Grand Lux Cafe Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 139 reviews
Ratings breakdown
553
441
329
212
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 139 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get place to work for
Server (Former Employee) –  SunriseJuly 19, 2018
I enjoyed going to work to everyday.
Staff to work with was great it’s like a big family.
You make great money there and management it great. They help you as much as possible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Days
Prep Cook/ Baker/Finisher (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, FL 33323June 19, 2018
It all depends o the time of year. It is slow in the summer and fast pace during the winter time since that is when most people travel to get black Friday deals.
Pros
Free lunch for line cooks
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, multiculture and fun place to work
Busser (Former Employee) –  AventuraJune 14, 2018
It's a nice place to work because it is fun and friendly. Managers are very humble, understand us and help ud when we needed it.
I loved my Co workers because they really know the meaning of team work.
Pros
50% meal
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Cashier/Host/server (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYJune 11, 2018
Management sucked. Every week their was always a new manager. Favoritism plays a roll. You call out because of an emergency, they take you off the schedule. No one is on the same page. Some friendly staff and some disrespectful staff. Money is definitely made in a couple of days.
Pros
Discounted lunch
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Server/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 3, 2018
the management at GLC is by far the far the best I have ever experienced. Every manager cares dearly for their employees and their guests. I enjoy working with such understanding and genuine managers.
Pros
great money
Cons
chaotic at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Bar Back (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 26, 2018
place was a fun place to work for a part time job ! money was good and the staff was cool to talk to. this was my 2nd job and i enjoyed it very very very much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bar Back (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMay 26, 2018
A typical day at work involved working behind the bar as a bar back. Assisting the bar tenders with all there needs and always making sure the bar was always stocked.
Pros
Half off lunches
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the company
Busser/Server /Host/Food Runner/ DT trainer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 15, 2018
I would've loved to have been given a raise by now. I have mastered so many positions but there's a need for my strength in the spot I'm in so they won't allow me to grow
Pros
Free lunches.. discounts.. trainin rewards
Cons
No breaks.. scheduled doubles
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Playing the game at the highest level
Senior General Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 1, 2018
Using the sports analogy working with the Cheesecake Factory/ Grand Lux Cafe was playing the game at the highest level. There are so many moving parts it is hard to compare to other companies in the industry.
Pros
Extraordinary daily challenges
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYApril 28, 2018
Grand Lux is a great place to work, but the amount of clientele during busy hours can be overwhelming. Not enough staff or supplies to accommodate guest.
Pros
Always busy
Cons
Tough clientele
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about Grand Lux Cafe?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fun workspace
Still a current worker there (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, FLApril 21, 2018
Throughout the time of me working here, I have learned to feel as though the staff was family to me. They are productive yet know how to have fun and get work done.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No breaks unless double shift worker
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but teaches you how to deal with quick paced environment
Server/Expo (Current Employee) –  Garden City, NYApril 18, 2018
Its overall a fun place to work when you have the right team and people leading from the front, not just telling you what to do. They need to work on giving their employees a proper break room and a peaceful place for employees to relax on down time, but other than that you can make money and dictate your success for the most part.
Pros
overall good leadership, and flexible hours
Cons
fast-paced, stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAMarch 24, 2018
Very fast paced and stressful. Many fun roles to do. Everyone is highly productive, positive and fun. Managers are very helpful and supportive and aren't afraid to help out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYMarch 23, 2018
Not enough hours to work and low pay.
Overall is a really good place to work but they should appreciate workers and give them more benefits. Enjoyable place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced always busy great team lots of fun and room for growth
Food Runner/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 10, 2018
Great place to work for dedicated hard workers. Its always busy but the pay and team are worth the hustle. Days fly by and there is always room for growth.
Pros
Discounted food, flexible scheduling, great training, lots of team work
Cons
Very busy during conventions, early open late close
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
Hostess, Cashier (To-Go), Server (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLMarch 9, 2018
Create job and management very fast-paced. Work was productive and we worked hard. Between doing our duties plus helping others when in need. I learned how to be a great team player and learned extra skills along the way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but not for too long
Line Cook/ Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Aventura, FLMarch 5, 2018
its fun to work there but sometimes the management team starts to micro manage in the wrong areas. they also give praise to people that don't really deserve it but get it just to keep them happy rather then give it to the people that deserve it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ood
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJFebruary 19, 2018
It was a good job because I really liked the environment and the group of individuals that I was able to work with while my time being there. I wish the job could have been more long term
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You gotya try those Baked To Order Desserts
Server (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 16, 2018
Nice, comfortable place, in the middle of Chicagos Shoppingg District, where you can, and eat and drink, and get treayed like royalty.... Kind of a giant mess, on Fridau and Saturday nights...
Pros
Ftedh, fantastic offerongs
Cons
Mess on the weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 10, 2018
Great company to work for and to grow your career. While I encourage to gain longevity with the company, if it's decided to move your career else where, the things learnt from this company can be very valuable for any endeavor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport