George Mason University Employee Reviews

Found 435 reviews matching the search See all 436 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for refreshing programming
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 19, 2019
1. Conducting and grading labs.
2. Grade assignments, quizzes
3. Guide students through coursework, help professors design quizzes.
4. Proctor quizzes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifeguard
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Freedom Center Manassas CampusJanuary 18, 2019
The management was good at first. Then there was a new pool manager that was bad at his job. The work atmosphere was good. It is a good job for a student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education as a Service
Graduate Teaching Assistant for Cisco and AWS (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 17, 2019
When I see teaching not as a profession but a rewarding service, the Graduate Teaching Assistant role in GMU gave me amazing opportunities to connect with students and faculty who are keen on industry leading technologies on Cisco, AWS etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 15, 2019
I feel like this is the kind of job you can get while you are doing school work, I also feel like it is a social gathering circle, except get paid to be in it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 13, 2019
A typical work day is long and extensive.
I learned how to manipulate PPT, EXCELL.
I mastered the skill of balancing work/school.
The workplace culture was extremely diverse, I attending to multiple people at once, with non tradition age groups.
The hardest part of my day was helping multiple people at once.
Empowering patrons who with gratitude was the most enjoyable part of my day.
Pros
University knowledge
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mason
student (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 3, 2019
GMU was great. Almost all my professors were amazing. I learned a lot and I got a chance to meet a lot of influential people during my time there. I would definitely recommend others to attend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student Teacher
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 31, 2018
This school is openly liberal, and if you are a conservative you will be black listed. The advisors will come down on you if you divert from their liberal ideology and script.
Pros
None
Cons
Liberal brainwashing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good experience
ECE Lab assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 20, 2018
I learned how to communicate and work with people effectively. It is very educational and fun. I had the chance to work with very knowledgeable people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Application Developer (Former Employee) –  VirginiaDecember 17, 2018
It was good experience. Working environment was nice everyone was well spoken and very helpful. Learned about so many new technologies and got to work with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Upscale University that provides any training
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 13, 2018
Typical daily activities include cash handling activities, Answering phones, greeting customers, staff, faculty and guests. Replying to emails, voice mail messages and inquires for reservations for catered events in different buildings on campus. Attend meetings for hazmat, gluten-free Educational updates and safety. I learned how to manage and train in a vibrant academic and professional community.
George Mason provides an exciting opportunity to share all of your previous work experiences and talents in a diverse atmosphere. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to interact and learning different cultures. While providing outstanding Customer service
Pros
Variety of cuisine
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
BIOLOGICAL RESEARCHER (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 6, 2018
Informative hands on experiment in the lab. Very educational and interesting lab experiments which educated students on the different genes of a common fruit fly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school
student (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VADecember 2, 2018
I was a student at George Mason University (GMU) in Fairfax Virginia, attending all my classes at the main campus. The professors are very knowledgeable and you receive an excellent education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dead end job unless you a recent grad
Personal trainer, (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VANovember 28, 2018
Being on a college campus, there is really no where for me to advance to. All hiring is done from the outside. I have also maxed out the pay structure.
Pros
good training experience
Cons
No upward movement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Student Centers Visual Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VANovember 11, 2018
I have learned branding and marketing skills that will help advance me in my career. My coworkers are friendly and helpful.
I am always challenged with new projects and am encouraged to come up with new ideas.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Helpful training
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VANovember 9, 2018
The training doesn't really help with the job tasks.
Some coworkers are helpful. Mine was not. She stated that she is not paid to be a trainer and to read the manual.
Pros
Earn a degree and have GMU pay for it.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-Being Day
Well-Being Day (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VANovember 5, 2018
I volunteered in the year of 2016 with a group of students in the school of business in an activity called Well-Being Day. It’s involved in the development of communication skills, where our group socialized with different students about their professional career aspect and built supportive relationships. It lasted for about seven business days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Administrative Staff Assistant7/97 (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 31, 2018
Great group of professionals. Very student oriented and focused on making thing better for the students. Office staff was very pleasant and easy going. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College Job
Event and Outdoor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 31, 2018
It had its moments when it could drag on, but it was a stable and good job. Could get homework done while working, and also the staff were very personable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives opportunity in career advancement.
Finance and Grants Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 31, 2018
Diverse culture gives a positive learning experience. Job environment is compared to corporate. Gives opportunity to grow professionally by taking classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAOctober 29, 2018
Great customer service and admin experience, flexible hours for employees that are also students. Great managers and supervisors, collaborative environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at George Mason University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 436 reviews
5212
4140
366
212
16

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

2.7Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss