GILBERT PUBLIC SCHOOLS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Elementary Site Coordinator V.I.K (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJuly 9, 2018
Supervised children, ages 5 to 12, providing stimulating activities and art projects.
Managed staff of three and coordinated activity assignments.
Loved building relationships with parents and kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurturing and supportive education environment
School Nurse (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJuly 3, 2018
I am proud to work for Gilbert Public Schools, I believe they strive for the best education for each student. In my building, the principal has an understanding for all students and their home-life situation, disciplines accordingly, and involves the parents in decreasing behaviors. The principal also provides mentoring to staff, has high expectations of staff, and encourages teamwork. The teachers are dedicated professionals and work to meet each child's needs to help them achieve academic success. As an employee, the professionalism and respect the staff convey to co-workers, students, and parents, makes going to work something I look forward to.
Pros
Enjoyable work environment
Cons
No room for advancement as a school nurse, few challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to assist special needs children
PARA PROFESSIONAL SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJuly 2, 2018
While employed at GPS I learned that good teachers are few.
Loved working in a High School setting.
Very hard to work with extreme and violent students.
The most enjoyment I experienced was making a student smile and enjoy their day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
DAY CARE WORKER (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJune 25, 2018
same people working there for years, but are very unorganized. I worked with VIK so cleaned and watched children most days. got to play games and teach them science
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative and strong ties with the community.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJune 23, 2018
My previous employment succeeded at collaboration among staff. There was a strong partnership between the school and its community. My administrator was supportive of the certified and support staff.
Pros
Close connection between staff.
Cons
Large class size and small classrooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Schools in Arizona
Recruiter, Administrative, Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJune 17, 2018
Best place to work. Job opportunities galore! Promotion, great benefits, great retirement A caring environment of people that all want the same thing! Great place to work Best city to live in.
Pros
Meals, discounts, retirement, paid leave
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and you feel rewarded
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJune 14, 2018
I loved working with the staff and the kids. The classrooms were very nice and organized. Helping the kids in the classrooms was great because the specials department was not in one classroom singling out Kids as they did when I was a kid. Seeing how well kids advance and promote themselves out of the special ed department is so rewarding not only the student, but the teacher and paraprofessional helping. If you love kids then this is the job for you!
Pros
Great hours
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work at GPS if you're the sole provider of your family.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 2, 2018
An average day is full of multi-tasking and non-stop doing for others who can't seem to do for themselves. Do not enable staff, they will take advantage of your good nature.
Even though I had over 20 years of administrative experience, they made me start at the lowest rate on the pay scale because I had not worked in a school. They also failed to tell me that was the year they instituted the wage freeze that went on for 7-8 years.
No respect for district management, it's all about who you know.
The hardest part of the job is accepting that when the Admins are at meetings you're basically running the school on really low pay considering the responsibilities. You will not be paid your worth.
Don't believe the "pay scale". I love the people I work with, the students and families.
Pros
Pretty relaxed
Cons
Can't believe what district personnel tell you, .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing students, difficult to collaborate
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZMay 28, 2018
Students are wonderful, hard to find a teaching team that is easy to collaborate with. Worked with some great principals and some that didn’t support me enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Field Trip Assistant Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZMay 20, 2018
Good place to work
Need more hours
Friendly co workers
Close to my home/ short commute
Good benefits
Friendly supervisor
Students are well behaved
9 month contract
Pros
Friendly
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really love my job.
Paraprofessional Specialist (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZApril 4, 2018
I love my job. I get to work with special education children everyday. Everyone of these kiddos are unique and the experience I will never forget. I believe this job has made me a better person.
Pros
The kids
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teachers
Kindergarten Aide (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZApril 3, 2018
A typical day involves working with students to help them achieve to their best abilities. You need to have a caring heart and understand students look to you for guidance and understanding. Students want to feel safe in their environment. Great school spirit. The fun part - watching students grow from what they learned in school. Seeing how so many good teachers inspired students.
Pros
Great School Spirit
Cons
Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZMarch 28, 2018
Gilbert Public Schools is one of the best schools to work for, if you love what you do and you are not seeking advancement in your career, nor advancement in your salary.
Pros
Ratings and numbers
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family first enviroment
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJanuary 26, 2018
they are a good employer but not advancement or raises. Public school budget cuts make this job stressful. Lack of support for Administration. Ovre all good people no money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is tough but rewarding
Elementary School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJanuary 24, 2018
I was a teacher in the Gilbert School District. I enjoyed teaching and working with children. It is definitely an underpaid and underappreciated field. I quit to raise my daughters.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great while in college
Site Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJanuary 22, 2018
The position is split shift. You must be available to work from 6 am until 6 pm.The total hours is 6 per day. This is great while in school but upon graduation no longer works with my goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great with collaboration
Elementary Teacher (Kindergarten, 2nd grade) (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJanuary 15, 2018
I have had opportunities to broaden my education, including Gifted.
There is planned collaboration every week.
The collaboration focuses on data from interventions.
Next year there will be a school in school, with one classroom being traditional.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A collection of great people
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZJanuary 10, 2018
Everyone I worked with were wonderful. Their personalities were compiled with a little bit of everything. They all had something great to bring to the table. I really miss working with my campus co-workers!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and Enjoyable workplace
Avid tutor (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZDecember 24, 2017
few hours spent with collaborating with kids and consist of grading with responsibility, supervisor is kinda and understanding, children are respectful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
IEP COMPLIANCE SECRETARY (Current Employee) –  Gilbert, AZNovember 7, 2017
I work with great people at the district office. My supervisors and colleague genuinely appreciate me and are always encouraging upward movement. Unfortunately, its harder to move up in a classified position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GILBERT PUBLIC SCHOOLS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 75 reviews
532
417
318
26
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.9

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

GILBERT PUBLIC SCHOOLS Reviews by Location