General Mills Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 1,459 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5547
4509
3266
279
158
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,004 reviews matching the search See all 1,458 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 15, 2018
fast paced, large workload, work environment pleasant, many opportunities to volunteer and give back to the community, learning and development opportunities abundant
Pros
fast paced, large workload
Cons
fast paced, large workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but cutting back in wrong areas
Advanced Analyst (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNAugust 13, 2018
Consumers and the business are changing and company is struggling to adapt. Seemed to be cutting back in wrong places--eg: too many layoffs. Need better LONG TERM strategy as every decision lately seems way too short-sighted.
Pros
Great history, good tools, good front line managers
Cons
Focus on wrong things, too short-sighted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNAugust 12, 2018
It was a great place to work. It was very rewarding and have plenty of chances to grow. It was very relaxed and inviting to work there. you got 3 30 minute breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would like to have job at general mill as packer
Packers and Packagers, Hand (Current Employee) –  12747 Bluffton rd Fort Wayne IN 46809August 11, 2018
I would like to have a job at general mill as packer. I like this job because this job help with my family and my life. Also it's near by my house it took my fifteen minute to drive to my house
Pros
I like this job
Cons
I like this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Start Career
Sr. Research & Development Engineer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 10, 2018
Lots of responsibility given to early career employees... which (assuming you have a good manager) advances learning and development. Good benefits and work life balance.
Pros
Work Life Balance, Early Career Development
Cons
Highly matrixed organization leads to very slow decision making
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at general mills
Cashier/Photo Assistant/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 10, 2018
my typical day at general mills would be to sit and wait to call to work from a attendance sheet and you were not guarantee to work if the work load was light and that section was full for that night.
Pros
none
Cons
worst job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job
Lifting (Former Employee) –  Hannibal, MOAugust 10, 2018
It was different even though I love cereal I was hard seeing it every where but watching the cereal bar be mad was great and the people are so nice and if I still lives there I be still working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and productive work environment.
Scale Operator/Grain Handler (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 9, 2018
It was a great place to work! We got great benefits including dental, medical, and vision. It was a safe place to work and the people are great! If I wasn’t moving I would stay at the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really a bad place
General Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  Covington, GAAugust 9, 2018
It's really is a fun place to work the GMIs are really cool and laid back you learn how to run different lines at different paces. You get to learn how to build totes, how to take samples from the product and so much more. Just know during the summer months it does get hot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 9, 2018
Love it! nice managers, lots of vacation, they pay for your car, cellphone, internent and gas! great relaxed environments with lots of benefits. i would recomend!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benifits poor working conditions.
Floater (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 9, 2018
Good job with good benefits. Lacks off time and career advancement. Typically only off 2 to 3 days a month. Union based business that offers no opportunities to advance and learn new skills.
Pros
Good benifits and pay.
Cons
Only 2 days off a month/ no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Rewarding Place to Work
Account Executive - Foodservice (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 8, 2018
Fantastic employer. Great culture, exceptional work-life balance, lots of potential for vertical movement within, and fun brands/products to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Packaging Operator (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 8, 2018
It was a great experience. Overall I enjoyed working there and I truly wish I could work for them again. I recently reapplied and I have my fingers crossed in hopes that they would rehire me again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but fun as well
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Perris, CAAugust 5, 2018
The company was generous with possibilty to grow. However, I was a temp worker without the possibility to exceed. Though i enjoyed working with General Mills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Palmyra, PAAugust 4, 2018
Is like any other work. It has it's good moments and it's bad. It's simple work. Some days stressful, others relaxing. Hardest part of the job is when you have to lift very heavy boxes.
Pros
Picnic lunch afternoons
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced environment only problem was there was never a hope getting all the benefits of a full-time permanent associate
Packer (Former Employee) –  Social Circle, GAAugust 2, 2018
I worked for General Mills for almost 3 yrs. Never offered or given a raise. Never was offered a position with gm no advancement. A dead end job with no hope of making it a permanent position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humble, Sincere Work Culture
Senior Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 2, 2018
One of the best workplace culture companies I have worked for yet! Strong and dedicated management team, and company stands behinds it's values. I would recommend anyone to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short employment period, friendly atmosphere
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNAugust 2, 2018
It was an alright place to work. Management was friendly. The only issue I had was that they only allowed part time employees to remain there for 90 days.
Pros
Caffeteria
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don’t like the job
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INAugust 1, 2018
In this company I did not like working for them because of the way they treat you and pay. The workers there are so unprofessional and so are the managers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very boring.
TEMPORARY WORKER (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NM 87113July 31, 2018
Classic example of a job that is totally alienating. Extremley slow paced, you will have to FIGHT yourself just to stay awake. 3 paid one hour breaks!
Pros
3 paid one hour breaks.
Cons
So slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Mills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight