Gerdau Ameristeel Employee Reviews

Found 353 reviews matching the search See all 1,953 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
helper/ 2nd operator (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNDecember 3, 2018
it's an ok place to work. job isn't overly stressful but can require working in fairly severe conditions. lots of heights if you aren't really a fan of them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and structured work place
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXNovember 30, 2018
it was a great job opportunity out of high school. Everyone was nice and helped me out when needed. The bosses treated me fairly and was never rude. overall a great work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Contract Temp (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CANovember 9, 2018
I was a temp contract assignmenr
They showed me the assignment and I did my job
very nice place to work Management was awesome I enjoyed every bit of the assignment
Pros
Excellant place to work
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot enviroment
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 8, 2018
fast paced work place. lovely staff. its really hot but for the pay its an all around great job. i would recommend it to people looking for a great opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau
Detailer Associate (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLNovember 2, 2018
Gerdau provided the opportunity to advance my knowledge of Computer Aided Drafting and Design by learning the ins and outs of steel rebar, and how rebar plays a major function in construction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Hard job physically, and very dangerous and detrimental to your health.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXNovember 2, 2018
Working here is best described as a sweltering hot summer job working with 2400 degree redHot steel 2 feet from your face going through a mill line with enough force knock down a house @ 26 mph!! For the danger alone, the men are SEVERELY UNDERPAID!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what a poo party
Steel Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNOctober 29, 2018
the only thing worse than the company is the union you pay dues to for zero representation. they do pay good though but the rotating shift will run you down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, bad job
Quality Operator (Former Employee) –  Midlothian, TXOctober 21, 2018
There is no room for advancement. The schedule changes frequently. The managers play favorites. They are afraid to let some people have tuition reimbursement because they are afraid of educated people at Gerdau in Midlothian.
Pros
None
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful work evironment
Quality Control Supervisor (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, AROctober 19, 2018
I had 3 bosses all wanting something at the same time, so nothing could get done., all I could do was my very best to please each one , I was micromanaged on everything that was done, plus getiing new job titles all the time with no increase in pay.
Cons
cut-throat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to focus on safety, now its tons per hour
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 10, 2018
When I hired in, all the talk about safety and everyone taking care of one and another, and making sure everyone is safe. Now everyone could care less. Management cares only about production, not the people that make steel, and it shows in the morale of the employees.
Pros
Co-workers, and pay is decent.
Cons
Upper management, including HR leader
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing hours and not knowing when your shift will end
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Belvidere, ILOctober 2, 2018
I liked working at gerdau there were hard workers .the only thing was they keep changing the hours were suppose to have from eight to ten at the last min
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Having to adjust to there hours and shifts unexpectedly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with a very nice office
Contractor 5- Star Staffing Solutions, LLC (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLSeptember 26, 2018
Great company to work for with a very nice office. The staff was great and everyone was very fun to be around. The company is great and I believe that this is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gerdau is a good place to work. You have good benefits and make good money.
Storeroom Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNSeptember 24, 2018
Gerdau is a good place to work. You have good benefits and make good money.
everyday you put in a hard day of work.
good upper management.
the most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with. Everyone works well as a team.
Pros
team work and high on safety.
Cons
dirty and dangerous environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , Team work
Brick Mason (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 12, 2018
I had started working with the company with no experience at all . I have learned alot about the steel making process and have enjoyed it. It is alot like a family atmosphere help is always offered and easy to complete team tasks. I would reccomend this company to others.
Pros
Ability to make a good living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough Environment
Steel Worker (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 3, 2018
Working at Gerdau was a great experience for me. The pay is great, for all employees. There is very little opportunity for advancement in management. It is a tough environment, hard labor and dangerous job at times. Old school process makes job very physical and challenging at times. The hardest part of the job is the rotating weekly schedule, very difficult to adjust ones daily life.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Dirty hard work, poor management, bad communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
auto bender (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INAugust 24, 2018
They go by an average, if you do anything there. you will have you good days where you make good weight and days when you make bad weight, because not every job is the same and they know that they just don't care you have to make the average weight every day or you get called into the office and then eventually fired

you gotta work there to learn what i mean if you don't know what i mean
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok.
Furnace Stocker (Former Employee) –  Wilton, IAAugust 19, 2018
I worked at the furnace so its a very hot and dirty job. But if you're willing to put in the work you will get paid good and lose weight at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Perth Amboy, NJAugust 14, 2018
Gerdau is an excellent company to work for. They are very professional and very nice to their employees. I have met alot of professional people at Gerdau and I would recommend this company to others. Their level of expertise out exceeds any other company I have worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Division Services Clerk - Production Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 10, 2018
Could be very stressful. Some of the people had a tendency to be dishonest about who did what and how. Otherwise, a good place to be employed. Benefits very generous.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with a lost direction
Process Improvement Engineer (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, VAAugust 3, 2018
It has been a while since I worked there but when I did it was a place that was trying to compete with the big boys in the industry and they were having a tough time keeping a focus on how they wanted to move their business forward. At the time they needed more focus on their employees and this is why I ultimately left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gerdau Ameristeel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,953 reviews
5941
4660
3240
262
150

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight