Gleason Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management who think they are the best
Machinist (Current Employee) –  Loves Park, ILJune 10, 2018
Wouldn't advise anybody to get a job here. The woman in HR runs the place and has no clue what she is doing not to mention she is rude and unaproachable
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont care
Cell trainee (Former Employee) –  Loves Park, ILMay 8, 2018
I was trained by someonw i could barely understand. And everyone thought it was funny. So i learned nothing and eventually walked out due to frustration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture Change Needed
Machine Assembler (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 12, 2018
This place had potential. The work is not difficult, especially if one is willing to learn and think for themselves. Management makes the job more difficult than necessary. Upper management and engineering, along with many as a whole, fail to follow logical processes that would benefit higher productivity thus placing more work and stress on those lower on the totem pole.
Pros
Money and Available Overtime.
Cons
Management, lack of career advancement, work-life balance, slack of vacation time, no paid/sick time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experience then leave!
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Shaper cuttersJanuary 27, 2018
Coming out of the techworks program they hired me for a cnc machine that I loved running but the coworkers are so negative. Some operators don't like new ideas and put you down for expressing them. Gossip is a plague you will hear about everybody's personal life so keep your business to yourself. If they have been there for a long time they won't fire them no matter how badly your mistreated I've been pushed seen stuff thrown and watched operators throw temper tantrums but management won't penalize them. If they flushed out some of the negativity in the shop it would be a much better place to work.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement, 401k matching, two week vacation
Cons
Inmates run the asylum, short staffed, excessive hours, poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot there
Copywriter (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 23, 2018
Small shop with a lot of quirky characters. Learned the right and wrong way to do things. Still friends with some of the people i worked with there. Wild time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYDecember 23, 2017
Nice place to work. Clean environment. Worked part time, but had to relocate out of town due to husband's job. Would enjoy working there again as back in town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Better
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Loves Park, ILSeptember 4, 2017
Place is a building I go to get a check, that's it.
If you want a career without sucking up to a British dude, go somewhere else.
You have to play the Gleason game if you want to advance, they bury lots of talented people.
Pros
employees are cool
Cons
Managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work good benefits
CNC Programmer (Current Employee) –  Loves Park, ILOctober 8, 2016
good place to learn and grow im getting board with the job want to make or money, i feel like there is more out there for me . if you want to be a supervisor or engineer go to Gleason i want to be neither! i
Pros
clean paid uniforms
Cons
2% raise every year max
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work.
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 4, 2016
Work area is generally very clean for a machine shop. Management has turned over with the older experienced supervisors being replaced by young no experience college grads. Spent a year or more relearning the wheel until supervisor caught up with the rest of the staff,
Pros
Pizza lunches when goals are reached. Holiday party before Christmas break.
Cons
I worked thirteen 10 hour days then one day off. Tough to have time for family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
power struggle always..........few team players
Paint Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, ILJuly 23, 2015
Pay is on the low side. Maintenance of equipement and building is sub-par.
Most of my co-supervisors were incompitent.
Fast paced and stressful.

Management was good as long as you stay on there good side.
Pros
Steady paycheck.
Cons
Filthy with little organization. No teamwork between departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Gleason reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gleason. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 15 reviews
52
45
35
22
11

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.7Culture