Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Found 344 reviews matching the search See all 1,922 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to focus on safety, now its tons per hour
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 10, 2018
When I hired in, all the talk about safety and everyone taking care of one and another, and making sure everyone is safe. Now everyone could care less. Management cares only about production, not the people that make steel, and it shows in the morale of the employees.
Pros
Co-workers, and pay is decent.
Cons
Upper management, including HR leader
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing hours and not knowing when your shift will end
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Belvidere, ILOctober 2, 2018
I liked working at gerdau there were hard workers .the only thing was they keep changing the hours were suppose to have from eight to ten at the last min
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Having to adjust to there hours and shifts unexpectedly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a good place to work. You have good benefits and make good money.
Storeroom Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNSeptember 24, 2018
Gerdau is a good place to work. You have good benefits and make good money.
everyday you put in a hard day of work.
good upper management.
the most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with. Everyone works well as a team.
Pros
team work and high on safety.
Cons
dirty and dangerous environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , Team work
Brick Mason (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 12, 2018
I had started working with the company with no experience at all . I have learned alot about the steel making process and have enjoyed it. It is alot like a family atmosphere help is always offered and easy to complete team tasks. I would reccomend this company to others.
Pros
Ability to make a good living
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Environment
Steel Worker (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 3, 2018
Working at Gerdau was a great experience for me. The pay is great, for all employees. There is very little opportunity for advancement in management. It is a tough environment, hard labor and dangerous job at times. Old school process makes job very physical and challenging at times. The hardest part of the job is the rotating weekly schedule, very difficult to adjust ones daily life.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Dirty hard work, poor management, bad communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
auto bender (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INAugust 24, 2018
They go by an average, if you do anything there. you will have you good days where you make good weight and days when you make bad weight, because not every job is the same and they know that they just don't care you have to make the average weight every day or you get called into the office and then eventually fired

you gotta work there to learn what i mean if you don't know what i mean
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok.
Furnace Stocker (Former Employee) –  Wilton, IAAugust 19, 2018
I worked at the furnace so its a very hot and dirty job. But if you're willing to put in the work you will get paid good and lose weight at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Perth Amboy, NJAugust 14, 2018
Gerdau is an excellent company to work for. They are very professional and very nice to their employees. I have met alot of professional people at Gerdau and I would recommend this company to others. Their level of expertise out exceeds any other company I have worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Division Services Clerk - Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 10, 2018
Could be very stressful. Some of the people had a tendency to be dishonest about who did what and how. Otherwise, a good place to be employed. Benefits very generous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a lost direction
Process Improvement Engineer (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAAugust 3, 2018
It has been a while since I worked there but when I did it was a place that was trying to compete with the big boys in the industry and they were having a tough time keeping a focus on how they wanted to move their business forward. At the time they needed more focus on their employees and this is why I ultimately left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Finishing Floorman (Current Employee) –  Monroe, MIJuly 26, 2018
The swing shift work schedule is the only undesirable factor here. otherwise it is a great place to work and learn I have developed a better work ethic and understanding of life being employed here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay if you don't mind working!!!
Loader/Checker (Former Employee) –  LogisticsJuly 20, 2018
Good place to work. Hot in the summer and cold in the winter. Good pay and good benefits. 12 hour rotating shifts. Lots of opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Finishing (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXJuly 16, 2018
Amazing people to work with, grow a family bond in the melt shop. I would love to work for Gerdau again but it would definitely have to be at a higher wage for the type of dangerous work we do.
Pros
family bond atmosphere, management
Cons
low pay, no compensation, up and down economics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quality nuclear
Quality Assurance Analyst (QA Analyst) (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJuly 1, 2018
preformed inspection per drawings
printed all tags
scheduled truck loads

I loved to preform my job at the max I could
I learned how to manage over 37 people
Pros
learning
Cons
nuclear ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Bad place to work
Refractory man/ Refractory Leadman (Current Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJune 8, 2018
Job is very unsafe. No room for advancement . Schedule is horrible . 12 hour rotating shift every week. Environment is very stressful and hazardous. No bonus structure and benefit package is more and more until affordable. No certified training for employees on the job and very little reaction if manager employees . CEO had to be firesd for fraud . Overall not a very good company to work for .
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Unsafe work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a company that says one thing in does not follow threw
Quality Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 31, 2018
Gerdau is a terrible company to work for 12 years off in on no respect for employee management no experience Gerdau has also sold company so pretty sure job security is a problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Furnace Operator (Former Employee) –  Sayreville, NJ 08872May 23, 2018
in the steel mill is a very challenging job alot of security measures working with hot steel big machine operators long hours and overtime .Mostly under hot temperature
Pros
challenging
Cons
safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall this is a great company to work for.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Albany, GAMay 22, 2018
If I could increase my hourly pay to 20.00 per hour, I wouldn't consider a second job or another job paying that hourly rate. The benefits are great as well as the work hours, even when I get overtime.
Pros
Job ending time
Cons
30 minutes lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Engineering and Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 15, 2018
Great place to work they have a great employee moral. This company works to permute those who work hard. I really enjoyed working for this company overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Mobile Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAApril 29, 2018
I enjoyed working at Gerdau. The work on big equipment was very challenging and a great learning experience. The crews were very helpful in guiding you to repair things you didn't know. There was not a lack of jobs to be spread throughout the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gerdau Ameristeel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,922 reviews
5925
4653
3234
260
150

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight