Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews in Indianapolis, IN

Found 192 reviews matching the search See all 14,371 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing
Clerical Inturnship (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 7, 2018
Goodwill has place me at the Indianapolis Urben League. It has has been a wonderful experience learning the office environment. The work here has inspire me to go back and complete my degree and pursue a career in life coach.
Pros
People you meet
Cons
long time at key board
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you're looking to get back in the job force
Vintage Vogue Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 22, 2018
I loved working there. Great place if you are trying to get back in the work force. The people are awesome!! They accommodate people with disabilities & anyone with criminal history.
Pros
Good people, health accomidating
Cons
Building not in good shape
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Assembler/Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 13, 2018
The pay could be better but it's a good place to start if you have a criminal background and/or need to get back on your feet quickly. The work is repetitive and the production expectations are demanding but it's a job.
Pros
Benefits, ability to advance
Cons
Low pay, stressful environment, co-workers have bad attitudes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is just ridiculous
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 4, 2018
This is a company that are not professional within store but throw on a major front for the corporate heads who visit. They make no advancement to help those who really want to repair their lives. Instead they keep them on a short leash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goodwill
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 4, 2018
The day seemed long because of the slow paced work environment. would not advice work here if your young or have no disability. Management is a poor standard of corporations. work culture is drama infused. the hardest part is the customers. enjoyable is location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture
Assembler 1 (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 3, 2018
I did not like the culture of Goodwill Industries because many of the people who worked there had some kind of substance abuse problems. This is not a good place to work if you have had any substance abuse problems in the past.
Pros
Not a stressful work environment
Cons
The pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at goodwill
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 18, 2018
Working at the second largest government building in the country was fun. It was a lot to clean but a friendly work place to be t. I enjoyed the customer.
Pros
free food around chrismast time
Cons
there was a lot of work to do in little time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From A fastpace envoinment,it didn,t pay well-or-no insurance.
Housekeeper/groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 6, 2018
They worked you fair and they can work you up to five -to- six hours
shifts, that was a good deal.But however the $-pay was low, and
Unfortunately you would have be a fulltime employee there.
The only ones to I know of, is the people in the following job positions
"cashiers" in retail area, and "forklift opperators". there are fulltime.
But at least they kept me working on a parttime baises.
Pros
perminent -parttime employee, and worked me a good working week.
Cons
didn, t $pay verywell, and no insurance benefits, had to be fulltime employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill stores are a quick pace environment.
Rack runner (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 5, 2018
Quick pace a good work place. Helping and working with customer's.
The work place where I am everyone gets along fairly well. We have a very good manager where I work.
Pros
Good place to work.
Cons
Hard on feet and legs, because you are running racks constantly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 30, 2018
it served its purpose but its really a job for felons trying to get on their feet. it was my second job just to get by when i first moved to indy. meh
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place
Sorter/Packer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 30, 2018
bad paid not a good work place with bad pay and bad hours u get bad works and they resell stuff gave to them kind wrong they should give what they are gave just saying
Pros
get to meet new ppl
Cons
they give no hours or good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive learning experience
Dispatcher Trainee (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 28, 2018
My tome spent at Goodwill was in an adult training program, Therefore I learned multiple skills. For example, I was a dispatcher at America Red Cross, An administrative assistant at 2 different Northwest Neighborhood Centers, and a computer assistant in the lobby at the unemployment office before i was hired. I also took a course at that Goodwill sponsored at IUPUI to learn MS Office Suite.
This consisted of MS Word, Outlook, Access and keyboarding.
Pros
Wonderful program that is offered
Cons
Wish it had paid more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Away from Accounting
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 27, 2018
Horrible Mansgement. You are given way more work than can be done in a 40 hour week. Can't take time off because there is no backup. Condescending and negative attitudes!! Manager does not work an 8 work day. You will be set up to fail. Underpaid and over worked.
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Management and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you dont mind sorting out donated goods then you might find happiness in this type of work
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 24, 2018
Must have excellent customer service skills and be capable of excusing unruly customers. Must also have an eye for quality assurance and detail. High integrity a must.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 23, 2018
I enjoyed working with the people and the management created a positive atmosphere for their workers. I would recommend Goodwill to friends for employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow-paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 20, 2018
Pretty good, it can get busy at points though. Mangers are usually pretty reasonable. Coworkers can get irritating due to the forgivefull nature of the company. Employee discount is very much apreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Goodwill Industries taught me how to cope with working in a fast paced work environment.
EHOB Processor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 16, 2018
Our daily routine included processing different materials ranging from preparation of EHOB medical mats to sorting and distinguishing differences in raw materials being used in several competing industries.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Op.
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 8, 2018
Uncontrolled climate , lack of supervision and team members, pay rates are not living standards and no chance for growth at all. Non profit organization which means no over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 5, 2018
Employees are nice and helpful. When all are not being team players, it's very stressful on the next person. Best part is when all team players are doing their part, the warehouse runs smooth, and takes pressure off all. Always asked to help train new employees.
Pros
Hire felons
Cons
No 401k and only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job right now have to work here
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 5, 2018
goodwill is not a long term career job for me i need something better than $230 every 2 weeks . I can barely pay bills or my phone bills.
Right now im just working here because ut was the fastest job that hired me im ready for something better.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 14,374 reviews
54.6K
43.8K
33.3K
21.3K
11.3K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight