George Mason University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an American public university
Visiting Professor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 15, 2018
a typical day at work:
preparing for teaching,
teaching,
grading papers and marking homework,
help students having problems in learning.

The most enjoyable part of the job:
in-class interaction with students,
preparing lesson plans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Desk Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 10, 2018
The job tasks that were required are simple and easy. The management is wonderful and will help you with anything. At this job, you will learn, how to organize files and email students regarding housing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your carreer
Business Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 30, 2018
I loved working here, unfortunately I was not making enough money to live in the area. Not much room for advancement unless a superior leaves or retires and even then they are more likely to hire a new person to fill their role.
Pros
Great enviroment
Cons
lack of career advancement, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
George Mason
DOA/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 17, 2018
A beautiful campus and academia is always a wonderful place to work. I was the assistant to the Director of Fine Arts. Being able to be a part of all the artsy events/information going on at George Mason. Wonderful experience.
Pros
campus/tuition reimbursement
Cons
walking campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Culture
Professor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 15, 2018
The culture at the School of Business (SOB...yes, those really are the initials) is toxic. The tenured faculty take all the resources, and they treated everyone else poorly. Also, teaching doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arlington Student Health Center
MEDICAL DATA SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 10, 2018
I loved working here. I had plenty of time off. Downside no benefits and parking is expensive. Probably best for people with part time aspirations who already have health insurance
Pros
Lots of time off summers/ holidays/ relaxed eniviroment
Cons
expensive parking/ no benefits for wage employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 6, 2018
A nurturing environment where you feel supported to pursue your research interests. Flexible schedule with the option to work at home. However, it can be stressful because last minute deadlines are often imposed on you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study, awesome place to work. Sculpture Assistant
School of Art Studio Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAApril 2, 2018
This is a great place to learn new tools and management teachings as well having to work on your own available time instead of a set schedule. The teachers are great people who will help you if you ever need assistance with a task. Great job.
Pros
Work on own time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GMU Review
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 26, 2018
I enjoyed my time working at George Mason University. A typical day for me included answering phone calls, inputting paperwork, helping students make appointments, and helping the advisers in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large university organisation with committed staff
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 20, 2018
Large organisations obviously have their challenges, with bureaucracy etc. But as an academic one has reasonable amount of independence, and while at GMU also there are administrative aspects to work, the atmosphere is fairly relaxed and conducive to productive work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Special Projects Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 15, 2018
Excellent place to work! Loved working at the Office of Off-Campus Student Programs and services. Everyone was wonderful and I miss working there. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Place to work
Housing Grounds Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 14, 2018
Easy place to work with great benefits. Always worked with all hard working people and people who wanted to be at work. Great place for a starter or long term job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work environment
Student Intern (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 14, 2018
Typically relaxed work environment and gathered knowledge about new technologies in various fields. Working in a team was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMarch 8, 2018
I developed some great relationships while working at GMU and valuable experience. The workplace culture is what you make of it, some ups and downs, but generally good people.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Night work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people in a diverse environment
MASON AMBASSADOR (Current Employee) –  George Mason University AdmissionsFebruary 26, 2018
George Mason University has a unique and rewarding atmosphere with great people. A typical day at work as relaxed with there always being something to do. The people were by far the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
people, environment
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Wage Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 15, 2018
I always had a great time with my coworkers. They helped me out and were very knowledgable and willing to teach me when I wasn't sure of something. Boss and supervisors were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Growing Pains
Student Team Leader (Information Desk) (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 13, 2018
When I worked there, the university was blowing up, and my little interview was very likely different from other interviews that occur today. Mine was relaxed, and the job outlines were not laid out well.

Fortunately the university did grow up and we went through work changes. There was some morale issues that came with that, and management could have handled it better. The supervisors at the time had issues with the way they talked to their employees.

I will say their ability to achieve their goals of keeping up to date information and keeping the employees on task greatly improved.
Pros
Do homework at work
Cons
Management was condescending and untrusting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I will ever work at
Manager/Front Desk Worker (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 7, 2018
As a student athlete the best place to work is the field house. You basically live there for practice anyways. I loved working there it was a very laid back job that allowed me to do my homework if nothing needed to be done right away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 3, 2018
I enjoyed teaching at Mason. The pay is good & many opportunities, the Hardest part is to cope up with the work at the end of the semester.I would recommend this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work - Incredible work dynamic
GRADUATE TUTOR (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 3, 2018
My experience at Mason has been amazing. My colleagues are wonderful, and my managers have always been friendly and approachable. The dynamic feels welcoming constantly, and we while we work hard, we also work well together and find fun in the work days.
Pros
colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Mason University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 344 reviews
5166
4112
352
29
15

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.