GKN Employee Reviews

Found 646 reviews matching the search See all 945 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Training Coordinator - Drilling (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCApril 17, 2019
Upper management has that good ole boy attitude...
If you're not part of their click, you won't last long. Their expectations are lunacy... As a training Coordinator in Drilling, they thought I wore a red cape and was impervious to making errors...
They're coo-koo for cocopuffs!!
Pros
Comradery
Cons
Your just a number to upper management...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dontae key
CNC OPERATOR/SET/UP (Former Employee) –  Amityville, NY 11701April 10, 2019
this was a contract job i went to new york to do a job work every day for 12 hours no time for fun just work and sleep you have to have that kind of nind set
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAApril 4, 2019
Benefits i have security personal and parking security
you have uniforms security
you have place special for luch
you have a supervisor in area
you have overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Operator (Current Employee) –  Newton, NCApril 2, 2019
Plant 2 management treats you like dirt. You cant plan your weekends because you dont find out if youre off until friday. New hires are getting paid more than people that have been here over 2 years. HR is a JOKE. They are not there for the employees. If you complain it just gets swept under the rug.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Newton, NCApril 1, 2019
I ve been workig here 8 moths , i got hired and then i got $15 an hour, great place to work in, friendly people, supervisor is nice, lot of things to learn if you want to learn diferrents thinks about cnc machines this is a fast peaced environment climated controles, not hard work everythink is really easy, the only bad think is they are offering $10-$25 to new hires while eberybody here is getting $15 and hour ?!!!! Thats a joke ! ?
Pros
A lot
Cons
They are offering news hires more money than the people working is getting right now
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Shipping receiving clerk (Current Employee) –  Wellington, KSMarch 30, 2019
This company has a good work ethic and the people are mature business oriented this is a fast paced environment with plenty of work. Vacation time is encouraging to all that work there.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start.
Shop Maintenance (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 15, 2019
this was my first real job in this type of field work. the place was in constant movement. you had to know what you were doing to the T or you could put alot of peoples lives in danger. it made me learn to focus and put every bit of focus on what i was doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is nice but not enough time for a life
Secondary Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Salem, INMarch 11, 2019
The pay is wonderful, when I first started at GKN I was a temp and maybe would work one day of the weekend. Then when I got hired full time I was stressed hardly ever got time off, I was working constantly, i couldn’t have a life. If you want great pay but hardly any time off I recommend it completely. The pay is fantastic and most of the people are great to work with.
Pros
The pay is fantastic
Cons
No time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to move up.
Fabricator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAMarch 10, 2019
Growing company with great benefits. Great opportunity to move up. Work is easy and fun. Hardest part of the job is trying to balance personal life and work. Mandatory overtime makes it hard to plan weekends with family. But overall is a great place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress, lack of training
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 8, 2019
Learn something there while seeking a new job.The job is just installing accessories to the engine, trimming top and bottom doors is the only skill you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an average place top work
Journeyman tool and die maker (Former Employee) –  Germantown, WIMarch 1, 2019
fast paced environment management was ok .40 hour work week a little overtime would have been, nice air conditioned .average job security , lots of rules too fallow
Pros
air conditioned
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, but poor management
Forge set up (Current Employee) –  Emporium, PAFebruary 28, 2019
Pay is good lots of mandatory overtime. Terrible work and home life balance. Benefits werent that good. Management is clueless and does nothing to help better employees, most good employees quit.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Generally everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Machine Operator/Assembler/sorting parts (Former Employee) –  Sanford, NCFebruary 26, 2019
its a good company to work for if you would love to know about car parts and how they make parts for cars and which part go to what car like driveshaft
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was professional, supervisor was not professional
Senior Manufacturing Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 14, 2019
I was hired originally as a senior manufacturing engineer. I was put me in Quality Engineering. The supervisor didn't want a manufacturing engineer.
Pros
The work was exciting.
Cons
Management doesn't comply with GKN employee rules and regulations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace great place
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Tallassee, ALFebruary 12, 2019
Would recommend this job to my friends and family.
Good pay , decent hours , friendly atmosphere. Glad to be a part of the GKN family . Hope to be here many more years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days many weekends
Senior Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CAFebruary 12, 2019
Long hours . Maintained a culture of high quality within my deliverables. Company went under new ownership in the past year many changes are being put in place by the new leadership team.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many Layers
Associate Director Purchasing/Supplier Quality (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MIFebruary 11, 2019
Company has many layers and sometimes struggles to make effective and quick decisions. They could focus more on their technical abilities to build their products.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Buracratic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible turnover
Operations (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 10, 2019
This has become the stopping grounds for any out of work, or contract executive or engineer. They come and go every 12 months or less. They have resorted to re-hiring those who left, because no one will work there.
Pros
None
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pase
Operator (Former Employee) –  Newton, NCFebruary 10, 2019
Typical day was at work was loading up all the buckets of gears, and other machine peaces.Also set up the machine for the day of work and type or make of parts we ran that day
Pros
great hours
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CNC MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INFebruary 9, 2019
Good place to work. Alot of extra training offered. They treated their employees well. Safety was a high priority. Would of stayed their if the plant did not downsize and eventually closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GKN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 945 reviews
5237
4251
3246
2107
1104

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight