Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
3.4Work-Life Balance
3.1Job Security & Advancement
Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Es interesante me interesa el trabajo
Diploma high school (Former Employee) –  United StatesFebruary 15, 2019
Limpiar los cuarto hacer la cama ordenar todo por completo los cuartos
Pros
Nesesito seguro
Cons
Cuando se mantiene ocupado no ay descanso
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Front Desk Agent/Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 1, 2018
GUHCC is not a bad place to work. Employees are friendly and helpful. Very little opportunities to advance. There is free lunch/dinner for employees. Shuttle service from shuttle stop.
Pros
Friendly environment, free lunch/dinner
Cons
Rodent problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 28, 2014
A typical day at work..
AM- staff stand up to go over everyone daily duties.
Review assignments, ie: sales calls, proposals and contracts
Follow up with clients' site visits or outside sales calls.
Communicate with the operation department to make sure all the specs for groups' meetings are in order.

The hardest part of my jobs is trying to sale to the federal government. The sequestration has place too many restrictions to be able to penetrate their business and maximaze my time.

The most enjoyble part of my job is my relationship with the clients. They become not only clients, but great thrustworthy friends and of course bringing in plenty of business.
Pros
Comp/parking, free meals.
Cons
Health insurance and 401K
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team Work
Director of Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 1, 2017
This position allowed the best of everyone to perform. The team that was finally created after finding those who really wanted to be there was extraordinary. The cohesiveness set a great example for all employees to realize everyone mattered. Then sales numbers were achieved, budgets were reached and guest satisfaction soared.
The hardest part of the job was just the location back from the main road and parking was a premium. But once inside the hotel, it was beautiful. Simply gave clear instructions how to navigate the space and then watch the customers reactions when they entered the lobby.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day at work
Front Desk Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington DCAugust 19, 2015
Analyze and balance all front office transactions on a daily basis. Perform night audit duties. Process invoices, commission and daily billing for accounting. Manage the front desk to give our guest an experience that will enrich and nourish live. Front desk mandatory training and information from Aramark. Work with the Sales Team on guest reservation and group billing. Help the revenue team on determine the best rate for the hotel. I am reasonable for the billing for Booking.com. Manage ihotel, Maestro PMS, and guest internet information. Completed necessary paperwork for registration folios, credit card vouchers, cashier reports, room reports and prepaid registration. Balanced cashier report at the end of the shift, etc. Complete schedule for the front office team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for georgetown university hotel & conference center was a living hell!
Employment History Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 18, 2013
doing work orders, i learned how to do several types of hvac repairs, didn't like management too much, like to threaten your job and too much favortism, my co-workers were the most enjoyable part of the job. the hardest part of the job was the favortism and the job threats
Pros
free lunches
Cons
they like to hang your job over your head with threats
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Expierence
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 6, 2017
Georgetown University and Conference Center Hotel is a very interesting place. It is located on the Georgetown University campus and right across from the hospital. Working there you do learn a lot. The guest are parents of students or patience of the hospital. Very hard to locate seeing how there is no metro. You do meeting interesting people. Overall, the job is steady.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good.
Receptionist/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 4, 2015
I liked the work. It was the management team that was the issue. They seem to bring their outside problems into the work place. And take it out on the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice place to work.
Front Desk/Night Auditor (Current Employee) –  Washington DCNovember 20, 2013
Check Guest in and Out of the hotel. I Audit all the accounts in the hotel for the day. Order Cabs,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10 reviews
53
42
33
21
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture

Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center Reviews by Location