GENERAL ELECTRIC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
your skills will be recognised
Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Salem, VAMarch 24, 2018
HIGH STANDARDS WITH COMMENSURATE REWARDS. Surrounded by intelligent people willing to share their knowledge. Constructive criticism is received, and if not implemented reasons are given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Operations Supervisor-Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCMarch 23, 2018
Management will cut your throat to save their butt. Other than that I loved it. People were great. Hours were great. Benefits great! yada yada yada yada!
Pros
everything
Cons
Pete Sullivan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo amigable
operaria de produccion (Former Employee) –  Añasco, PRMarch 22, 2018
Mi evaluación fue muy buena durante el tiempo que estuve trabajando allí. Yo siempre traté de cumplir con todas las expectativas en mi área de trabajo
Pros
Seguro médico, 401k, horas de enfermedad, vacaciones, descanso y estiramiento
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Craft Certified Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mattoon, ILMarch 22, 2018
Good place to wok with a medium pace. i run product that required the adjustment of the machine or a rebuild of parts using various shop machines as in lathes,mills.
The management didn't communicate with others well.
i met a great group of friends there that will continue on through other functions.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Lack of top management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Manufacturing Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYMarch 21, 2018
They do not care about their empolyees and the benefits are horrible. I would not recomment this job to anyone. Go work somewhere else that will care about you.
Pros
money
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greate high technology company and you can learn a lot
Senior Director – Global DevOps Leader (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutMarch 20, 2018
There will be always some challenges to resolve to make customer happy. You will learn a high tech and start adding more value. Simplification and fastwork culture has been introduced and all the employees take an advantage to get things done removing waste. GE leaders will conduct very often workshop to brainstorm "As-IS" and "TO-BE" processes or new product invention, etc... which is most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opinion
Finisher/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Erie, PAMarch 19, 2018
I don't see this relevant to applying for a job. General Electric is a world wide company that of course it is a great job. A company spread so far out obviously certain sections of it will get slow, so you make your own choices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had.
Automated Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCMarch 19, 2018
Best place to work, till they closed the plant and sold the division.Enjoyed my job and retired with a pension. Almost unheard of in this time, wish I could go back. Fine product, now it belongs to ABB
Pros
learn everything about running a company
Cons
Sold out by top level managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work under current circumstances
Executive Leader (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 18, 2018
Challenging to keep teams motivated and focused on work in the midst of significant changes at GE. Current management team also challenged to fix the ills of past leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job interesant , secundary recuperation .
MATERIALS CONTROL. INVENTARIOS. (Former Employee) –  HOUSTON,TX OR NEW YORKMarch 18, 2018
Enterprice of important jobs in the petroleum indutry, his labors very eficient in the uplift artificial with electrosumerhible pump.
Pros
La preocupacion de la empresa por la salud de sus empleados es admirable
Cons
Muy consiente la empresa por permitir servirse un aperitivo
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Machine Operator / Mill Machining (Current Employee) –  Rutland, VT 05701March 17, 2018
working at GE is fast paced and demand Ive learned to operate mill machines and bench pieces the supervisors are supportive understanding when you need the day off
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GE takes care of its employees
CNC Waterjet Operator (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAMarch 16, 2018
GE offered so much to its employees. Great great discount on a new car. Always room for advancement.Showed they care about their employees. 150 150 150
Pros
Its GE enough said
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro-managed
Operator (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaMarch 15, 2018
Management is more numbers based than safety. Many issues were raised about unsafe conditions, and nothing was ever done. Multiple injuries, and then refusal to be treated as workers comp. Management would promise raises, to tell employees months later that "they get paid about average what the industry does", and to be thankful. Engineers are overstaffed, and under trained. Management will come out and insult employees based on their standing in the company. Machines and tooling that were broken, either were not replaced, or were modified to "work good enough".

While this may be different in comparison to other locations, it was the case at my location.
Pros
Starting pay isn't bad. But after four years, an increase would be nice.
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Operations leader (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIMarch 13, 2018
Very Good company to work for.. GE takes care of it's employees. Excellent management team.. great benefits. Great work envornment. great team spirit.
Pros
take care of it's employees
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work depending on the employees you work around.
PROCESSOR II (Former Employee) –  Decatur, AlMarch 12, 2018
Days are undetermined based on how production runs that day, equipment or employees. It's a fast pace place of employment but easy to catch on. There are days that employees are rewarded for their work, just not through pay raise.
Pros
Exciting job for someone who likes to stay busy. A rewarding job feeling wise.
Cons
Pay is the con even though I really loved working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grear work environment
Sr, System Engineer (contract) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 11, 2018
Great Company to work for highly productive work place,
Fast paced , Friendly employees, Great Management
Good working culture and diverse environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun projects to work on....work/life balance difficult to maintain
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 11, 2018
I really enjoy working on aircraft engines. I've learned to really grow as an engineer at GE especially beyond my degrees.

There are very long hours, little effort by management to build experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hourly employees are treated like machines.
Machine Operator A (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCMarch 10, 2018
The work for hourly employees is dangerous and almost guaranteed to cause health problems. You are trading your health for a higher wage, although the hourly employees they hire now are on a lower pay scale. There was a concerted effort to get rid of the older, higher paid employees by any means possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great corporation
Senior Supply Chain Analyst (Former Employee) –  ft myers, flMarch 9, 2018
I enjoyed my time with GE. It was a great learning experience and definitely shaped my professional career. Worked with some wonderful individuals. Enjoyed working with organizations in supplier management.
Pros
working with overseas teams
Cons
miicromanagers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In spite of many things that may be negative, I still feel cery fortunate to work here.
Power Plant Operator (Current Employee) –  Lynn, massMarch 8, 2018
I work a rotating shift in the Lynn plant. While trying to adjust the hours to make the schedule easier, the managers attitude was, "what's in it for me? ", as if it wasn't enough to make life a little better for the employee. Overall, they do have decent pay and benefits, and after over a decade here, I still count myself as fortunate to be employed here.
Pros
Excellent hourly rate. Work isn't taxing.
Cons
No more pension, 10 year progression schedule before new hire get full rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport