Georgia Tech Employee Reviews

Found 690 reviews matching the search See all 694 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working on capstone design
Georgia Tech Capstone Design Expo (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 23, 2019
One of the most stressful times in my life, but I learned more doing capstone design than is any other project I have ever participated in. The expo is very excited and good experience for giving presentations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Controlled work area
Mckenneys plumbing Foreman - Large projects (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 15, 2019
From project to project Ga tech had a specific plan to complete one area and space at a time before beginning a new project. Permit for shutdown and tie in for mechanical and HVAC systems. Best part of the job was control over work area and schedule .
Pros
Clean work atmosphere
Cons
Timeline restrictions for days working on certain aspects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many Chiefs
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 15, 2019
Decision makers are rare, management inundated, egg shell culture, inconsistent. Difficult to move up unless you move around...alot. Lots of turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work on my own schedule
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 24, 2019
The nature of the work allows me to work very flexibly so I could take advantage of being in a location like Atlanta with the amenities afforded by being in Tech.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Collaboration
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 22, 2019
The Institute is great about allowing students to also do a bit of their homework during their working hours. I feel ver cared for here, and everyone I meet is interested in my well-being.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job too long a drive
Facilities Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 18, 2019
My biggest problem is that the pay rate doesn't allow for independent living close to work or even at a remote distance and remote living adds unpaid time to the work day.
Cons
I get to pay for benefits but can't afford the co-pays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing workplace
Student assistance (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 14, 2019
My manager would hand me a list of files to properly document in the computer. I would do this and it was not too difficult. If I had any questions about the document, my manager would answer swiftly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work place
Parking and Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 10, 2019
At this job i learned how to operate certain machinery, also had to utilize my communication and customer service skills. The was no hard labor including in this job. The people on the management are friendly and very negotiable. The most enjoyable part of this job were the company functions such as the employee appreciation cookouts, the gym discounts and etc.
Pros
Great work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GT is a ramblin wreck
Overworked and underappreciated (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 10, 2019
Come for the tuition assistance. Leave before you realize that it won't get you anywhere at GT without knowing someone.

Ask anyone at the bottom at GT and you'll likely hear a vastly different story than those in an office making $60k+. We have seen the inefficiencies of our leadership. We have seen the unethical behavior of our leadership. It took the news to shine a light on our institute for anything to actually be done. These guys covered for each other and helped each other. Some left before everything hit the fan, but they didn't get very far before something else caught up with them.

This is how much of GT operates. It's the good old buddy system. I've applied to literally hundreds of jobs only to often find that someone was already lined up for the position. The one I have is not exception, except that the person that was supposed to get it messed up soon before (caught doing something they shouldn't have).

I've seen an employee go from making $24k to nearly $70k in 6 years through 2 promotions and 2 reclassification thanks to those above him. I've seen another employee get awarded employee of the month while he took a several thousand dollar projector home, kept pornography on his work computer, and was so well known to only work 4 hours a day, that his name became synonymous with anyone working half a day.

I love GT, but I sure am frustrated with the inept leadership. At least they paid for my degree.
Pros
tuition assistance
Cons
inept leadership, no potential for progress unless you know someone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
divers community
Electrician II (Current Employee) –  151 6th Street SWApril 6, 2019
Georgia Tech gives one a sense of belonging to something bigger than you in that it is a world contributing organization that also contributes to the space program. Georgia Tech 's research is on par or exceeds most institutions around the globe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate student
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 5, 2019
typical graduate student work/life, depending on the job or assignment it can be fun, depending on the professor it can be interesting and exciting . I liked it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there for many years
Banquet Captain (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 4, 2019
Dont plan to stay long. They dont promote moving up within. Or quality training so you can have quality staff. Crestline is a good stepping stone. Dont make it your career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 4, 2019
Georgia Institute of Technology is known to be very competitive and fast-paced. You will have to work very hard to beat the expectations from your boss and peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life Balance; Problematic Management Culture
Research Engineer (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 31, 2019
You take the good with the bad at GTRI. You will ultimately be working for the State of Georgia, so you'll have a fairly secure job in any economy, but your compensation will fall behind the public sector every year. Promotion and compensation rules from the head of the University System and the state restrict flexibility for management. You'll have good retirement savings and plenty of time off for vacation and lower levels of stress, but you'll sacrifice direct compensation for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career advancement
Research Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 26, 2019
The workload was challenging but not interesting. The workplace culture was not engaging and sometimes stressful. There was no mentorship or constructive feedback provided by leadership.
Pros
Cool workload
Cons
No mentorship and poor leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable Work Environment
Student Co-op (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 26, 2019
A typical day in the IT department includes doing user request tickets for software installs, hardware issues, and computer imaging to Bitlocker errors, Clickshare troubleshooting and Cisco phone troubleshooting. I have learned so much here since we get all kinds of tickets from relatively easy to very specific and difficult.

The management in my department is great. They are very open to any questions we may have and work their hardest to help us out when there is something we don't know how to do.

The culture is extremely collaborative and you can ask anyone for help without fear of being thought of as stupid.
Pros
Great team, great environment, great users
Cons
Interns receive no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligent community - Great collaboration
Senior Research Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pearl Harbor, HIMarch 19, 2019
Wonderful place to work. Great management and colleagues. Team leaders provide quality guidance to keep projects on time and on budget. Annual reviews are fair and provide realistic goals for future professional development.
Pros
Pension Plan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Research-driven, not good work-life balance
Student / Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 18, 2019
While Georgia Tech is known for its rigor and ability to produce good, valuable workers, the work/academics-life balance is rather terrible for students. In a way, it caused a build-up of what some people would call "character" or "determination", without a proper social life, it would quickly become debilitating and discouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with driven employees
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  GAMarch 15, 2019
I experienced so many new things and was given a lot of freedom. It was a great opportunity to experience a lot of new things along with some smart and talented individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Post Office
Georgia Tech Post Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Student centerMarch 14, 2019
I enjoyed working for them; however, I felt like it was too many hours in my week to get paid that little. All I really had to do was process packages, put them on the shelf, and manage the window so people could come get their packages.
Pros
Good work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Georgia Tech. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 694 reviews
5342
4218
398
217
119

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight