Golfsmith International Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Next Chapter of Career
Program Coordinator, Learning Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 28, 2018
Looking forward to moving forward from Golfsmith to the next chapter of my Career.
My past experience with Golfsmith provided a lifetime of experience in the Golf World.
I am very approachable and desire to share my knowledge to assist others with there Golf Game.
It's a pleasure to see others reach their goals and enjoy this great game.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
Sales Associate/Shop Tech (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 28, 2018
It was great to work for Golfsmith! great people and management! It was a fun environment to work in. Too many online stores drove them out of business though....
Pros
Sales of golf clubs!! Good people and discounts
Cons
Golfsmith went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly work environment
SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, TNFebruary 7, 2018
My time at Golfsmith has led to friendships that will last a lifetime and it helped strengthen my consultative sales skills. I am a more capable, knowledgeable salesperson as a result.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is currently downsizing!
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 23, 2018
Very little growth potential with this company, have closed several locations. If golf is your interest it is a fun place to work at a very slow pace when not in season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of business
AR Collections (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 19, 2018
Company has since gone bankrupt and is no longer in business. The CEO of the company did not care about the employees and what they contributed to the company at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun paced pace job
Apparel Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Hill, CA 94523January 5, 2018
Every Golfsmith associate knew what they where talking about and were very knowledgeable with all store products. Golfsmith had a great management team who was very understanding and reliable.
Pros
tv in breakrooms, free snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company's gone
Ecommerce Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 3, 2017
Company went Bankrupt. Sadly its gone now. otherwise I enjoyed working their and loved my team and managers. The company was very flexible letting me grow and was able to work with me when i had outgrown a role. Wish I was still working there. lots of potential.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it here!
Senior Merchant Ecommerce (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 26, 2017
I loved my time at Golfsmith - Unfortunately they have filed bankruptcy and are now closed. The culture there was great, the people were great. The work was tough - but worth it!
Pros
Fun atmosphere
Cons
Could get a little stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
Master Club Fitter (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCAugust 31, 2017
Unfortunately Golfsmith went out of business. It was a great company but they are no longer open. Maybe one day they will make a comeback, but unfortunately it seems as they will be closed forever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Environment
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, TNJuly 27, 2017
Store management is top-notch. Very experienced retail management team with a history of successful operation and a thorough understanding of the products and services the company provides.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 17, 2017
General Manager did not care for his employees and routinely stepped over them to satisfy the customer. While it is expected that the customer is always right in the retail business, it would be taken out of hand in instances where the customer was a complete jerk.
Pros
Not Many
Cons
Poor Management Led to Bankruptcy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace environment
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILMarch 27, 2017
The work atmosphere was great. My managers and coworkers were a pleasure to work with. Upper management wasn't really clear on what they were doing though.
Pros
Management and coworkers
Cons
The company didn't have clear goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people.
Director of Supply Chain (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 15, 2017
Demanding, yet rewarding for those who dedicated themselves to improve processes and deliver results. Unfortunate to see the company go bankrupt despite the efforts of really talented people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 10, 2017
Enjoyable day to day. Learn a lot about the golf equipment and industry. Good perks. Laid back atmosphere. Easy to communicate with upper management. No complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with dedicated staff
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 2, 2017
Golfsmith was a great place to work with a dedicated management team and staff. Team work was highly regarded and encouraged.
Pros
Great team work and management
Cons
limited room advancement within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adequate Working Experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJFebruary 28, 2017
Company was alright to work for until the sale and liquidation started
Company was very dysfunctional from corporate
Employees were not treated fairly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Golfsmith
Retail Sales Associate/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Webster, TXFebruary 27, 2017
I wish I still had my job with them, But they went out of business. Great work environment, but the senior level management, tried to grow the company to fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ejoyed working there
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 23, 2017
Company went bankrupt. 5 CEO's in the 8 years I worked
there. Poor decision making, took the company from a healthy public
company to a private out of control debt company. Bad decisions on new store openings, too much upper management for a small company and stores had too much inventory in them.
Pros
Great store teams
Cons
Revolving door of CEO's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Golfsmith filed for bankruptcy
Director of Store Operations (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 15, 2017
It was a great place to work. Loved the people and everyone's passion for the customer. Unfortunately, with the change of multiple owners, mergers and leadership, the company was unable to stay afloat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bankruptcy
Treasury Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 26, 2017
There is no more Golfsmith International. Management of 3-4 years ago made bad decisions and resulting in the company filing bankruptcy and not being a forward going company.
Pros
It was a good plae to wrk.
Cons
Company closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Golfsmith International. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 79 reviews
519
434
313
29
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture