Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 13,667 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54.4K
43.6K
33.1K
21.2K
11.2K
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 13,371 reviews matching the search See all 13,658 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive Environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXAugust 14, 2018
I like workimg st Goodwill because you get to know your daily customers, you get to know your teammates and you grow as a family. Also, the managers will understand if you cannot make it to work and also will work woth your sche
Pros
1 hours lunch.
Cons
No Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fast fun paste job
Donation Attendant (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNAugust 13, 2018
Would work there again if I had to. Management was kind of Miss leading and I felt like they weren't doing their jobs to the fullest of their abilities
Pros
Discounts on store Goods
Cons
Brakes are short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being new to Texas meeting new people
Head cashier/Employee Trainer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 13, 2018
I enjoyed meeting new people and doing the Auction every week and training the new cashiers. seeing all the regulars an seeing how happy the customer smile..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It really depends on which goodwill you work at and how tough your skin is.
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 13, 2018
They will treat you great tell you make your first mistake then they no longer care about you as a person just the number you can put out in a day. 0 out of 10 would not work here again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cadillac, MIAugust 13, 2018
Liked it. Very stressful. But very fast paced! Overall experience was great and I loved the management that I had! Co workers were really great too!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
warehouse forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 13, 2018
work is good. good management. team work is good. fast pace work. organized. trainning in all ares of work. good work hours with over time. clean and healthy work enviorment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran the front register and kept the front end of the store clean.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Queen Creek, AZAugust 13, 2018
Ran the front register and kept the front end of the store clean.
Pulled old tags off the racks. And put new ones on. Priced items that came into the store.
Pros
Everyone was nice there.
Cons
Being on my feet all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On a daily basis the job was very rewarding, dealing with customer service. Communication with staff,working very enjoyable
Tiffin Retail Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Tiffin OhioAugust 13, 2018
Started the by doing daily sales report to send to corporate. staff coming started day to find out goals for and strategy to complete task. ordering truck if needed for next day. Take in donations from customers. Handling problems that arise on registers. Organizing racks and shelves with merchandise that came on to floor from production room. Doin payroll as needed, preparing schedules. Preparing production plans for next month after corporate gave new numbers. Prepared deposit for bank, went to post office to mail papers to corporate. Hired new staff when needed, completed orientation for new hires.
Pros
The employees and the customers the work in general.
Cons
Corporate not being of help when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill is a fun and productive place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 13, 2018
Goodwill is a perfect place to work when your have to start your life over , it have great benefits and offers promotion if they see that you are a good worker
Pros
Goodwill provide us with free lunch and thanksgiving dinner
Cons
Goodwill offers health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy going work place but requires a hard worker.
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Hernando, MSAugust 12, 2018
I liked working there but people didn’t do their job correctly so it made mine harder. Management did not seem to care either. But good benefits and PTO. And decent pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TX 78753August 12, 2018
Love the training that is provided to move up to management. They help build a person into getting the right training. They also offer so many resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive lots to do
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Castle Rock, COAugust 12, 2018
the typical day was fast in donations with people lining up around the building, I leaned more effective ways to clean the management was great the workplace culture was fine if you keep everyone at arms length, hardest part of the job is dealing with lines of donations and the most enjoyable part is completing tasks
Pros
Work to be done
Cons
Lots of cleaning and moving heavy stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good all-round. Job
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Antioch, TNAugust 12, 2018
They were very helpful in training it was a great experience in working as administrator .its was very helpful in the training the people very Nice to work for
Pros
Lucky
Cons
Noned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of variety with different clients, but difficult work-life balance.
Job Coach, Vocational Support (Current Employee) –  Menasha, WIAugust 12, 2018
Very rewarding to help clients learn and reach their employment goals, but the hours are too variable/difficult, and the pay is unbearably low. It's challenging to have a work-life balance when the hours are so all-over-the-place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Kerrville, TXAugust 12, 2018
normal cashier duties and stocked shelves, clothing racks abd cleaned the store areas as required abs at store closing.

Management was small bur responsive to needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for.
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXAugust 12, 2018
My experience there was bad except for working with my fellow co workers. The management lies about being good for disabled Veterans. There's no way a person could survive on what they pay. I would never recommend anyone work there unless they like low wages and bad managers. Michele Eachen
Cons
Low wages. People talk bad about you behind your back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Lead Supervisor/ Merchandise Processor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 12, 2018
They gave me the necessary training I needed to become more successful on my career path, as well as giving me the motivation to rise and achieve In success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a stocker
merchandise processer (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 12, 2018
They made me feel comfortable and I had good working hours. I was paid biweekly at a good pay rate. I enjoyed displaying household items in the linen department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing First Job. Horrible Career.
Retail Donation Assistant (Former Employee) –  1211 Alverser Dr, Midlothian, VA 23113August 12, 2018
This job is easy to get.

Physical labor, lots of lifting and moving around.

Employees are very friendly.

It gets HOT in the summer. Drink lots of water!

Overall I'd recommend this job as a filler if one is struggling to find a job elsewhere. It pays fair but could become stressful and tiring over time simply by how the job is formatted.

Amazing store, amazing employees, just an exhausting job.With an environment where one bad egg spoils the mood of many.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, should be temporary
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARAugust 12, 2018
A nice place to work. The customers can be harsh as it's usually the worst around the community. The company really only cares about sales and money, so very typical. My coworkers were great as well as the management. I would recommend as a temporary job as the pay isn't good at all.
Pros
Great Management, discounts
Cons
Customers. low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

60out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Goodwill Industries.

Powered by Comparably