GoPro Employee Reviews

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 43 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture but lacks advancement
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJuly 8, 2018
The benefits were awesome. It is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. After the change in management, the work environment wasn't as positive as before.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GoPro is not just surfer dudes
Vendor Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAJuly 5, 2018
Being at GoPro has had its ups and downs but if you're lucky enough to be surrounded by a great team, you can achieve more than expected. The culture is solid and is not just a bunch of surfer dudes saying "Bruh". Real people work here and they work hard. I would recommend coming to work for GoPro but I wouldn't expect this job to be a forever home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement
Other (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAFebruary 22, 2018
No advancement opportunities and no processes and procedures. A lot of nepotism in the workplace. Tends to hire people they know from other companies or cultures and promote within those groupings.
Pros
Great work life balance
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill and great people
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 28, 2018
Creative environment with great perks and company culture. Close walk to the beach with a solid barista on hand. Unfortunately too many meetings at times with lack of cross department cohesion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GoPro
Network / Telecom Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 19, 2018
Fast Paced and constantly moving. When I was first hired a good friend of mine said it was a fast moving locomotive and you have to hang on. He wasn't kidding.....
Pros
Great people. Met a lot and made lifelong friends.
Cons
Shoot from the hip mentality as in this is due now......
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please Don't work at GoPro
Senior Program Manager Lead (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 15, 2018
I did not really like working at GoPro as the management is really bad. I won't recommend any one applying to GoPro. Please decide before you apply and start working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company grew too fast
Image Quality Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 8, 2018
The company grew too fast. I lost a lot of early responsibility when we hired new managers. My new managers did not have the GoPro vision. They worked for a paycheck, not for the love of the product.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive life balance
Domain Expert and lead (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 6, 2018
Its an equal opportunity company.
I am working as a firmware consultant hired from a third party.
People are good here. Very collaborative. I just needed some permanent position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place fun. Everyone does their job.
CRM Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CADecember 27, 2017
Except for getting laid off on the heals of a bad quarter, it was great. I was disappointed but well compensated for being there for a short period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 25, 2017
Mostly good people, but very poor managers. Managers were not monitored at all so were free to take advantage of staff. Stress was not the result of too much work but no real process and crazy late changes resulting in chaos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Sales (Former Employee) –  Orem, UTAugust 21, 2017
GoPro was a great company to work for. Really outgoing and innovative. Pushing their employees to strive for greatness. They also had us test the products we sold to give honest help to our customers.
Pros
free GoPro
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Supply Chain Program Manager (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 3, 2017
very good company with good culture and good management. I really like the company and I do now. so bad products didn't follow the market and so many good employees left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sr. Manager, Document Control (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJuly 27, 2017
Great people, culture, management, and products! Typical work day is busy. Learning a great deal about the action camera space and the corporate culture fosters good working relationships with other departments.
Pros
Start-up style, casual, fun
Cons
For some location is too far from South Bay area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and passion
Sr Designer (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 15, 2017
Hope new re-org works for them they deserve it. Great mission and the best products on the market. Need to focus their vision and they will succeed I am sure of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Start your career
Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 5, 2017
A typical Day at work usually includes number of meetings

Over my time I have learned that --

Management do not have proper vision

Workplace culture is pretty chilled out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its productive and fun place, free shuttle for commute and fully stocked break roooms
Business System Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMay 2, 2017
I loved working here, people are good, managers are very encouraging, I was working with procurement dept. I enjoyed each day. wo dedicated hours during your week to explore your passions and capture it with your GoPro.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going Under
Software Person (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAMarch 22, 2017
Hate to say it, was one of the best companies to work for. However recently the upper management has switched directions repeatedly making many things half finished or stagnant. They have shifted focus so many times they continue to lose their path to success. 3 Layoffs in a few months should be a clear indication it is only a matter of time before they go under.

The bene's were great
work life balance was awesome
but ultimately they took a fun place and turned it into every other Corporate American Public Company
Pros
Snacks, Live It Thursday, Benefits, Work-Life
Cons
Lack of focus, unclear future
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, a little disorganized
Producer (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAMarch 3, 2017
The company is an overall great place to work. There are some hurdles that you have to jump through in order to get things done, but it's not something that's unique to this company.
Pros
Recess (Live It), 401k matching, Benefits, Break Rooms
Cons
Disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great area to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Orem, UTJanuary 30, 2017
It was a seasonal job and was a great job but I am moving back to California, and have to leave this work. I would do trubleshooting with the cxs and will do sales offer the new cameras and let them know which one will be best for them.
Cons
Short breacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company atmosphere with work/life balance
UX / Visual Designer (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJanuary 10, 2017
Advancement opportunities, great at developing skills, great place to learn a skill and grow your resume, or grow with the company.
Pros
Lunchs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GoPro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 43 reviews
514
417
37
23
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.9Culture

Diversity score

63out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at GoPro.

Powered by Comparably