Goodwill Industries Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 2,972 reviews matching the search See all 13,683 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A non-profit that focuses heavily on business.
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 17, 2018
Goodwill is a good place to work. They have a great paid time off plan and getting time off was never an issue. They have helped a lot of people over the years.
Pros
pto was great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but unorganized
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 17, 2018
Goodwill was an okay company to work for but things often seemed very unorganized and there were too many people in charge giving different instructions. Managers would hire their friends and would turn away other applicants. I was the only male cashier so I was forced to do everything and anything that required physical effort.
Pros
Goodwill offers a handful of benefits for employees.
Cons
Managers often hung by themselves and let employees battle through tough situations alone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Processing Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLAugust 16, 2018
Needs better management well I was working in St Petersburg Florida management was terrible manager was never at work. Needed better help with showing us how to work and training us better because I only got trained for two days and then I was on my own.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company feel good mission awful management
Senior Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 16, 2018
Worked serveral years. Work was not appreciated or rewarded. Upper management is insecure and will throw u under the bus to cover u their mistakes. The hourly employs work hard and are the strength of this organization
Pros
Mission statement
Cons
No overtime for salary employees but it is expectected. Upper management is awful to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distribution center
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 16, 2018
Diverse work invironment, fast paced, stress full at times, pay is average for the work performed, good place to gain experience in the warehouse industry, good first job for someone with low level of work history
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Goodwill Industries taught me how to cope with working in a fast paced work environment.
EHOB Processor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 16, 2018
Our daily routine included processing different materials ranging from preparation of EHOB medical mats to sorting and distinguishing differences in raw materials being used in several competing industries.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Senior Industrial Engineer (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 16, 2018
They get a lot of money from free, and donations but they have bad salaries for employees.
It's not a good place to work, I personally do not recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier,Hanger,and Tagger (Former Employee) –  Summerville, SCAugust 15, 2018
It was close to home
I worked with decent people
The pay was decent and it helped pay my bills and take care of three kids
I sometimes had to walk to work but I had to do what I had to do for my kids
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for starters and the elderly still elligable for work.
Floor & Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXAugust 15, 2018
It wasn't the greatest, but the hours were fair. Furthermore the pay is minimum wage, additionally, workers, excluding management, are ineligible for pay raises, despite that, the workers are allowed to move up them employment ladder.
Pros
Good for beginners & people with mental or physical handicaps.
Cons
Minimum wage/Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Supervisor- Cynthia Turner, GM (Former Employee) –  Fenton, MIAugust 14, 2018
I worked many different positions in the 4 years that I worked at Goodwill. I left Goodwill only because i had earned my degrees and am searching for employment in my field. The management staff was very considerate of the ongoing issues I had with my mothers health and my child's mental health, Overall they were very accommodating to my needs. The only issues were that there were 4 managers and their goals were incosistant. Also after 4 years every 6 months the quota was increased which was always out of reach no matter how hard or fast I worked.
Pros
great management
Cons
no room for raises, each year the whole team was denied raises. Minimum wage increase was the only increases we saw.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
transportation (Former Employee) –  1500 tice street fort myers floridaAugust 14, 2018
It was very hard work. But lve learned a lot. Meet very many different people. Hours were very long .But it was worth it.worked in securd shread for awhile.
Pros
lots of breaks
Cons
very hot conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good will i dont reccomend it
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte miAugust 14, 2018
Its an ok company been there 14 years hr are great but havent had a raise in 10 yearsthe lack of pay wants me to look for better employmentit has been convient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill standards
Donations Attendant (Former Employee) –  Pasadena TexasAugust 14, 2018
Goodwill standards are so open to the handicapped & helps people that need second chances in life. I believe their pay scale should come up to a higher standard.
Pros
Goodwill Bucks
Cons
Monthly awards & dinners were given ONLY if we made our store budget. how is that fair?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive Environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXAugust 14, 2018
I like workimg st Goodwill because you get to know your daily customers, you get to know your teammates and you grow as a family. Also, the managers will understand if you cannot make it to work and also will work woth your sche
Pros
1 hours lunch.
Cons
No Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill is a fun and productive place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 13, 2018
Goodwill is a perfect place to work when your have to start your life over , it have great benefits and offers promotion if they see that you are a good worker
Pros
Goodwill provide us with free lunch and thanksgiving dinner
Cons
Goodwill offers health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy going work place but requires a hard worker.
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hernando, MSAugust 12, 2018
I liked working there but people didn’t do their job correctly so it made mine harder. Management did not seem to care either. But good benefits and PTO. And decent pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety with different clients, but difficult work-life balance.
Job Coach, Vocational Support (Current Employee) –  Menasha, WIAugust 12, 2018
Very rewarding to help clients learn and reach their employment goals, but the hours are too variable/difficult, and the pay is unbearably low. It's challenging to have a work-life balance when the hours are so all-over-the-place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for.
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 12, 2018
My experience there was bad except for working with my fellow co workers. The management lies about being good for disabled Veterans. There's no way a person could survive on what they pay. I would never recommend anyone work there unless they like low wages and bad managers. Michele Eachen
Cons
Low wages. People talk bad about you behind your back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a stocker
merchandise processer (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 12, 2018
They made me feel comfortable and I had good working hours. I was paid biweekly at a good pay rate. I enjoyed displaying household items in the linen department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that takes care of their employees and their customers.
ASM (Current Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARAugust 12, 2018
I enjoy working for this company. I Love the people i work for and the customers. We do a lot for the community and that makes me feel goo about what I do for the company.
Pros
Benefits for part-timers and lots of good through the mission to benefit the community.
Cons
High turnover for part-time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13,685 reviews
54.5K
43.7K
33.1K
21.2K
11.2K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss