Goldman Sachs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Vice President (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 22, 2018
I dont have much comments about Goldman Sachs. My role was good and i had perfect work life balance. Depends on which division you work. Benefits were good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding but mostly monotonous
Associate (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 19, 2018
Operations at Goldman Sachs can be pretty boring at times, but the people you work with make it worth it. I had good co-workers and managers and our team acted more like a small family. The days can be long (expect 50+ hour weeks every week, but no more than 60 hours on a given week - there are a few months that can hit 80 hours/week) but its nice to go outside, get fresh air walk around, then get back at it. I enjoyed my time at GS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2018
I have been working at Goldman Sachs full-time (More than 3 years)

Pros

Working with competent people
Collaborative team work environment
Great career prospect

Cons

Work life balance difficult to achieve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to launch your career
Investment Banking Summer Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2018
Work/life balance could be tough in IBD, but you're constantly exposed to some of the biggest companies and transactions on the street.

The culture can be a bit tough and first impressions matter a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2018
Great peers, projects, management. All driven by success to client engagements. I learnt many skills and the experience has helped me excel in other workplaces after I left Goldman. I still keep in touch with folks at the firm to see how products have developed whilst I was away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense
Project Manager/Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Princeton, NJJuly 17, 2018
Very long hours
Very well compensated for the long hours
Not much work life balance
An excellent company to start out a career, but once you have children it is very difficult to balance a career and family life with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boot Camp
Training (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 16, 2018
I learned a lot and raised my standards during my time at GS, however the pace and poor work/life balance was not aligned with my goals as I was about to start a family. The environment felt more competitive and "CYA" than collaborative and supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible environment where managers make Analyst life miserable
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJuly 15, 2018
Stay away! This is a career killer, and they don’t pay nearly enough commensurate with the garbage that we put up with. Managers conspire to keep analysts low paid with no bonusses
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full energy system development team and team work oriented environment
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 12, 2018
full energy system development team and team work oriented environment. Have many opportunity to learn and develop your career. Usually long hour of work but work hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Culture and great learning experience
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 12, 2018
Very good environment to pick up work experience especially when working with different individuals in different divisions. Projects can be challenging so one needs to be on top of their game.
Pros
Great culture and learning experience
Cons
boys clyb
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Associate - Funding Controller (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 11, 2018
Goldman Sachs will work you like a dog and does not provide adequate mentorship for new hires. If you want to get promoted, you need to play their political games.
Pros
youthful energy from employees
Cons
culture that promotes greed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good review
Manager (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 10, 2018
Good Exp with the firm.............Will go back
Hard working
good workplace
open commuinication
privacy
Old school
timely departure
things about career
Pros
work
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company name to have on resume
Financial Analyst (Consultant) (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJuly 9, 2018
Not very kind to contractors, consultants or contingents. They are not equally awarded for the hard work they put in during most the assignments in the work place.
Pros
Respected firm
Cons
Unkind to non FTE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Human Capital Management Summer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 8, 2018
Great experience to learn.
Management was excited by progress.
40-50 hours- well paid.
People were more than willing to sit down with interns and talked to them about their goals and how to achieve them within and without the firm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sounds better than it is
Executive Director and Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2018
Wasn't overwhelmed with management, vision, strategy of technology division at GS. Huge lean towards coders vs other tech practices. Main hub is NY where London treated as more of a satellite location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/ Life Balance is tricky
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJune 23, 2018
Perfect for a single person who has no family. The higher you go the more politics you encounter. Many silos. If you become a parent in Goldman you have a 10 year shelf life. There is no job security unless you are either brown nosing or no outside life.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to have on a resume
Vice President, Portfolio Advisory Group (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 23, 2018
Offers decent work experience. Like other major banks, rather dull and more interested in preserving status quo than in leading the push toward innovation in the financial services industry.
Pros
Decent people
Cons
Not always stimulating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been too long
SUMMER ASSOCIATE & FELLOW (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 22, 2018
Global company with lots of exposure to many things. Also knows its abilities and influence. Also aware of its place in the corp landscape. Good starting point.
Pros
Global
Cons
Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Hard work is rewarded. Opportunities for advancement are plentiful
Associate Manager/Specialist/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJune 21, 2018
Excellent compensation and benefits. You will work hard but will be rewarded for it. Many opportunities to learn are available from technical to personal development.
Pros
Salary, bonuses.
Cons
Little time for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat place to work
Digital Finance (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJune 20, 2018
You are just a number, and everything you do and say is recorded, everything is a metric. People are scared of the management, and will quickly stab you in the back.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goldman Sachs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,145 reviews
5453
4412
3206
248
126

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.6Fairygodboss Score

51%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

63%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.