Giant Eagle, Inc.
57Below average
3.5
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews
Here to help
Coronavirus update
Information from Giant Eagle, Inc.:

Giant Eagle, Inc. Employee Reviews for Customer Service Associate / Cashier

Job Title
Customer Service Associate / Cashier180 reviews
Location
United States180 reviews
Found 180 reviews matching the search
See all 3,496 reviews
Featured review
Giant Eagle, Inc. selected this as a representative review
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked here 25 years, loved working with the other employees and customers, very friendly. Great place for advancement. It was a great place to learn new things on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
January 9, 2020
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and for 25 years of service! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time working for Giant Eagle!
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here, it’s such a fun and open workplace. Most of the employees are very conversive and friendly, but some of the coordinators can be a bit grouchy and stuck up.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
July 30, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you are enjoying being part of the Giant Eagle family!
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my hours were cut all the time, and no raises. Didn't like it. Good for a teen I guess. And no benefits. No room for growth. Or anything. Wouldn't recommend at all.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
July 13, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We always strive to provide a positive work experience for our Team Members, and we are sorry to hear you did not have that experience. We will share your concerns with the appropriate teams and look for opportunities to make improvements in the future.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At Getgo I really enjoyed the coworkers and managers that worked with me. They gave me the materials I needed to do my job effectively. They gave adequate breaks and they'll give you time off if you need it.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
May 18, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you had a positive experience working for GetGo!
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Eagle overall is a great place to work, as it has a great environment, great team members, and great leadership. Anyone who is thinking about working here, it is Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Care to share?
Help people considering your employer. Share your experience.
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working there its a fun place to be its like having a family outside the family. works with additional work schedules. open door policy for problems
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a well maintained job everyone stayed on task everyone was respectful and I like the hours and the way we get specific days off I would love to work there again
Pros
Salary
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant eagle is always busy and shorthanded which cause customers to be angry a lot of times. Management was not.always willing to help and rarely had enough people schduled.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect first job experience.very nice coworkers and management was very orderly. Customers were always nice to employees. Only been there for a few months until I moved back to Florida.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
February 27, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience working for Giant Eagle!
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast pace job. Paid fair. Really enjoyed working for this company. would of liked to advance more in the company. however better jobs came about.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
February 17, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with Giant Eagle. We will share your feedback regarding opportunities to advance within the Company with the appropriate team.
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment was lackluster along with management. Didn't feel safe leaving the store either to go home at night or even go on breaks. Job hours wasn't flexible either.
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In today's world, there isn't a strong connection between faces and conversation. When you work in a business that is devoted to making a positive attitude toward work and toward customer happiness, you gain a sense of belonging. Learning to make grumpy people smile is a skill you receive whenever you work here
Was this review helpful?
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I rather talk in person. If you have any more questions please email me or give me a call. Again I feel more comfortable we talk in person. Have a good day.
Was this review helpful?
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are willing to work with people's busy life schedules, whether it be with multiple jobs, schooling or family care. They make sure that everyone is on the same page, and that no one gets left behind.
Was this review helpful?
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management here was okay. They were pretty nice. It's a good job if you like to work with people. The hours and pay are good if you are still in high school.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
January 16, 2020
Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you felt the hours were accommodating to your school schedule.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant Eagle involves a work environment where one has the opportunity to work with and serve members of their community. The opportunity is there to meet new people, and find ways to enjoy coming to a work setting
Pros
rewards for positive attitudes, lockers to keep personal items in
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
January 13, 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoy having the opportunity to serve members of your community.
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I received a crash course in customer service where I honed my skills. It's a stable company that offered a flexible and reliable schedule around my school hours. They also make sure that their employees are well trained and if they are falling behind on something they retrain them in certain subjects they are lacking on to make sure they are well equipped to do their job.
Was this review helpful?
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This review is to warn everyone that Giant Eagle is a very dysfunctional company. 6 months after hire, I was cussed out at by one of my managers. After transferring to Kingsdale, and working till this past June, management wrongfully fired me for selling alcohol to a minor accidentally, only to find out that it was a sting done by the state. After being reinstated, I was therefore fired a 2nd time for a missing cellphone.
Was this review helpful?
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not recommend anyone working at giant eagle. They don't follow policy and they play favorites with others. Managers don't do anything but sit in there office
Was this review helpful?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I worked at Get Go and Giant eagle I worked as a cashier/gas attendant. I loved the customers and employees I worked with. I wish I could work there again.
Was this review helpful?
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my time at giant eagle..
I will definitely work their again.

Customers are very friendly and greeting

Giant eagle felt like I always had family around.

It felt good to know customers recognize you
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Giant Eagle, Inc.
November 14, 2019
Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time working for Giant Eagle & enjoyed working with your fellow Team Members while getting to know our guests!
Claimed Profile
Want to know more about working here?
Ask a question about working or interviewing at Giant Eagle, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.
Overall rating
3.5
Based on 3,496 reviews
5
842
4
1.1K
3
864
2
336
1
390
Ratings by category
3.4
Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
Diversity score
55
out of 100
Comparably
Diversity Score
The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Giant Eagle, Inc..
Career recommendations for Customer Service Associate / Cashier
Explore information on salaries, job satisfaction, skills and more
Popular locations for Customer Service Associate / Cashier in US
Los Angeles, CA
New York, NY
Chicago, IL
Miami, FL