Globe Metallurgical Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, competitive place to work but job security is not good.
Shipping/Receiving Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Selma, ALNovember 9, 2018
Nice, competitive place to work but job security is not good. I love the challenge of learning something new and doing the job to the best of my ability. I will always give 100% in whatever I do and will always be prompt. When ever there is a problem, I look at all aspects before I make a decision and i'm not afraid to make a decision.
Pros
Pay, Health insurance friendly invironment
Cons
never know when the plant will be shut down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALSeptember 19, 2018
its hard to work there because anything could happen but overall a good place to work good benefits good hours and a lot of work and penty over time be to work on time
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Industry
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYDecember 13, 2017
Can be a difficult and dirty job where everyone tends to perform their job more or less, not unlike most industrial sites.

Multi-tasking is the new normal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay working there sometimes
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALNovember 1, 2017
Some days we work like slave and then some days we work like normal people but overall it was a good experience for me to be working at a place like that dealing with metal
Pros
no
Cons
15 to 30 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look for something better
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYOctober 11, 2017
If you have no experience, this might be a good place to start. Get your experience and get out before it is too late. If you have a good resume then you should keep looking.
Pros
pay is decent
Cons
terrible union and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beverly, OHOctober 3, 2017
Nice place to work
The pay is good
Employees are nice
Dirty facility
Car never stays clean
Day shift (Mon-Fri)
Flexible with appointments
Understanding management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of money
Industrial Electrician (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALDecember 31, 2016
if you don't mind the long hours you can make a very large income at this plant but working conditions are not that good because its very hot and dirty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the job, but disagree with coparate decisions.
Tapper 1 ,Utility (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALDecember 9, 2016
A silliciate metal producer,is a very hot and protienally dangerously enviorment.But is a safety oriented work place,and acompetative pay scale higher than other companies in the same area.Swang shirfts,with everyone working as a team,including the supervisors. The hardest part of the job, is it a hot job year round.But it is a good job, with good pay.
Pros
payed holidays and birthdays
Cons
you may have to work on holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laborer/ Furnace Operator (Current Employee) –  Beverly, OHNovember 5, 2016
Good place to work but production is up and down. Has good benefits and greta hours. It was close to home and they had swing shift work which is what I prefer.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Lay off out of seniority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job to have
Furnace Operator (Former Employee) –  Selma, AlMay 24, 2016
Globe Metallurgical, Inc. was a good job to have and a good company and people to work for. Plant closed down in February 2016.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Globe Metallurgical?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adventurious job
EHS Engineer (Former Employee) –  Selma, ALApril 24, 2014
safety walk daily inspect equipment made sure they guys had water and was hydrated working around the furnance.
First indepth experience with ADE and EPA.
Management was suportive
Training was the most enjoyable part of the week
Plant closed.
Pros
training was good
Cons
Plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced working envirment
Yard and Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYMarch 4, 2014
Full actvity day. How to manage and supervise.Co-Works for the the most part cooperative.Extremely high paced.Self satisfaction of accomplishment at the end of the shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laboratory analyst
Lab Analyst (Current Employee) –  Waterford, OHAugust 15, 2013
test materials on a daily bass such as metals that come out of the furnace and out of the shipping department. Test the raw materials such as coal, steel turnings, gravel, and millscale. I learned how to run a xray, carbon sulfur, oxygen machines. How to work in S.A.P. and how to use Microsoft word, excel, powerpoint, and outlook on a faster level. My co-worker were great to work with everybody worked together to get everything that we needed to do done. The hardest part of the drive i would have to say was the drive to work which is 45-50 mins. The management are a great group of people. The most enjoyable part of the job is checking the quality of the metal and the raw materials.
Pros
the pay
Cons
the drive there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Globe Metallurgical reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Globe Metallurgical. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 15 reviews
54
45
35
21
10

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture

Globe Metallurgical Reviews by Location