Golden 1 Credit Union Employee Reviews

Showing all 103 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
CREDIT ANALYST (Current Employee) –  8945 Cal center drive Sacramento, CANovember 5, 2018
This is a good company who contributes to the community. The lending department is goal orientated and the whole team comes together to reach a common goal.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid place to work
Senior Mortgage Loan Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 8, 2018
Solid place to work with good culture and satisfactory benefits. Weak management team with narrow focus. Little opportunity for advancement unless you are a friend of a senior manager. HR dept. is broken and is very unreliable.
Pros
Large stable employer
Cons
Horrible location - Headquarters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Insurance Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 25, 2018
We were always finding ways to improve in areas that had opportunity. I loved working there. It wasn't stressful to work there. I also liked that it was Monday thru Friday and weekends off.
Pros
Gym downstairs, free popcorn
Cons
Not so good salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT--Too busy, not appreciated
Help Desk Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 4, 2018
Worked in IT and the culture was that it was better to be too busy than to be idle. I agreed--to a point. Overworked, underappreciated. Culture went from family and friendly feel to corporate . Non-profit that feels like for-profit. Cogs in a machine; wage slaves.
Pros
nice building, friendly employees
Cons
always putting out fires; overworked; unappreciated by upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment is strickly buisness
Senior Workforce Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 17, 2018
Company was too much like a library! The environment was very closed in. I cannot speak for all department managers however I did not get any coaching or 1 on 1 for suggested improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Msr- member service rep
Member Service Representative/ Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAAugust 6, 2018
Great job, good benefits, management could be better. Hours were
long and under staffing was a prominent. Long lines, quick paced, need to always be on your best otherwise messing up is no fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Member Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 1, 2018
Fun place to work with great benefits, company culture values teamwork - designated volunteer hours to take advantage of. Downsides are lots of busy work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you just need a job...
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 23, 2018
Talk a lot about being innovative but far from it. Old technology. Big plans but never follow through. VPs out of touch with business. Growing industry but haven't caught up.
Pros
Good health Insurance, 401K, gym, patio, overtime in some departments.
Cons
Management doesn't know what they're doing. Technology is old.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 29, 2018
Golden 1 cares about their memberships but employees are dispensable. Turn over of retail leadership at every level is unbelievable, weekly we lose the remaining leaders that advocated for the employees. Sadly they are being replaced with inexperience and non credit union ways. Golden 1 has many employees that are dedicated to the membership and their teams but we are not developed or provided opportunities for advancement. We have business hours that are not conducive to promoting the member use of digital services but we also don’t have the staffing to support the hours. Work life balance is a struggle! The culture has changed and the trust and pride I once had in Golden 1 is fading quickly.
Pros
Member products and services, 401K, mortgage incentive for employees, group goal structure, retail incentive
Cons
Staffing, CLF process, sales tracking/reporting and business hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payment Operations ACH Technician II (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAJune 25, 2018
Great environment and great benefits. Very busy and competitive work environment. Golden 1 automatically contributes 3% towards your 401k and will match up to another 3% of anything you personally decide to contribute.
Pros
benefits, paid time off
Cons
competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Member Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CAMay 17, 2018
Great organization to work for. Short staffed often which created stress and uneasy environment to work in but other than that the pay is competitive and so are the benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enthustiastic and very knowledgeable about the products offered
Sales (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 8, 2018
Lives by the brand by providing exceptional customer service in every interaction, advocating for Golden 1's products and services. Brings creative and innovated ideas forward that support Golden1's mission, vision, values, and goals. Adopting an "in everything I do, I will do it well" philosophy and consistently contributes to a positive working environment. Genuinely cares about the membership and exhibits the ability to effective mange the most challenging situations while meeting their expectation.
Pros
Great benefits, Works with your schedule if you havea conflict
Cons
No cost of living increase. No continued or ongoing training or refreshers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative and depressing place to work
Employee (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 28, 2018
I can honestly say that choosing to work for G1 is a poor decision on my part. They are very unorganized as a company, and employees welfare and job satisfaction does not matter to any management. They are an outdated company with thier work practices and equipment to function in your position. They do not pay well, and many employees find the working conditions hostile and depressing. Makes no difference to notify anyone in the company, because they don't care. The long timers working here are just waiting to retire to get out.
Pros
Paid holidays
Cons
Everything except paid holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Golden 1 Credit Union
Member Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee) –  Jackson, CAMarch 15, 2018
Depending on the day it could be very busy or very slow. No set schedule alternating weeks for hours was very hard and working Saturdays when you have small children was rough as well. Made due with the situation but, was passed up for promotion a couple of times before finding a job that was full time with Monday-Friday hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I still work there
Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 13, 2018
I am still an employee for G1. I don't really have anything to say as I would not want to put my job at risk. It is a very stressful place to work and you are not compensated. accordingly. They don't even give you a cost of living raise and they pick and choose who gets in on the yearly bonus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Insurance Service Representative II (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 1, 2018
loved this company and i would not have left this place if we were not moving out of state. they really did appreciate their employees. would return in a heartbeat if I could
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and Culture
Manager (Former Employee) –  CAFebruary 12, 2018
Upper Management does not listen to the opinions of all staff.
They choose to only listen to the favored employees and don't give the newer employees the opportunity to prove themselves.
Pros
Salary and Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have a friend to get you in the door.
customer service rep (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 5, 2018
A typical day at work is a LIE. You work your behind off and are promised perm positions once your contract hours are completed as a temp employee, and that DEFINITELY doesn't happen.
Pros
You at least have a job while looking for a new one.
Cons
nothing for temp employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No management accountability, support
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 25, 2018
No assistance when asked. Managers don't show up or are late to scheduled meetings and unprepared. Lack of response to escalations for job functions. No positive feedback.
Pros
Collaboration and great business relationships with other teams
Cons
Lack of management accountability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strssful, not easy to communicate
Branch Lead (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 11, 2018
Branch Lead, weekly, monthly and quarterly audit, cash count. Cash order. Main work throw is as a Teller.
Daily work position is as a teller.
Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Golden 1 Credit Union. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 103 reviews
530
426
323
212
112

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight