GMI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active, productive and challenging
Outlets at The Border Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 10, 2018
I learn about new challenging things everyday, learn to deal with different obstacles offering a good customer's service. learn to deal with shoplifters and transients.
Cons
no salary raises or ways to succeed in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work to do, not enough time for it
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin, INDecember 3, 2017
Company tries to be overly involved in personal life outside of work. They expect a lot of work but they do not allot enough time to safely accomplish it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depending on your site it can be slow and boring, or fun and exciting.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 15, 2017
walking a perimeter, line control, assess security, and or giving directions. I've only worked events. Graveyard shifts can be a bit annoying if your just stationed at one post only because its hard to stay awake.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
El ambiente es muy tranquilo
Limpieza de casas y oficinas (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 12, 2017
Tenemos mucha comunicación con los supervisores y ayudan en cualquier situación que se presente
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pressure field enviorment
Customer Service Sales Representative/Collections (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 9, 2017
it s was a faced paced environment with a lot of pressure to sell the direct TV business op. if you didn't make quota your pay was dropped to minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team mates
CIRCUIT BOARD ASSEMBLER (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCAugust 22, 2017
Good group of people.
They take time to train you.
Treat you as a human being
I soldered circuit boards.
I put components onto circuit boards.
Was at the time limited in the hours that I could work. But now I can go permanent. Work all I want.
Pros
Teamplayers
Cons
Health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A okay job, but with cons....
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 10, 2017
It wasn't too bad of a company, but after several months you begin to notice flaws. For example, supervisors are lazy, they only visit your site when they feel like it; it could be months before you meet your site supervisor. Overall management could be more organized and actually care for their employees, I could say more but, I'd be here for hours.
Pros
If you like working by yourself this the job for you.
Cons
Sporadic hours, days begin to combined in to one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy responsables
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Bartow, FLAugust 6, 2017
Muy eficientes y responsables con sus empleados
Trabajar para la empresa seria tomar nuevas experiencias
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to learn about the industry
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 21, 2017
Very good place to learn janitorial and security and they give us multiple things to learn about as well the industry of cleaning in able to earn great finances with respectable people around you at all times being teammate and love wanting another sometimes we have to expand our mind it's bigger than cleaning it's taking care of the earth is taking care of the world and yell we have to get paid for it to take care of our life but I enjoy the essence of cleaning or security or anything that's helping something else go forward it's great to me I think that I'm a great person for this opportunity and it would be a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely awful experience
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Franklin, INJuly 20, 2017
Shady workers, certain employees are condescending and will write you up for ridiculous reasons. If someone is in a bad mood one day, you might as well either expect a write up or expect termination. Stressful job for very little pay.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay, Managers, vacation days set up is atrocious
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don'T Recomend the company ex Manager
Security Industry Management (Former Employee) –  Newport Beach, CAJune 22, 2017
working for 4 years got over 250 plus signature to get more money for my work and plus i did property manager job and she could not do here job as well. been promise a raise never got it . i had to take care my guard and taring them to be the best of the best.
Pros
work hard
Cons
don't do any over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours to be had
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 13, 2017
I am most thankful for the hours they provided. One of the key things I learned during my employment for this company was how to be more vigilant and aware of my surroundings. Unless you speak up for yourself and insist, they will keep assigning you hours seven days a week. Even if you mention days in advance that you will not be available, dispatch will call to assign you more hours. lack of communication is the problem.
Pros
great hours
Cons
have to fight to obtain work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic, frustrating, unsettling.
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ramsey, MNMarch 13, 2017
GMI was undergoing major transition during my brief (one year) employment. Extremely high employee turn-over and conflicting management styles/objectives contributed to an overall sense of chaos.
Pros
Monday through Friday work schedule.
Cons
High employee turnover. Unclear direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start for experience but...
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, KYJanuary 9, 2017
I learned a great deal about factory life. the only real problem with the job is that management is constantly changing. They press safety regulations that do not apply to the work environment.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Overbearing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo
Janitor (Former Employee) –  San Diego CaJanuary 9, 2017
Es una empresa seria aunque con muy poca opcion de crecimiento ni mejora de salario. Nada de beneficios.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buena empresa yo trabaje muy agusto
Janitorial (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 18, 2016
Tener al tanto alos trabajadores d sus nesecidades laborales tube una biena experiencia laboral bien ambiente de trabajo los supervisores muy amables
Pros
Seguro medico
Cons
Si
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant II
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Venezuela, PRJune 6, 2016
Control and monitoring of corporate customers.
 Customer Service.
 Guidance and counseling by telephone to customers of different products and services
 Archiving files.
 Control of internal and external correspondence.
 Organization meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GMI - A Great Place to Work
FLORIDA DISTRICT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 7, 2016
A well run company with plenty of opportunity for advancement. Excellent work culture and environment. Terrific support!
Pros
Paid expenses
Cons
Long hours some days and A LOT of driving!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opportunity to build a medical program
Program Director (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 3, 2016
multiple classes developed
developed managerial skills
watching each student develop into their potential- most enjoyable
building the program from its inception
Pros
students
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional work place.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Irvine,caOctober 14, 2015
It was very strict and only minor times we had a little fun i prefer not to have that much fun and stick to my job.Everyone was friendly and doing there job correct and maintaining there duties as guards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GMI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 58 reviews
519
415
311
24
19

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture