Golden Corral Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 2,432 reviews matching the search See all 2,435 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workers, poor management
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAJuly 14, 2018
Work was great. Employees underpaid and underworked. I loved my job as a prep cook but probably wouldn’t work at that location ever again. Come to work, do your job, and mind your business. Management wouldn’t take care of certain problems due to favoritism, which they admitted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Bellflower, CAJuly 14, 2018
not a place to work for minimum wage
overpacked in the weekends that we need security to stop the fights
not enough people trained properly
didn't have a permanent break table or area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to make new friends.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Kenosha, WIJuly 14, 2018
What I enjoy the most about working at Golden Corral was all the new people I would meet each day I worked. You can really forge bonds with some customers witch is great thing to have. There's never a boring day while you work at Golden Corral.
Pros
Very flexible hours, management is nice, a discount for employe meals.
Cons
Low pay, no anual raises, breaks are only given if it's a slow day, and if someone can cover your position while you go on break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy-Busy Environment
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 13, 2018
Very busy location and can be very difficult to operate at any given day and time. Party reservations are made and manageable; however, large "walk-in" parties are appear to be the norm an creates real problems for Kitchen and Dining Room staff.

With any buffet, it is a struggle to keep your buffets looking fresh. Keeping "cold foods cold" and "hot foods hot" and along with that...throw in a Salad Bar and keeping those items "fresh" is ongoing throughout Breakfast/Brunch/Lunch and Dinner.

Definitely NOT a job for the "faint-of-heart"!
Pros
Time flies as you always have more work to do than is possible, many interruptions
Cons
"NCNS" are prevalent meaning you've got to "pick-up-the-slack" and scramble to call in replacements, dealing with many guest issues, large groups arriving without a reservation creates real problems in the dining rooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Certified Associate Manger (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 13, 2018
Its pretty busy at all times of the day. I have learned how to run a business from the bottom up. The most enjoyable part is the guest when they are happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Server (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2018
It’s very fast paced. You have to be on your toes and keep up with everything but overall enjoyable. Management is very nice and they worked well with my schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family fun business
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Hermitage, TNJuly 12, 2018
Clock in
Greet
Prepare
Discuss

Hardest part- dealing with two travel bus full at once
Whether its 25 kids 25 adults
30 kids 20 adults

Most Enjoyable

Being able to communicate with everyone
like family
Pros
Eating from buffet with discount, several breaks
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress and hostile work environment
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJuly 11, 2018
Management lacked communication with employees and showed disrespect toward guests. When a family emergency or employee had an appointment previously arranged management would deny having any communication and penalize the employee for not being at work. Employees were not given opportunity to move up in the company for unknown reasons and remain at the same pay for years with no bonus or raise promised upon employment.
Pros
Decent benefits, discounts occasionally depending on management on site, opportunity to meet new people
Cons
hostile, poor management, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productve & Competitive Work Place.
Fry cook / Dishwasher / Grill (Current Employee) –  Hesperia, CAJuly 11, 2018
Overall the experience was great, although It is challenging I enjoy working at the restaraunt. The recipes are great in taste and the restaraunt is great in service!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Environment
LINE ATTENDANT & CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZJuly 11, 2018
This job can be a slow or fast-paced depending on the day. Customers are very friendly and co-workers help each other out if asked. This would be a great first time job for someone just starting to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Start to the day
Server (Former Employee) –  Anderson, INJuly 11, 2018
Upon arrival I would make a floor chart of assigned areas for other servers, Check out the previous shift on their assigned area and side work. During my shift make sure everyone took their breaks accordingly. Assist the cashiers when they needed it. Assist in other areas when needed. Check everyone out at end of night.
Pros
Fun enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Main Closer at front desk (Former Employee) –  Plover, WIJuly 10, 2018
They had me working way too much while going to school and I feel they definitely didn't pay me enough. The management is way too slack and it's more of a full time party than a job for most people working there.
Pros
Famkly environment
Cons
Not paid enough. Overworked. Poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golden Corral is trash
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJuly 10, 2018
I worked at Golden Corral in San Bernardino ever since it opened and it was a good job for my first job but after the 3rd month the managers were losing interest in the worker and the drama
Pros
cheap food discount
Cons
terrible pay, bad managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace
Head Baker (Former Employee) –  FloridaJuly 10, 2018
You have to think on your feet there many different components to the head Baker job make a lot of different elements to coordinate
To make sure you par levels are correct for each day of business
To make sure the guest are having a great experience
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No breaks no vacation for associated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Kitchen Manager head chef (Former Employee) –  Miamisburg, OHJuly 10, 2018
Have to be on your game when you have person after person coming in for breakfast, lunch, dinner. Had to do paper work, work schedule, ordered food for the restaurant.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay restaurant
Cashier and Server (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 9, 2018
Management needs to respect employees more in the way they talk to them , increase pay for the extreme work we do , offer benefits and lower prices , or atleast consider.
Pros
$5 lunch for employees
Cons
Unfair pay for what they require the employees to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJuly 9, 2018
It was a good company to work for. The management worked with your personal and professional needs. I enjoyed getting the interaction with all the different customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 8, 2018
Overall pretty good place to work. The salary was fair considering the light workload compared to other jobs. Fun environment, people usually work together well with you.
Pros
Free or discounted meals, flexible working hours
Cons
Hard to advance up the ladder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for people fresh out of or in school
SERVER, DISHWASHER, COOK, & CREW LEADER (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJuly 8, 2018
Golden Corral has a plethora of positions to fill. each position has its own specific requirements. Having worked most positions the restaurant has to offer, I am more knowledgeable and have a better work ethic because of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced
Cook (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 8, 2018
If you enjoy high paced then this is your job this is the place that you want to be unfortunately for me it was a little to high paced and i was able to keep up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Golden Corral Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,435 reviews
5710
4635
3606
2254
1230

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight