Geo Reentry Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative work environment
Monitor Tech (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 26, 2018
This place is a whole joke. Enjoyed working with peers but, management was especially Human Resources was very unprofessional. Unsafe they allowed residents to smoke illegal drugs without consequences to any of their actions on a daily basis.
Pros
Paid bi-weekly
Cons
Lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall GEO is a great place to work for
Receptionist/Transportation (Current Employee) –  Lawndale, CAMay 29, 2018
Fast paced environment serving parolees getting out of prison, and those already out of prison. Providing safe and clean living conditions, and providing various groups to enable the parolee to function in society.
Pros
low stress
Cons
sometimes there can be up to 10 clients waiting for processing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke of a ran down building
Counseloe (Former Employee) –  Arnold, PAMay 17, 2018
The pay rate is horrific considering you are required a degree to be a program counselor. The disrespectful staff and overall lack of support and help from supervisors does not make time easier. Residents are either smoking K2, lying or running the street meanwhile staff considers it to be your fault. Out of 50+ guys, one person will have majority of residents on their caseload while the supervisor gets PTO vacation weeks and 4 work days.
Pros
Working hours
Cons
Staff, residents, pay, fear of other coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I have ever had
SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR/CO-MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCFebruary 15, 2018
Of all the jobs I have worked, I have never experienced such a corporate attitude that is so warm generous and caring. I worked there for 5 years and regret the day I left. These people promote and push you to be all you can be with the company.
Pros
Everything. They afforded you to use your creativity and work with autonomy.
Cons
It was contract and the contract ran out..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Monitor (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 3, 2018
GEO is a great place to work if your intetested in the field of criminal justice. There’s good experience by working with residents (inmates) if CJ is not your field of study don’t work here because management suck. Mangement treat the employees bad
Pros
Working with the reentry population
Cons
Too many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay far away!
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  McFarland, CAJanuary 25, 2018
Terrible management from top to bottom. Lieutenants play hardcore favoritism and will constantly choose you for mandatory overtime over their favorites and never assign you to a favorable duty.

The pay really isn’t that good at all at 14.00 an hour.

I was hired on as a part timer so my pay was lower than full timers and I wasn’t offered any benefits because of that status yet I was forced to continuously work overtime and have more hours than their full time employees.

Do yourself a favor and leave this place alone. You’ll regret ever working at geo.
Pros
None!
Cons
Way too many too list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJanuary 24, 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company. The only reason I left is I needed to be able to advance more. Great management team fun environment. Miss this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monitor
Monitor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 22, 2018
This company is horrible. They don't know how to run a business. They treated staff like they were nothing. Very unprofessional and low paid for how much work we did.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Short breaks, unprofessional, etc....
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good energy!
Substance Abuse Counselor (Current Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJanuary 7, 2018
I really felt like I could make a difference thru my leading group therapy with supplied (EBT) materials, but soon found there just wasn't enough varying info. It quickly became very redundant.
Pros
"Participants" were very compliant.
Cons
No variation in material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Eagle County, COOctober 5, 2017
Great stepping stone for a pursuit in Criminal Justice/Management/Judicial System. Could use more support from the Corporate Office and upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Management
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TXSeptember 20, 2017
Lots of paperwork and multitasking. Learned that all need that extra income. Management is not appreciated. Shifts consist of 24/7. The most difficult part of the job is dealing with audits. However, the shift runs fast due to being busy all day.
Pros
Worked great hours
Cons
Expensive healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working employees with not fair pay.
Client Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 8, 2017
Hard working employees that put in over-time and don't get recognized by it. Its pretty much just expected for us to pick up shifts and work at other locations without being talked to about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 8, 2017
I have enjoyed working for Geo Group for the past 16 months. However, the hourly pay is an insult to those of us who give 110%. There also isn't much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rated #1
Lead Substance Abuse Counselor (Former Employee) –  South Bay, FLAugust 7, 2017
I could not have worked for a better company. They showed you your appreciation in everthing they did. It was one of the esiest jobs and very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grossman
Social Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Leavenworth, KSJune 5, 2017
Residential Reentry Center for the Federal Bureau of Prisons, assisting federal inmates reenter society. Community Based Prison a contracted facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Client Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CAMay 27, 2017
Overall rating*

Job Work/Life Balance

Compensation/Benefits

Job Security/Advancement

Management

Job Culture
This one company with great benefits and a great environment to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor benefits, favoritism, poor pay
Client Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAAugust 17, 2016
Here's the sad thing, I loved my job. Unfortunately this type of work is not secured, especially in state like Pennsylvania. The job itself is high stress for little pay--other companies start off at at least $15 an hour for entry level, this place starts at $12 (if you're lucky $12.23). The favoritism is childish and incredibly unprofessional. The benefits are awful and medical coverage sucks...Only work here if you really want to be in criminal justice and want poor pay.
Pros
Decent staff
Cons
Poor pay, poor health benefits, favoritism, unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you want to help change lives
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 10, 2016
Excellent place to help Federal Inmates change there lives, support from management, most co-workers did not care about Inmates or helping them change there lives for the better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Behavioral Change Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAJune 28, 2016
Good company to work for. Good benefits. Excellent hours. Great Staff . Worked Monday thru Friday no weekends. Great Hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCDecember 7, 2015
Its a chill job with and opportunity to learn about yourself. Co Workers are great and they truly care for you. I think the hardest thing to deal with is the long hours.
Pros
Great Working atmosphere
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Geo Reentry. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 24 reviews
55
44
36
22
17

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.7Culture