GMS Mine Repair & Maintenance Employee Reviews

Found 118 reviews matching the search See all 119 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with but not a lot of time off it is quite hard to do things in free time with a swing shift
Coal Miner (Current Employee) –  Cameron, WVJanuary 3, 2019
Ouoiqwerrtttyyuuiiopassdddfffgghhjjjkkllxxccvvbbnnmnbbbvcxxzzzaasssdddfffggghhhhjjjkkkllppoooiiiiuuuuuhyyyyttttrrrwtehrveiwbeievejdbejdbfekdvdkebdkdwb
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need to be more productive
general labor (Former Employee) –  Waynesburg, PAJanuary 2, 2019
i thought you should of been more informed of what was going on for that day and to have more safety meets with the employees and to pay them more money.
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved it job will get your foot in the door
Underground Coal Miner (Former Employee) –  Washington, PADecember 3, 2018
I loved working for gms, got my foot in the door in mining and I still to this day am involved with mining and equipment operating, the pay is decent if you get on a specialty crew, benefits are decent hours of work a day were perfect for me. only thing negative I have to say about the place is vacation and chances of getting laid off.
Pros
pay & benefits
Cons
Vacation & lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, great pay
Underground Coal Miner (Former Employee) –  Buchanan County, VANovember 29, 2018
lay track, pinning, scoop, apprentice electrician, long wall state of VA welding certificate did not care for the hours and the drive but the pay made up for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they ended up not really caring about the person or there family.
Underground Coal Miner (Former Employee) –  Waynesburg, PANovember 19, 2018
I do not recomend GMS to nobody. Atleast the portal that I was positioned at they were all horrible. The only way I would ever return with that company is if I was stationed at a different portal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,hardworking bosses
Hose man for concrete & equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Wheeling, WVNovember 13, 2018
Bosses an supervisor s not scared to work as hard as you.great pay,loved it there. Paid for travel by the hour and mileage an 35$ everyday you worked food money an motel
Pros
Paid travel, mileage, perdium
Cons
Hard work, short breaks if any at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job but don’t get the hours
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Triadelphia, WVNovember 11, 2018
I like it here but don’t get the hours I want. I am a boss and only work 8 hours a day and the pay don’t work because of no overtime and so I don’t make much. I’m also tired of being a contractor. Also, sometimes you have to travel which I don’t mind but they mess up payroll a lot and u don’t get paid.
Pros
Only 8 hours
Cons
Contractor work and going to different mines
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Coal Miner (Former Employee) –  UtahOctober 1, 2018
It's a really fast paced physical job and some people like that. Would and have recommended people to go to these guys. Anybody who can commit to the work hours should definitely do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Daniels, WVSeptember 19, 2018
New hire process, assemble booklets, answer the phone, incoming and outgoing mail, file, fax, copy, scan, clean the office, time and attendance, conduct interviews
Pros
not far from home
Cons
stressful place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Underground coal miner (Current Employee) –  Waynesburg, PA 15370July 24, 2018
decent place to work, it pays the bills, but you never see your friends and family, you work 7 days a week all year round with little time off. you get treated horribly, your bosses are awful, and your coworkers act like they're five years old. I don't go to work to put up with it and have to baby sit. would not recommend, only good for your time needed. no healthcare, 5 days vacation after you have been with the company after a year, no sick time, fmla, and the worst part is the company makes more money off of you working than you get paid.
Pros
constant hours and decent pay
Cons
you live at work and have nothing to show for it with no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying
South Region Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Daniels, WVJuly 21, 2018
Fast paced work environment on a national scale. Provided with all the needed tools to perform all jobs assigned along with guidance to complete all tasks properly
Pros
positivity
Cons
Nationa;l scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Coal Miner (Former Employee) –  Price, UTJune 26, 2018
they are very good at keeping up to date with you making sure that you still enjoy your job,making sure you have what you need and make sure your up to date on changes with the companyor safety changes
Pros
good people, good work reliable
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is not a bad company to work for
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Washington, PAJune 23, 2018
I work there a couple different times it is not a bad company to work for I would recommend you working for them to get experience they do a lot of different stuff in Len mine
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful Company
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Waynesburg, PAJune 11, 2018
Terrible pay, terrible benefits, terrible communication, terrible and inconsistent hours, and terrible work/life balance. The only plus about this company is they'll hire anyone, so you can get your foot in the door, if they actually have you work at all. I would not recommend this company to anyone.
Pros
Get your foot in the door
Cons
Pay, Communication, Benefits, Hours, Work/Life Balance, anything that isn't getting hired
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agressive and Fast pace work environment
Project Mangager (Current Employee) –  Waynesburg, PAMay 30, 2018
GMS is a great place to work. It is fast pace and your are given the opportunity to better yourself. Very proud to work at GMS. I would recommend this company to anyone that wants to better there career.
Pros
Progression
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Underground Miner (Current Employee) –  Waynesburg, PAMay 19, 2018
They promise to give me 85 dollars a day for hotel and perdium and after traveling to waynesburg pa they ain’t wanting to give it .. they said every shift u work they pay perdium and so not true..
Pros
All the hours you want and gives chance to get black hat
Cons
There pay is terrible and there not honest with you..
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just had great time at work.
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COMay 5, 2018
Worked underground learned how to work on different project's management was ok hardest part of job was the drive their worked on a great crew. but weather then that it was a great place to work.
Pros
Had hour lunch.
Cons
helth care was not the great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
Underground Miner (Former Employee) –  Madisonville, KYApril 22, 2018
pretty good place to work pay is good just a lot of hours and hardly home get to travel around the united states working and get paid to travel and see new places
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, crews and way to learn new equipment and tasks
Coal miner (Current Employee) –  Kentucky and IllinoisApril 1, 2018
A typical work day for me depends on what projects and the mine needs done some mines are go go go and get it done ASAP and some are it’ll get done when it gets done attitude
Pros
work As many hours you want
Cons
High health insurance no paid time off until a year working with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay for the mileage you have to drive
Surface Miner (Former Employee) –  Enlow ForkMarch 20, 2018
You only get paid hourly, but they keep you within an 2 hr drive to work.. and the cost of gas is usually a weeks pay to go back and forth, not counting your bills, or cost of living
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GMS Mine Repair & Maintenance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 119 reviews
524
432
330
29
124

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture