Goodyear Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful work environment.
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Turnersville, NJApril 25, 2018
Management leaves you to fend for yourself in most situations requiring experience. The company cares more about its paper trail and antiquated business model than its employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job to have
Fork lift Operator / Trainer / WigWag Operator (Former Employee) –  Union City, TNApril 24, 2018
The heat was the hardest part of the job. The work area was also dirty. The people were great and we had good supervisors. I supplied supplies to machines and it had to be done in a timely manner. I learned that I am a strong person who can do a great job and be very proud of my job.
Pros
healthcare and retirement
Cons
the plant closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Coor
Region Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 23, 2018
I worked for Goodyear over 30 years. I started out in the warehouse and over the years worked my up the ladder. Goodyear was a safe and comfortable place to work as I raised my family. I was laid off with alot of other associates in a reorganization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked
Flat Rate Technician (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVApril 21, 2018
Promises that was made to get me there was not delivered. Had me doing unethical work against my morals which is why I quit. I would never work for or have my vehicle serviced there. The management was not experienced in running a shop and was only focused on making money and not servicing the customer.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours and low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodyear is a great company committed to their associates and good business practices.
Asst to Director of Procurement NA Divn (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 18, 2018
With 30 years at Goodyear, I never had any issues. I worked in many different departments and divisions of corporate headquarters and always had good people with work for and to work with. The company has great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work at
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 17, 2018
Great teams with multiple project and variety of work. Great facilities at HQ and good benefits. High quality mentors with a large amount of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodyear is a fast paced place to work with lots of growth opportunities
Plant Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCApril 16, 2018
Every day at the factory is a different day of challenges and learning opportunities. There is a lot of old equipment and new equipment to be exposed to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Crew
Cure Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKApril 15, 2018
Good management, very good experience, learned a lot, great team work, excellent benefits.
Long working hours, held the World Record on most tires made in 24 hours
Pros
good management
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Intern Student (Current Employee) –  Lawton, OKApril 11, 2018
I really enjoyed the management and how they ran things in the company. Duties were delegated between the cost analysts in each department, so one cost analyst did not have to analyze the whole plant. The Financial Business Partner, Plant Controller, and FP&A Manager were very nice and thorough with showing me how to do cost analyzing and other projects they had for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Production/Fork Lift Driver (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 9, 2018
Learned alot about rubber n how its made to make tires loved my boss n my crew n coworkers very fun environment to work they even had an great kitchen for breakfast n lunch n dinner
Pros
Good job with excelent job stability
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good year was continous and challenging place to work.
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Union City, TNApril 6, 2018
Good Year was my first experience with making tires for vehicles. The management was cohesive and collaborative. The culture was a family culture. The hardest part was managing employees that had longevity with the company. The comradery with the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and not rewarding.
General Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Strongsville, OHApril 6, 2018
I would show up for work to a over booked schedule and a boss complainant that we are be hind just to rush as fast as the shop could then not have a shop manager that was not smart enough to deal with simple problems when they occurred.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive overall
Online customer service (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 3, 2018
A typical day at work involved answering people's phone calls and setting them up with an appointment at their local Goodyear auto center . The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing my name come up on the board every week for the highest appointment conversion ratio .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
General mechanic (Former Employee) –  Wethersfield, CTApril 2, 2018
I learned how to take a tire on and off at good year for a good 4 weeks till i finally got it. I learned different techniques on how to measure tire threads, and how to find oil filters easily.
Pros
quick day/fast paced
Cons
terrible manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodyear
Shift Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Danville, VAApril 2, 2018
Very busy and crazy. Never know what the next day will bring. Very dirty and loud. Seems that the plant is falling apart. Union work environment that makes it very hard for management.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, NCApril 2, 2018
I am coming from a different background and management was willing to teach me the industry. It may seem over whelming but you can learn a lot for everyday use.
Pros
great work environment, pay
Cons
short breaks, physical work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
General mechanic (Former Employee) –  Wethersfield, CTMarch 31, 2018
good place to work
couldnt make enough hours
wasnt paid enough for worth
slow paced
stressful
good managment
possible recommendation
.................
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Bias Cutter Operator (Former Employee) –  Union City, TNMarch 30, 2018
Goodyear was a great place to work. Job security was okay and it was a union based company. I enjoyed my job and working at this company. I wish they would not have move the job to another location.
Pros
great place t work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be an excellant career.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INMarch 30, 2018
I was totally committed to Career. Sunday employment and a District Manager that I could not seem to get along with made my 13 years a very tough sacrifice.
Pros
Great income and benefits.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
district manager all talk no action
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 28, 2018
my crews at the stores I worked at were outstanding. even though we had excellent customer csi scores they make decisions based on money not service.closing stores in areas that needed to be there. opening stores in completely saturated markets which failed miserably.
Pros
Excellent personell
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodyear. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,268 reviews
5392
4409
3289
299
179

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.6

2.7Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight