GLAMSQUAD Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t depend on it
Beauty professional (Former Employee) –  NationwideJune 21, 2019
Okay company as far as it’s business model. It allows for a flexible lifestyle but keep in mind that many companies are switching over to contractor workers so they don’t have to nurture you as an employee.

My biggest advice is not to quit your day job or take this job too seriously, it’s good for extra income but if you invest too much of your effort here you won’t get it back. FYI
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance Makeup Artist
Freelance Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2019
Travel to clients in a timely manor.
Perform makeup on clients on a freelance basis according to their specifications and needs.
Hardest part of my job would be when I don't have enough travel time to get to the next client to to an emergency add on.
Pros
working and doing what I love
Cons
company got so big appointments have lessened
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Decision
Hair Artist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 14, 2019
I have been with Glamsquad, for over two years. I am still a member, even though I am not living in that area. It’s a great idea, great compensation for a hairstylist!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 4, 2019
They are a great company to work for , just be sure to have a second job on the side .
You get to work with some really amazing people, and clients.
Pros
Meet some really great people
Cons
For makeup it’s sometimes not
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to gain experience in Cosmetology
Independent Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 6, 2019
While working for Glamsquad I was very young and inexperienced with working for high end clientele in the field of cosmetology. Thanks to Glamsquad I was able to work with all kinds of clientele in my field and gain a lot of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love
Hair Artist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 5, 2019
I love the flexibility of the hours great team to be a part of can’t wait to see what the future holds recommend this job for anyone and everyone thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 17, 2018
It was an experience. I enjoyed working with different brands, networking with other stylish and things but I like the management and not much room for growth.
Pros
Good way to build your resume
Cons
You can’t make your own prices
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost Of Freedom
Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 22, 2018
Plenty of freedom to make your own schedule and be true to the artist that you are. You also get put in contact with some amazing clients. Plenty of room for advancement, and never-ending training and education.
Pros
Flexible Schdule
Cons
Fast paced which can make it stressful, but worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are your own boss.
Make-up Artist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 28, 2018
You have the ability to make your own schedule. Glamsquad is expanding so there are more zones to work in different states. Hardest part was traveling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved creating my own schedule however not consistent
Make-Up Artist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 18, 2018
Glamsquad allows you to create your own schedule through the convenience of an app. You can work as little or as much as you like. You show up,have one our to complete the make up and leave. Business is very inconsistent.
Pros
free products
Cons
inconsistant
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelente
Freelance Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 1, 2017
feliz de pertenecer a su equipo, es una empresa muy seria y profesional
Pros
horario flexible
Cons
poco movimiento de lunes a viernes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work
Freelance Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 21, 2017
You get to create your own schedule which is always plus. Management team is in New York can be hard to reach sometimes. Great work and life balance if that is what you are looking for.
Pros
being able to control your hours
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to meet successful business women and chat
Senior Stylist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2017
If you are not shy about working with the super-affluent and well connected women of New York Glamsquad is the job for you. As a freelancer your not chained to working in a salon environment. I feel like when you rub shoulders with these women it leaves one with the ability to aspire to new heights. My advice, dress well and wear lipstick.
Pros
good work environment
Cons
being treated as "The Help"
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this Job
Beauty Professional (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMarch 15, 2017
-Best job I have ever worked for. Completly Independant.
-This job has been amazing to work with.
Doing fashion shows and marketing events.
Meeting new people and seeing new places everyday
Pros
Make your own hours
Cons
driving all over the city
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, productive
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYJanuary 18, 2017
In a days work, I travel to clients house to style the hair. I've Time management skills, organizational skills. Glamsquad is also a freelancing job, so you make your own schedule. Its a fun job, because you meet different clients all the time.
Pros
make your own schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freelance
Freelance Makeup Artist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 2, 2016
as a mobile makeup artist I travel around the city preforming makeup duties for clients that use Glamsquad to secure a beauty team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a freelancer!
Hairstylist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 19, 2016
Make your own schedules, and do what you love doing - whether it is hair, makeup, or nails!

Stylists are able to provide their work schedules in as little as a week in advance. This is perfect for what one would call, a "busy-body."
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 16Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely successful Aveda concept salon
Lead Manicurist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 27, 2015
Worked under and assisted owners as well as completely built nail, waxing, makeup and facial department. Managed all clientele via Salon Biz. Excellent co-workers in a family-like setting.
Pros
Co-workers, fun atmosphere
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GLAMSQUAD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 19 reviews
510
46
32
20
11

Ratings by category

4.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
4.4Management
4.4Culture