Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews in Indianapolis, IN

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Goodwill Industries taught me how to cope with working in a fast paced work environment.
EHOB Processor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 16, 2018
Our daily routine included processing different materials ranging from preparation of EHOB medical mats to sorting and distinguishing differences in raw materials being used in several competing industries.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Op.
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 8, 2018
Uncontrolled climate , lack of supervision and team members, pay rates are not living standards and no chance for growth at all. Non profit organization which means no over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 5, 2018
Employees are nice and helpful. When all are not being team players, it's very stressful on the next person. Best part is when all team players are doing their part, the warehouse runs smooth, and takes pressure off all. Always asked to help train new employees.
Pros
Hire felons
Cons
No 401k and only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job right now have to work here
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 5, 2018
goodwill is not a long term career job for me i need something better than $230 every 2 weeks . I can barely pay bills or my phone bills.
Right now im just working here because ut was the fastest job that hired me im ready for something better.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
GREETER/ STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 23, 2018
A typical day at work is very relaxed. I learned that not everything has to be perfect. The management there is friendly. The workplace is friendly. The hardest part of the job was staying focused when your friends from school were also working on the same shift. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was I didn't have to worry so much as to having to take care of my personal needs in a crunched period of time and having to rush myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for them I have worked at 6 different Goodwills and loved the job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 22, 2018
I started out at goodwill as as cashier. And was promoted fast. This company does really good at promoting from within. I really learned a lot from this company. Loved working with the employees and loved the customers. You really get a lot of opportunities to learn skills and also the company offers a lot of programs to classes to prepare you for other careers outside of Goodwill. And they help the community.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Cons
Sometimes the managers don’t appreciate the associates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent and fun work environment
Quality Control (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 30, 2018
I love everything about working at Goodwill. Management does an phenominal job of balaning the needs of the facility with the needs of the individual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 26, 2018
Cheerful people. Good work, very accommodating and help their employees. Appreciate for the work you do. They fight for a good cause and are passionate about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work in india
SQL Server BI Developer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 25, 2018
That was my first job in IT filed. i was just started work. i learned so many things in this job. i was work for goodwill its an USA company but my employer was TATA consultancy services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy productive work place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 21, 2018
stocked shelves,did floor displays,cashier,balance cash register at the end of each shift,took in donations, purge items on floor by tag colors,open and closed and made bank drops
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My goodwill sscep guide is a great person
Assistant Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 12, 2018
I liked the position they put me in I actually started through national able. This is only a 4 year work program for people 55 and over. My boss at widowed persons service where I was placed was a great boss.
Pros
Work the days and hours I choose
Cons
Not enough pay and no chance of increase unless minimum wages go up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 3, 2018
management didn't care about the store unless a review was coming up. Managers argued like highschoolers. No benefits unless you're a manager. The customers are nice for the most part
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience Will Vary
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 2, 2018
Every employee's experience will be different. The quality of the work experience will depend on where the store is located and who manages it. Goodwill's policies may differ from state to state.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All bad
Sales and online sales (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 23, 2018
They fired me for filing a discrimination charge so they don't stand behind equal oppertunity and that is something ok strongly believe in if I'm going to work for a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Wares Producer (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 19, 2018
The management is horrible! They don’t want to help you, they just want you to get your quota. QOUTA! Seriously, you are going to pay low and expect me to be a god. That’s just horrible leadership. If you want to advance they make excuses why you aren’t a good fit.
Pros
Easy to get hired
Cons
Management is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What it’s like working at goodwill
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 18, 2018
It’s a pretty nice job for th most part you see slot of new faces it can get a lil out of hand but a experience . One ting there is no time to be lazy your on your feet constantly moving heavy bins or picking stuff off the floor or even working in the back .
Pros
Educational advantages
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill nyc
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 16, 2018
Very bad experienc will goodwill nyc, district manager took the job personal
Goodwill indianapolis was fair and I had no problems working there, a actually loved my experience tere and would love to go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at G.S.A through Goodwill
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 14, 2018
I spent eight hours cleaning. Building one is a DEFAS Gov. building. So I had to get security clearance to work there management was really good to work with.
Pros
some paid time off
Cons
The pay rate was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company poor Management
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 22, 2018
This was a hostile work environment simply because management was worrying more about losing the cleaning contract instead of the staffing issues. When I defused a possibly really bad situation
my manager would create another one
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really liked this job
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 17, 2018
This was one of the best jobs I can say I had an opportunity to work with.. Management, co-workers ,just everyone made the work week wonderful..I would love to go back
Pros
Fun atmosphere easy work good hours
Cons
Standing up for long periods of time could be tiring..must always stretch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13,672 reviews
54.5K
43.6K
33.1K
21.2K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.