Gordon Biersch Employee Reviews

Showing all 161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 21, 2018
I really enjoy working at this restaurant, I’ve developed a passion for cooking at this restaurant. I have never experienced that before at any other place I’ve worked at.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work friendly environment
Waiter/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 13, 2018
Fun place to work very relaxed environment with great pay and they accommodate all of your needs managers are friendly and approachable food is good, great benefits and you can transfer to any of our locations which includes10 sister companies under the Craftworks umbrella. Tips are received daily with no tip pooling which is one of the reasons that I have stayed with the company going on 9 years
Pros
Great pay and flexibibilty with schedule
Cons
Working the slow period you will need a second job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright, enjoyed the people
Busser/Host (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 17, 2018
it was fun, energetic, fast paced, friendly people, good beer and food, made good tips during events or specials in the area, never a dull moment working in a bar!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. High quality management and staff. Clientele is perfect.
Server (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 17, 2018
I’ve been with Gordon Biersch for about a year and a half. The staff is one of, if not the best I’ve ever worked with. We serve great food in a upbeat atmosphere. We also brew our own beer and are continuously creating new and seasonal beers. It’s a great place to work, eat and drink.
Pros
Great hourly tips. High quality food.
Cons
Shifts are short
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high paced work
Kitchen Staff/Cook (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 31, 2018
This restaurant has great customer service and great staff members. They have a very large menu variety and also brew their own beer great service great hostess and bartenders
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met great people while working there.
Server/Cocktail Server (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 26, 2018
The best part of the job was the people I worked with. The worst part was that the company is totally corporate and therefore there are quite a few silly things servers are required to do that have nothing to do with good service.
Pros
Good beer
Cons
Ranking system not based on skill
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
g&b
Prep Cook & Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJuly 26, 2018
good place to work enjoyed the months I did work before injury, I showed up ready to work put my all into work showed I wanted to learn co workers were all good
Pros
good people
Cons
let me go cause of injury
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Server and Cocktail Server (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 21, 2018
Great place to learn how to serve. Quick shifts, very fast paced. Great understanding management. Host a lot of catering parties. 4-6 hour shifts, 3-8 tables at a time.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Some servers working to their own pace and wants
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 17, 2018
was an okay place to work for, many customers coming in day to day and gets very busy at night. not fot someon unexperienced but a good job for college students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
verry fun and like a family
Pantry Cook (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 17, 2018
I would go in in the morning and open station start prepping for the day while setting up and keeping area clean wen finished learn what specials where for te day and get ready for the opening rush if busy then I would work over if not then I got to leave early
the employees there have been there for so long it was llike a family there
hardest part was leaving that job
most enjoyable was going to work to see everyone
Pros
free food free drink after work redbulls when slammed
Cons
wasnt any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun brewery, great food
Server (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 16, 2018
Gorden Biersch gave me a great education in beer and the entire brewing process. The menu was interesting...to include american and asian fused foods, occasionally debuting typical German food to compliment the German-style Brewing.
Pros
Discounted food, good beer
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was cool here
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MIJuly 16, 2018
Working here was fun! however, this GB in particular is located inside of the detroit metro airport so its pretty strict and the pay is strange. you only take home cash all of your credit card tips come on a weekly check. (that part sucks because they tax all your tips)
Pros
benefits
Cons
strict airport policies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, energetic work place
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCJune 25, 2018
Currently employed. Due to our location, we remain busier throughout the year. Also we have regular clientele. Given the opportunity to broaden my skill of the business.
Pros
Free employee meals
Cons
No paid leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced high class resturant with exquisite food prepared by experienced cooks like myself
Line Cook and Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJune 24, 2018
typical day is go in and clean your area, prep veggies , meat, season and portion entrees ,prepare the dining room . after customers come in then we start to cook the food that comes from the servers. clean up during and at he end of the day to keep the envirornment nice and clean. check in with managers and occasionally converse with them. good place to work but management could be direly improves
Pros
free lunch
Cons
management feels like they are better than you, disrespect
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked, underpaid, employees
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Danville, CAJune 20, 2018
Very Spartan environment to work in, break area is not removed from work environment; echoes with production floor noises. Everyone continually works overtime (daily) instead of hiring more employees to do the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced restaurants get a chance to meet all kind celebrity
Fry cook and Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LA 70130June 16, 2018
Job was cool just the hours was fun one week you might get 40 hours next week you might get 25 or 30. Some of the manger was cool that did their job. At the time the good was good.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment and very caring staff
Server (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMay 30, 2018
Loved working here. Everyone including the management really looks out for you and cares about you and your success. Fun environment and great place to work right on the water
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Pantry Cook (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 23, 2018
i would not mind working for this company again. I really enjoyed working there. Only if i was able to get a shift that can work around my sons school schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job Ive ever had
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 19, 2018
GB was an amazing restaurant with a fantastic culture. The food was all scratch and the beers were made on premises. We were voyed best happy hour in Miami 4 years in a row by City Search magazine
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
SERVER (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 9, 2018
good company to work for if you like working in the city. the only problem is there is no free parking. Also, just like any other restaurant, it is a hit or miss on if you are going to make money. One day we could be slammed and the next we could be super slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gordon Biersch. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 161 reviews
554
455
332
211
19

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight