Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm relaxed environment
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 4, 2018
NAPA Is a great job to work at . Their staff is very family oriented . Feels like your working from home . They have great scheduled breaks . Though it’s best if pavkel your lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honestly a fun place to work, albeit stressful at times.
Retail/Commercial Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 22, 2018
While working with Napa I was given the opportunity to learn quite a bit, although through a mis-communication from management i was let go, and the current manager refused to believe he was even remotely responsible. I do regret that i am no longer employed with the company, but i don't regret not having to work under the same manager.
Pros
Flexible schedule if you make requests in advance. pay was good and raises came quarterly.
Cons
Management could use some work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is challenging and exciting, but management is obstuctive
iSeries Developer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 17, 2018
The work and projects I have been involved in over the years at GPC have been exciting and enjoyable , however the management frequently assigns deadlines without looking into the effort involved.

The company has downsized its iSeries development staff yet at the same time our Director has promised upper management of delivery of major projects that we are not staffed to handle.The QA group has been downsized to 1 person whom we have to share with 4-5 development projects, we are told that the developers will take turns QA testing other developers work. But at the same time no time is allocated to developers for this work.

This results in developers being allocated 100 to 150%.

The non-managerial employees are great to work with and are the only redeeming feature of the company.
Pros
Most are great to work with, Projects are interesting
Cons
Management is slightly better than clueless about day to day activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok placeto work
Outside Sales (Current Employee) –  Norcross, GAMarch 16, 2018
managment could be better. most people seemed disgruntled on a daily basis and many talked behind others backs had to watch what you said and to whom
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very sexist enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYMarch 13, 2018
old timers are very misogynistic and it is overlooked because of their seniority. i have heard very sexists comments and racial slurs coming from some of the old timers in this company.
Pros
pay
Cons
work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 11, 2018
I gave 250 percent everyday and still got yelled at and threatened comstantly by management. I constantly felt like I would lose my job even though I never did anything wrong. They made things up that were not true that I did to get me fired. I am not the only one they have done this to. The pay was great, the job was great, the employees were great but the management was horrible. I was stressed out constantly, was sick constantly and had panic attacks constantly. I really wanted to keep my job because I was scared of what would happen if I lost it, but losing that job was the best thing that has happened to me.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great vibes from other employees
Projects/ inventory/ warehouse specialists. (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAMarch 5, 2018
It's was easy to learn the system, everyone willing to teach their knowledge. Employees make you feel comfortable and confident on how to do your job.
Pros
Discounts, friendly employees, great store managers.
Cons
no paid sick time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and succeed
Parts Counter Sales Person (Current Employee) –  Pineville, NCFebruary 28, 2018
Easy going work environment and great coworkers. Customers are very friendly. Its a company that is always willing to teach you and help you advance not just in your career but in life as well. you will be put through challenges but you will always have guidance.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment does not match the job
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Duluth, GAFebruary 27, 2018
I have been with this company approximately 5 years. The stressful tone that the management sets is very unnecessary. You only get two personal days days no sick days. I get 2 weeks of vacation for the entire year. The opportunity for advancement is very slim depending on whose face you are in. Your work wont speak for you.
Pros
discount on car parts
Cons
paid time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On a decline
End of Lease Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 26, 2018
The company used to care about their employees and the families of the employees. Now all they care about is the share holders and their bonuses. Management, at least for my current team, seems to focus on helping those who have consistently broken company policies and it is frustrating.
Pros
unfortunately cannot think of any
Cons
no room for advancement, low morale, no support from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Antiquated
Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 20, 2018
It is difficult for this company to retain younger talent due to the inability to diversify. It is also difficult for executives to promote protected classes. In addition, the company overall is not very progressive so many of the processes in place are behind over a decade. Work-life balance does not exist unless you are well-liked. There is a lot of favoritism and special favors in the background. If you are a protected class, be prepared to face a lot of challenges if you decide to work for NAPA.
Pros
Support and education for leaders, decent pay, great benefits package.
Cons
no work-life balance, processes and programs are outdated, customers are frustrated with inefficiencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Retail Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAFebruary 13, 2018
Management completely sucks .
Gossip gossip gossip. They play favorites big time.
I loved working there because of my coworkers.
They dont really train you either . Thrown to the wolves
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard retail parts store
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 13, 2018
Working in management you are required to 50+ hours a week. This includes weekends and holidays. Very few to no opportunity for advancement. Depending on location and staff, it can be a fun place to work. Just know that it may take a long time to move up.
Pros
Employee discount on parts.
Cons
Long hours, nights, and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently shifting staff overseas
Statement Group Specialist/Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAFebruary 7, 2018
The management is currently finding any way to make things more efficient by shipping and jobs possible to overseas vendors. The people still at the Duluth job site are stressed and overworked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Rgn (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXFebruary 1, 2018
Alot of favoritism and division. Turn over is ridiculous. Life on the dock is hard work but the pay is little dock workers should get paid more for the shift difference
Pros
Pay is great if you last
Cons
To many duties with little rewards
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation
Cash Applications Posting Administrator (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJanuary 24, 2018
Napa pays good with great benefits. They are laying people off due to the automation of several job duties. So, now everyone is uneasy because they don't feel as though they have job security, which is causing them to lose "good" employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Distribution Center Inventory Specialist (Current Employee) –  Jefferson, LAJanuary 23, 2018
Great company but some management is holding back the company. Its a good place to work, unless you start in management or sales there is a slim margin for moving up in a quick manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Focused Industry heavily reliant on customer support staff
Business Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 21, 2018
Good people - Implementing monthly Jobber Store Ownership Change projects with 50 process steps. Engagement of technical, operations, sales force and support teams. Work is routine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many clicks / management very poor
Vendor Manager (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GAJanuary 9, 2018
Learned a lot however was not treated fairly. Company has too many obvious favorites. Managers and supervisors are not to be trusted. Company atmosphere is loud.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat enviroment
Electrical and Engine System Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 8, 2018
I loved the customers and my coworkers. The management staff is new and unexperienced in Houston. They make youlook over your shoulder all of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Genuine Parts Company/NAPA Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 949 reviews
5311
4282
3233
268
155

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.2

1.7Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight