and dont have many bills. But this is not a place for seasoned professionals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summit Sales
Summit Sales (Former Employee) –  MiamiJuly 10, 2018
Open management and supportive team members. Good money and the commission is uncapped. After you hit your target you go on accelerators so your normal commission structure goes on overdrive. You wanna hit that target early in the year!
A lot of change this year,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Environment, Poor Management
Sales Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 22, 2018
GDS has been known for its cut-throat, fast paced environment since they got here a little over 10 years ago. Under-perform and you will get cut from the team. I recommend bringing your A-game.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at GDS!!!
Business Development Executive (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2018
The culture is amazing at GDS. It is a positive environment to work in. Everyone here has a passion for success & we are like a family, that massively celebrates the wins! This is why GDS is so successful in what they do, putting in the hours and putting in the hard work gets your results!!! At the end of the day, life is hard work you are what you make it.
Pros
Transparent commission structure, Continuous training and career progression, Good and achievable incentives, Great healthcare benefits
Cons
Sometimes you need to work longer hours, but the result is worth the hard work!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold Calling Marketing Center
Advertising Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2018
The Job is for heavy drinking fresh out of College Type. Not a place I wish to work or recommend someone to work for. Encourages young impressionable sales people to be aggressive and sell what even knowing what the product and service they are selling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of people to work with, definitely a work hard play hard environment
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLDecember 6, 2017
come into the office by 745 in the morning, catch up with my team leader and teammates on projects and deadlines, start getting on the phones with my senior level executives clients and continue working on finding solutions to the challenges they are facing with day to day, get a 15 minute break, play some ping pong, get some coffee then get back to work until lunch, after lunch begin scheduled phone meetings and maybe get in some training if any are being offered and by 430 wrapping it up and calling it a day. I most enjoy the breaks in-between to get a breather and to gain some positive energy usually playing ping pong or participating in team building activities with my coworkers in order to be able to push harder and work harder when the break is over. The culture is diverse and fun which makes working here so nice. Management is always going around the floor and listening into our calls to provide more insight on our product that we may have missed or may have not explained enough in detail. I learn something new every day.
Pros
office fun day out events, team building activities, proactive management and trainings, great healthcare plan, great salary and opportunity to make a lot of commission
Cons
need to conduct more salary reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging, efficient, productive and fun workplace
Business Development Executive (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 27, 2017
I have worked with the gds family for 3 years.

At gds I have learned how to be a leader and how to communicate and build long lasting relationships with top level executives.

I am thankful most for my managers who helped me achieve these skills. Though the job requires skill and hard work, the ambiance was always fun and comforting.

Great starting salary plus commission with health, dental, and vision care.

Office days out and the team building activities were the best. Things like this pushes one to work harder.
Pros
Leadership support and a lot of mentoring throughout, good compensation, healthcare benefits and paid vacation days
Cons
Unfortunately not enough locations, I had to relocate for personal reasons and I would have loved to continue my career with gds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with a great training structure to prepare you for success
Business Development Executive (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLNovember 21, 2017
What I appreciate most about this company is how much management genuinely cares about your work productivity as well as success. The training is ongoing which is great because you learn something new everyday. You learn your strengths and you battle out your weaknesses with the support of your team. Like any business development position, it can be challenging when needing to meet goals, but if you put in the effort and work hard it definitely pays off and more.
Pros
Great incentives, recognizes productivity and success, management support, pro-active training system, office days out, team-building activities, good commission structure with a nice base salary, great benefits
Cons
might need to travel on some occassions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High intensity selling enviornment with young management
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2017
aggressive selling environment with out of the box tactics.

a fun atmosphere overall with lots of team building activities and ping pong in the back of the office.

Downfall was that the office was run by youths. The managers and higher level office executives did not have much experience.
Pros
Fun, good work life balance
Cons
young atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for long term growth
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 21, 2017
Very unethical place that did things that most would find inappropriate. I would never recommend anyone I liked to work here. If you're looking for a college type of atmosphere, you found the right place.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont Work Here Its Horrible
Sr. Project Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 6, 2017
So ive worked at GDS for 2 years and you can make money here if you okay with lying to people daily and burning bridges. there is no leadership at GDS Group aka GDS International all management get fired every three weeks. the CEO is out of touch, No HR, Drugs are everywhere.

the typical day is get on linkedin and spam people. its more so a time share pitch you lie on the phone and email to get people to these amazing resorts to then get 3 days of vendor pitches.

all in all i wouldn't recommend this pace unless your good at it because if your not good you'll get fired your first 60 days.

also they pay people 35k-40k starting which cant pay for any real bills.

just dont do it.
Pros
fun people at the office
Cons
Spencer Green is the worst CEO ever, Management is nonexistent, horrible pay, commission check are always wrong, drugs everywhere, pure boiler room
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for growth
Delegates (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 19, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job are the other colleagues you work with.

Management is not there
Questionable company policies.
No room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn about sales
Sales Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10005March 23, 2017
You will quickly learn how to be resilient and live in and hunter type of world. This is not for somebody who takes rejection easy but it will help to build thick skin.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Delegate Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 15, 2017
Poor Management
Unqualified Personnel
Learned Nothing
Want to Leave
Stuck
It is not the best place to work but if you need a job they will hire you if you sound educated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive work environment. Great pay/benefits
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Wall Street, NYDecember 29, 2016
I loved working for GDS. It was challenging, fun and very rewarding. There's plenty of chances to shine and be rewarded for success. Very fun and friendly atmosphere!
Pros
High dollar commissions. Fun environment. Great base salary.
Cons
Hard work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childish frat environment with drugs readily available
Senior IT Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2016
The culture is bias based on the clique you are associated with. If you are an 'A' type personality, you might not fare well. But if you enjoy drugs, not too bright and do not question much, this is the work environment that you might thrive in.
Pros
Drugs
Cons
Drugs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Commission Scale, Cyclical Market
Senior Director, Digital Outreach Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2016
Success depends on specific assignments.

Some Projects REQUIRE more work then others. Success not guaranteed due to inconsistency in project assignments driven by upper management decisions which often tend to be inconvenient.

Peer to Peer work is engagement and often entertaining.

Work with clients highly rewarding for your career and income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks better than it feels
Delegate Acquisition Director - GDS International (Former Employee) –  Wall Street, NYJune 27, 2016
I worked for this company for 2 years and was thrown away without a second thought or notice or warning as a patsy for the incorrect handling of a project by the management. On the smaller scale, your direct managers are there to help you and there is a potential for big earnings. Anything over them though, and you will not only not receive the help you need, you will be held responsible for when it goes wrong and not given credit when it goes right.
Pros
High $$ potential
Cons
Micromanaging at every angle, terrible leadership, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal daily tasks
Meet The Boss TV (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 14, 2015
A lot of the sales people I work with are terrible when it comes to friendliness. Some of them either think they are better then you or they just don't have any manners and will not even acknowledge you in the elevator. They won't hold the door on the elevator even if they see you coming towards it. I always wonder if they actually realize they are just sales people, like many others...nothing special about them!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2015
People are not friendly at all. They lied at the interview about the company. People are leaving the company like every single week new people are coming
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GDS Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 69 reviews
524
416
314
26
19

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

GDS Group Reviews by Location