Georgia Tech Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 482 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5244
4145
367
215
111
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 476 reviews matching the search See all 480 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 20, 2018
A great place to work. Flexibility in terms of work. Good relationships and connections in academia.Intensive research and great resources and support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Caterer/Server (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 19, 2018
Great place to work at love the place and the people’s that comes to visit or go to school there very helpful and supportive love the football teams love being there working at a game some night seeing famous people the job just fun helpful fast paced great pay respectful teamwork and gets the job done !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly competitive environment
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 13, 2018
Autonomy is allowed but high competence is expected.
Orientation and training are good at university level.
Quality of department managers varies considerably
Environment is filled with ambitious and brilliant scientists and engineers.
Pros
Work on really impactful project
Cons
My field was scarce on campus with no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A True Top Tier Engineering School
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 5, 2018
As a graduate student in materials and mechanical engineering, you are expected to dedicate your entire live to Georgia Tech. Georgia Tech is the most practically applied engineering school I have ever experienced and the depth of projects and engineering challenges is no matched by any other school.
Pros
Excellent Engineering Education
Cons
No Life Outside Graduate School
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 2, 2018
I am a PhD student in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology. At the same time i have been a graduate research assistant and a graduate teaching assistant here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and outdated
Student Account Specialist, Sr (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 25, 2018
The most difficult part of working at Tech is the lack of adequate job training. While HR has plenty of training classes, direct job knowledge and training in some departments can be hard to come by. There is a lot of expert knowledge at Tech that coworkers refuse to share.
Pros
Flexible start times
Cons
Stress, Lack of innovation in staff departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quinterrell Anderson
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 24, 2018
Was very stressful got tired of working there for 9 years didn't see me further my career at GA Tech Hotel it was great the first 3 years I were there then it stared going down hills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and play
Academic Advisor II/GT (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 20, 2018
Georgia Tech is a wonderful community to join. We have great and knowledgeable staff. The environment is a innovative and challenging one, but it fosters growth. There are also discounted opportunities for play on campus. Tech Rec offers discounted game play (bowling, pool, and etc.). I love this place!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work.
Postbaccalaureate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 20, 2018
Work is on and off. There are weeks where you will be working full days plus over time, and days where the clock ticks by very slowly. HR is a joke, and can never really answer any questions directed at them, because its always someone else fault.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Post-doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 17, 2018
The campus at GeorgiaTech is absolutely brilliant. The labs are very well equipped and there are cutting edge instruments and facilities for world-class research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus, be careful when picking the research group
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 16, 2018
A nice, constantly modernizing campus. Good equipment in the Chem Department. After tax pay ~$25,000. Depending on the group expect to work 9-12 hours a day. Expect to work weekends. Try to find an advisor you can get along with personally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating place to work
Admin. Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 15, 2018
The university setting is stimulating and culturally interesting. Benefits are good including generous time off. Training and professional development is encouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Courier II (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 14, 2018
I learn new things everyday. Some of the people are friendly and some can be rude. The some of the students are nice. I think a price of living increase should be giving to some of the people who work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 12, 2018
GTRI is a good place to work if you are self-motivated and want to take full ownership of products/projects. I was given plenty of opportunity to grow and was rewarded for my achievements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2018
This was a temporary assignment, however the staff and work place was awesome. Very fun place to work and very well trained by the staff and team with my assignments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 11, 2018
I worked on new research topics at Georgia Tech, found new friends, and enjoyed my life while I was there. I recommend Georgia Tech to anyone who wants to do serious research and enjoy working with resourceful and fun people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job as a computer engineer
Computer Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 5, 2018
Fun place to work
Superb learning organizational culture
Enlightened management
Combines high-touch values with high-tech QM
Flexible work arrangement
Two weeks of holidays annually
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical grad experience
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 4, 2018
The facilities are excellent and most of the people are world class researchers. Issues arise in oversight of PIs. There tends to be a very wide range in the quality of individual labs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 31, 2018
Fun place to work. You meet interesting and intelligent people and some are the greatest minds in their particular area of study. Never had a complaint about the job and loved to work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 28, 2018
Good teaching assistant experience, can be hard to juggle courses along with the work Can be a bit tedious to grade assignments and reply to students' queries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport