Goose Island Brewery Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very established place, with a lot of potential for growth
Busboy/Host (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 11, 2018
When working at Goose Island Brewery, the pace of the restaurant was pretty average, they had there rush hours. Overall it was a fun experience and I wish I could've continued my position there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and face paced, Lots different venues and situations
Catering and Events Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 8, 2018
Goose Island Catering was a great place to work. Very diverse venues created a constant change of scenery and co-workers who were fun and nice to work with.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Long hours with quick turn arounds for another event. No dedicated kitchen space.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and Great Coworkers
Brewer, Brand Ambassador, Bartender, Event Staff (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 7, 2018
I have worked at Goose Island for 9 years; and I have worn many "hats", including but not limited to: Hosting, Serving, Bartending, Catering, Marketing, Brewing/Barrel Aging.
There are a lot of great people that work for this company; and I loved almost every minute of it.
I would love to stay; but we cannot afford to buy a home in Chicago.
Pros
Free Beer
Cons
Chicago is too expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goose
Server, Host (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 12, 2017
typical day was slow. you really had to watch the kitchen. i learned a lot about beer and food and people. the hardest part of the job is dealing with drunk mobs while acting like it's okay that they treat you like garbage.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honk!
Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 13, 2017
What else can be said about being a goose!?

Working with this company was very educational in food and drink life. Not only was culture of the company present in all events, it was a part of being even off the clock.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great morale for employees
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 23, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job is getting ready for the Cubs game! Everyone is so excited to make sure the patio is open, the bar is all set with all in house beer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn beer
Hostess & Server (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 7, 2014
Great place to learn about beer. Family-like atmosphere with coworkers and management. Flexible schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced and exciting place to work.
Event caterer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, Illinois.September 28, 2013
Load ins and out were the hardest part of a day. Events themselves were usually very enjoyable to work at, discussing beers and foods with customers in a relaxed and casual environment. Festivals and big concerts were more hectic but time flies when everyone is that busy. Co-workers were lovely, some weird, some wonderful.
Pros
Free food and lots of very nice beer!
Cons
Last minute scheduling for very long days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Goose Island Brewery reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goose Island Brewery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 10 reviews
53
44
33
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture

Goose Island Brewery Reviews by Location