Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work.
AP Statement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAMay 20, 2018
Company is more focused on eliminating jobs and sending them offshore to India. The current workforce at GPC are overworked and extremely stressed out.
Pros
free parking and .25 ct sodas
Cons
constant layoffs, not enough people to do the work well, poor management belittles staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genuine Parts Company
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 13, 2018
This is a company that has a high expectation work culture. If you are willing to relocate frequently, your career advancement will be endless. Pay and benefits need to improve as well as the work life balance.
Pros
Fast Career Advancement Opportunity
Cons
Work Life Balance is left to be desired
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager was bad, but the job was good
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTMay 12, 2018
The warehouse manager at the time, was horrible. She was lazy and didnt seem to respect anyone but the few that were in her little group. The warehouse supervisor was amazing and she knew how to treat employees. The work is easy. VERY simple. They get on you about your numbers but as long as youre working then its good. Thank god that manager is no longer the warehouse manager. All in all, even with that one bad manager, i would work there agian!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all it’s cracked up to be
Parts Counter Sales (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INMay 11, 2018
New person gets all the physical work. You do all the physical labor w little help. The most enjoyable part of the job was lunch. A typical day is very long.
Pros
Hour lunch Company events
Cons
Dusty no AC
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of special projects unrelated to actual job requirements
Electrical & Engine Systems District Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCMay 9, 2018
o Electrical & Engine Systems Sales Group District Sales Manager: Promote and sell engine management products to independent jobbing NAPA stores, High Point distribution center, and company-owned NAPA stores
o Partner with outside sales specialists in company-owned and independently owned stores to visit installer customers, selling product and ensuring NAPA becomes and remains first call of supplier
o Participate in special projects from distribution center level, including store changeovers, inventory upgrades, new store installations, and marketing blitzes
o Strengthen relationships with all store principals and distribution center leadership to grow the sales group target in High Point
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working within their ERP added knowledge,information and experience to skillset.
Contract - Sr. Business Analyst/Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAMay 9, 2018
A typical day was filled with exciting discoveries and contributions. As as a contractor, I enjoyed delivering what was critical to the customer for their expended return on investment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 8, 2018
This had to be the most stressful job I have ever had. Tons of micro managing, not enough training, and no job security. I was let go after being pressured over and over to go faster and get more done. This position was temp all along, they were behind on tons of projects, so on top of my work I had to do different projects as well. I feel I was hired to help pick up their slack and once they were done with me they fired me.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
Micro managing, job security, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MDMay 5, 2018
Lack of training for proper roles/titles that are currently being held. Plenty of available merchandise to reset planograms to try sell new things. Get to meet plenty of people to help.
Pros
Customer interactions
Cons
Not enough help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Syracuse, NYMay 5, 2018
Start of the day begins with pulling orders for surrounding stores. Then re-stock shelves with product. Then clean up for the next day. Repeat.
What I learned here is if you are good at your job you get to do other peoples jobs as well.
Hardest part of the job is dealing with co"workers"
Pros
Discount on Parts
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
AP/AR / Credit Analyst (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAApril 27, 2018
The pay is excellent
Minimum micro management
Treated fair and made to feel valued
Feels like you’re a part of a big family rather than being at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Freight Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTApril 19, 2018
Pay and benefits are great. You will also have a consistent work schedule. Sales is everything here. Managers are a bunch of clueless firefighters.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
They need qualified managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts
Senior Systems Analyst/Developer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 19, 2018
Superb workplace. Promoted from within. Senior management actively sought input from the IT department. Excellent communication between departments. Unlimited opportunities.
Pros
Hard work and dedication were well rewarded.
Cons
Legacy platforms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 11, 2018
Only downside to working at Napa is having to haggle with cry babies about the price of filters,it's almost not worth it to carry non-auto filters.Upside is you get to help customers that really need it
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Irate customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genuine parts
Business Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 10, 2018
I work at the Genuine parts DC(Distrubution center) as a stocker and the manangement is terrible and very unprofessional if your looking fro a temporary job then it will work for you but other than that you should not plan on long term employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm relaxed environment
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 4, 2018
NAPA Is a great job to work at . Their staff is very family oriented . Feels like your working from home . They have great scheduled breaks . Though it’s best if pavkel your lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honestly a fun place to work, albeit stressful at times.
Retail/Commercial Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 22, 2018
While working with Napa I was given the opportunity to learn quite a bit, although through a mis-communication from management i was let go, and the current manager refused to believe he was even remotely responsible. I do regret that i am no longer employed with the company, but i don't regret not having to work under the same manager.
Pros
Flexible schedule if you make requests in advance. pay was good and raises came quarterly.
Cons
Management could use some work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is challenging and exciting, but management is obstuctive
iSeries Developer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 17, 2018
The work and projects I have been involved in over the years at GPC have been exciting and enjoyable , however the management frequently assigns deadlines without looking into the effort involved.

The company has downsized its iSeries development staff yet at the same time our Director has promised upper management of delivery of major projects that we are not staffed to handle.The QA group has been downsized to 1 person whom we have to share with 4-5 development projects, we are told that the developers will take turns QA testing other developers work. But at the same time no time is allocated to developers for this work.

This results in developers being allocated 100 to 150%.

The non-managerial employees are great to work with and are the only redeeming feature of the company.
Pros
Most are great to work with, Projects are interesting
Cons
Management is slightly better than clueless about day to day activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok placeto work
Outside Sales (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 16, 2018
managment could be better. most people seemed disgruntled on a daily basis and many talked behind others backs had to watch what you said and to whom
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very sexist enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYMarch 13, 2018
old timers are very misogynistic and it is overlooked because of their seniority. i have heard very sexists comments and racial slurs coming from some of the old timers in this company.
Pros
pay
Cons
work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 11, 2018
I gave 250 percent everyday and still got yelled at and threatened comstantly by management. I constantly felt like I would lose my job even though I never did anything wrong. They made things up that were not true that I did to get me fired. I am not the only one they have done this to. The pay was great, the job was great, the employees were great but the management was horrible. I was stressed out constantly, was sick constantly and had panic attacks constantly. I really wanted to keep my job because I was scared of what would happen if I lost it, but losing that job was the best thing that has happened to me.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 943 reviews
5310
4277
3233
268
155

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.2

1.7Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight