Georgia Department of Labor Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for someone just starting out
User Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 8, 2017
My department was poorly managed by an inexperienced person with little technical skills. Hardware refreshes are big projects to them and could take years to implement. The salary was barely above minimum wage. Not recommended for people with disabilities.
Pros
free parking
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable
UI Wage Data Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 4, 2017
I love my job. It was so easy for me to do work and it really flexible job.
I had been my experience with my skill for data entry. It wasn't hard for me to my job.
Pros
Fun workplace
Cons
Flexible job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
DOL Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAOctober 2, 2017
Very fast paced , Constant stream customers needing assistance with work related tasks. There is endless opportunities for learning new and exciting things...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best and not the worst
Advanced Level Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 20, 2017
Overall a good organization. Certain managers make it a challenging place to work. Great place to work if you value stability and work/life balance over pay and career growth.
Pros
Paid time off, convenient location, flexible work hours
Cons
No career growth opportunities, silos, poor poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance
Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GASeptember 20, 2017
Dealing with people
Need to make more money
Manager ok
good days and bad days
easy work
Its a job you; can depend on with good benefits.
Day to day you will learn alot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability for Retirement
Facilities Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 22, 2017
A job as a State employee yields various opportunities to enhance your career. Training, network venues and retirement pkg. I am thankful for my years with State government. I am retiring and want something closer to home and allows my flexibility for other activities.
Pros
Training/Seminars/Conferences
Cons
Improve communication when disseminating information to staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with the Department of Labor as an intern
Resource specialist/Intern (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAAugust 7, 2017
i enjoyed everyday of my three months with the Department of Labor I worked so hard to try and work with the company but I would have to have to relocate
Pros
off every weekend and major holidays
Cons
gotta stay on your feet at all times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Executive Assistant to the Director (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 27, 2017
poor management,
salary employees are treated as hourly.
some are not qualified to be in higher position and other who are qualified are in lower position.
then there are the employees who just sit do nothing to ride the system, to draw a paycheck.
Pros
12 state holidays and earned paid time off
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with lots of independence and a flexible work schedule.
Financial Ops Generalist 2 - Finance Division (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 26, 2017
My typical day at work involves keying direct invoices. I have learned governmental accounting and earned a certificate. The management has an open door policy. The hardest part of my job is making sure all direct invoices that come in, get paid the same day. The most enjoyable part of may job is when I have completed all assigned duties.
Pros
Flexible schedule, independence and on the job training
Cons
Healthcare, growth and compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Employment Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJune 8, 2017
Overall, its a good place to start, promotional opportunities are available if positions become open. Unfortunately the pay sucks, but that's state government for you.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Georgia Department of Labor?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environemnt to assist veterans
Veteran Employment Representative (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAMay 22, 2017
Productive workplace great place to service veterans and their families seeking employment. Job has good work hours and the work schedule is Monday -Friday. Most of the people there are engaged ,focused on assisting individuals and have a attitude to serve others.
Pros
Resources are available and community relations make job easier.
Cons
pay, breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun work place
DOL SERVICES SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Covington, GAApril 20, 2017
I love what I do everyday. I get to help people who are going through the toughest periods in their lives and it gives me a sense of true purpose.I don't get paid a whole lot but I have an enormous amount of peace and my manager is amazing!
Pros
Lunch time, Away time from work, Benefits
Cons
Better communication/transparency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dol specialist
DOL Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 9, 2017
Great job to learn about workforce development. Not much opportunity for advancement, hence the reason I'm back searching for employment. Lack of vision and leadership in individual career centers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Positive Environment
DOL Services Specialist (Current Employee) –  GAApril 4, 2017
I used to love going to work but staff shortages, high work loads, and bad management has made this a high stress environment. The benefits are decent and the pay is ok. Work hours are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unemployment
Unemployment (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 31, 2017
Although I didn't want to collect. My experience was not as bad as I thought it would be. I was able to collect for 1 year and it really help me since I had no income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help people find work.
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Moultrie, GAMarch 13, 2017
This is a very demanding job that requires lots of patience. You must be willing to work with people that come from various backgrounds to help our dislocated workers throughout the state.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Veterans Assistant (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAMarch 9, 2017
Department of labor was a great place to work. My boss was the best boss I didn't mind going above and beyond the call of duty. The benefits were great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Java Applications Developer/Architect (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 4, 2017
Typical day at work is normal. Normal stress level. Great technology and good people. Management is nice. Co-workers nice. Enjoyed working with all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company
Program Associate (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 16, 2016
Management isn't coherent of their employees' discomfort. The pay isn't well. Other employees are not friendly. You are spited if you have an opinion.
Cons
Pay, management, system
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment when their are not any interruptions in the system
Computer Complex Operator Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 15, 2016
Ensure that the Gdol operating systems are operating currently,troubleshoot circuit's for any outages. Gdol recently switched to new system for processing my experience with Unix has been increased. Staff members worked as team member's during transition. Management staff easy to work with in reference to
training and also access to other departments for information.
It was enjoyable to work with so many people that had different level's skills and were willing to share their knowledge with me.
The hardest part of the job was when staff was not included in the
reconstruction of the operating system and the staff had to figure the new process using trail and error.
Pros
discount's offered on a large amount of items with the state
Cons
health care program
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Georgia Department of Labor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 135 reviews
548
441
333
26
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture