George Mason University Employee Reviews

Found 357 reviews matching the search See all 358 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Communications Manager Fairfax (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJuly 2, 2018
Depends on where you work in the university. My office in particular had some really great people in it but unfortunately every office isn't like that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 26, 2018
Learnt and grown a lot after working as research assistant. I was working as SQL database administrator and also as a Web developer. A very productive work environment with lots of support from students and faculty members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 23, 2018
As a 3 time graduate of GMU I am satisfied with the education I earned. The school provided many career opportunities to excel and understand my field of study. As an employer maybe better compensation.
Pros
Opportunities to teach and learn
Cons
Compensation should be revisited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Intern (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 21, 2018
The students are great and very attentive. They are kind and always willing to participate. However, there is not much school spirit as it is a commuter school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place, Depending on the Division
Adjunct Professor of Management Studies (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 19, 2018
GMU is going through a lot of growing pains; much shift in strategic direction for the various departments and divisions; over-all, a good place to work.
Pros
Good management
Cons
Growing pains
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Science Teacher's Assistant
Computer Science Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 17, 2018
It was a fairly easy job as I had gotten the job after I had taken their class. A lot of review on things you already knew and you only had to help the students who asked. Not a lot was asked of you other than to help the students as best you can.
Pros
easygoing, relaxed, simple
Cons
low pay, lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There as a Work Study
Office Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 12, 2018
Each Department is different and they don't operate in the same way, I had excellent bosses and the faculty in the Department are good people and really seem to like there job so they make coming to work fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJune 3, 2018
Liked the worked culture there. Pretty comfortable. Positive people around. Flexible work schedule. Teaching students is the best part. I learned a lot from them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest place to work in the Northern Virginia area
Teaching, Advising (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 29, 2018
Great company. Great people. I love my job and the people I work with everyday. I would not consider working anywhere else. Unfortunately the cost of living is extremely high and salaries are not reflective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Work Environment
Executive Director of Neighborhood Council (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 29, 2018
Working at George Mason University as a resident advisor was generally very enjoyable. One of the largest skills I learned being a Resident Advisor at George Mason University was how to more personable and understanding of different personal characteristics of my peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GMU was a diverse and friendly environment.
GMU's The Fourth Estate Published Writer (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 27, 2018
GMU exposed me to a variety of cultures and I was able to work with people from cultures around the world. This proved to be the most valuable asset of this university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GMU Library Assistance
Circulation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 22, 2018
I enjoyed working for GMU as long as I did. I was employed there when I was a student and later as a professional in their main library. Both positions taught me valuable skills and provided excellent training for future positions.
Pros
Salary, work environment
Cons
Management is poor at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
USA - Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 20, 2018
good place to work for students and teachers. nice environment and culture. would recommend working for the institution................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and benefits
Clasroom Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 15, 2018
Loved working here. The work was work but there are a lot of good people who work here and they try to create a community oriented work environment which is nice. Also, managers are willing to work with you on work/life balance stuff as much as possible.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Pay not so great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an American public university
Visiting Professor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 15, 2018
a typical day at work:
preparing for teaching,
teaching,
grading papers and marking homework,
help students having problems in learning.

The most enjoyable part of the job:
in-class interaction with students,
preparing lesson plans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 10, 2018
The job tasks that were required are simple and easy. The management is wonderful and will help you with anything. At this job, you will learn, how to organize files and email students regarding housing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your carreer
Business Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 30, 2018
I loved working here, unfortunately I was not making enough money to live in the area. Not much room for advancement unless a superior leaves or retires and even then they are more likely to hire a new person to fill their role.
Pros
Great enviroment
Cons
lack of career advancement, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
George Mason
DOA/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 17, 2018
A beautiful campus and academia is always a wonderful place to work. I was the assistant to the Director of Fine Arts. Being able to be a part of all the artsy events/information going on at George Mason. Wonderful experience.
Pros
campus/tuition reimbursement
Cons
walking campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Culture
Professor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 15, 2018
The culture at the School of Business (SOB...yes, those really are the initials) is toxic. The tenured faculty take all the resources, and they treated everyone else poorly. Also, teaching doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arlington Student Health Center
MEDICAL DATA SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 10, 2018
I loved working here. I had plenty of time off. Downside no benefits and parking is expensive. Probably best for people with part time aspirations who already have health insurance
Pros
Lots of time off summers/ holidays/ relaxed eniviroment
Cons
expensive parking/ no benefits for wage employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Mason University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 358 reviews
5173
4116
355
29
15

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss