Great Lakes Coca-Cola Employee Reviews

2.7
Overall rating
Based on 103 reviews
Ratings breakdown
516
418
321
214
134
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 103 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60651August 13, 2018
Management was great, but if you are part time they keep you at part time and they do not give you full time even after a year with never being late or absent.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for those who like to work.
Driver Assistant / Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNAugust 12, 2018
As a merchandiser or a CDL driver you will be working with between 15,000-20,000 pounds of product at the least. A lot of repetitive motions between bending, stacking, and shelving. Forced overtime and a lot of it. You can up to $100,000 a year and work 60-70 hour weeks, or you can get paid as little as 50,000 but only work 45 hours a week. Its really up to you. Great benefits.
Pros
good pay, great benefits
Cons
Injuries. Lots of them. Have fun walking by 70
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old boy network at its finest
Manager (Former Employee) –  IllinoisAugust 8, 2018
I never really saw an atmosphere of inclusion. They made attempts to "look like" they fostered inclusion, but in reality on a day to day basis you knew you were not what they wanted on their team. I learned that if "JS" didn't like you, you were screwed because he had major influence with the executive team. Management would walk by you and not speak, made you feel invisible. The hardest part of the job was being motivated to work there. The most enjoyable part of the job was representing the Coca-Cola brand.
Pros
The Coca-Cola brand
Cons
A culture that was not inclusive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with the tunnel vision of limitless profit margin.
company driver (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNAugust 5, 2018
A typical morning starts at about 5 a.m as the routes are handed out.The trucks are loaded with between 400 to 600 cases of Coca-cola products to be delivered to customers.I know the expectations of management is to see new drivers pick up their work pace fast enough within weeks of starting.Drivers believe that the least time they spend in a store the better the day.The hardest task on the job was to find the location.The most enjoyable part of the job was the ride in the,iconic bright red,Coca-cola truck.
Pros
You get all your overtime pay.
Cons
Daily routing has incompetence written all over it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough work and long days
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, ILAugust 2, 2018
Work from 0600 until you're done. Can be told to go anywhere at any time while clocked in. Work is hard on your whole body. No real team mentality. hardest part is motivating yourself to get through the day. best part is clocking out for the day. management isn't bad, it's the CEO/ profit-driving mentality that adds to the workload/ workday.
Pros
15.99ph, work alone, number one beverage company
Cons
body aches, pain, no down time, long hours, seniority rights (sucks for the new employee)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2018
Takes a toll on your body and no sick days Management want's you to work over and beyond but is not compensated. The Weekly pay and benefits are the best part of the job
Pros
Working in the field
Cons
Breaks your body down job very physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet stressful
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJuly 17, 2018
I learned that the working world can be a very hostile place. I've met many great people over the couple years. My supervisor in the beginning was amazing. They kept things organized but most importantly they cared about the people working under them. However, they gave little care whether you had a life to begin with. Workplace culture was very competitive. Just about everyone worked on the principle of he said/she said. No one took responsibility for anything and would lead to rude questioning of just about anyone. It is not uncommon to be blamed for things other coworkers or people not related to the job have done. This is mainly due to there being no micro-management. No one looking over your shoulder all the time. Which is a very nice perk for some. The downside is it lead to coworkers and management passing blame and creating scapegoats as well as work ethic not being truthful for every worker. On a typical day, it is expected you may have overtime. Unless the job is done it doesn't matter when your scheduled out. That includes waiting on deliveries you have no control over. Salaries are good with overtime added. Monthly meetings are held that have food every now and then. Benefits are good, but there are no sick days. Everything is taken out of PTO, so if you're sick then you're not going on vacation. Else you're working while sick. Some supplies are provided for you such as uniforms, cutters, and gloves.
Pros
Occasional cook-outs, presents during the holiday, competitive pay
Cons
Short breaks, competitive workplace, drama ridden
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the end of the day we were successful
Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Van Buren, MIJuly 11, 2018
The improvement of morale and dedication that you get from your employees speaks volume. Best part is the growth and development you get daily. Hard work pays off.
The respect you get from other Market Units. Asking you on your process improvements. Speaks volume on what you are capable of doing.
The growth from a supervisor to manager.
Open door policy. This is by far the best improvement I've made since working in the business.
Pros
Wearing the brand name
Cons
Senior leadership decision
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding only cares about the bottom line
Account Manager/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  MichiganJune 22, 2018
Cut monthly car allowances, cut sales positions, increased the work load on the other sales representatives, but didnt increase the pay. Salaried employees pay is based on 80 hrs biweekly, but you really work about 90-95 hours. Most of the district managers are clueless to what's going on. Account managers handle the brunt of the work load. But the district manager always takes the credit for all accomplishments.
Pros
None
Cons
Could care less about employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Finance (Current Employee) –  Niles, ILJune 9, 2018
Good company that is growing rapidly. Management is nice and helpful as well as my coworkers.Really good benefits and working environment. Glad to be a part of this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 18Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced place to work
Order Builder (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, WIJune 9, 2018
It was hard work but also rewarding. Constantly moving but never boring. The other employees were all great to work with and helpful. It really was a team atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t waste your time
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Van Buren, MIJune 6, 2018
It’s sad to see such a strong company take a turn for the worst. Since Reyes has taken over nothing matters other than making the company and only the company more money.
Benefits, pay, allowances and positions have all been cut and it doesn’t appear they’ll be stopping anytime soon.

The only thing holding this company together is the iconic brands in Coca Colas portfolio. If a smaller company had half the issues Great Lakes does they’d be out of business overnight.

All the current employees can do is sit back while these guys burn one of the worlds best known brands to the ground.
Pros
Great Brand
Cons
Culture is toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be good
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 16, 2018
Worked as an account manager, used to be fun and they put employees as their number 1 asset...then Great Lakes bought it. Huge cultural change. I found a new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When Great Lakes Coca-Cola used to be CCE Coca-Cola that was a good company to work for!!!!
Transport Driver Interplant driver (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 12, 2018
I was a transportation driver pretty much what that is a driver that comes out of production where the product was made and make deliveries to the distribution. Hooking of tractor to trailers pre trip and post trip backing into docks. Driving safely to place to place and getting the product there standing up and the semi there in one piece.

This job helped me prepare for my new job. When you are a delivery driver for Coca-Cola making deliveries to gas station party stores chain stores. No offense you think your in the bubble. You think you are a real trucker. Hate to say it your not you are but not. What I did was nothing what the over the road driver go thru but being a transportation made me a better driver and help me set up for my future. The boss most of them were great man and women but you have your few. If your not willing to play there game then you didn't get the special treatment I call it. I do miss some of my employees and boss but not the games playing.

The hardest part of the job for me was the games being played. Watching work get taken away from us because of other employees. Not sticking together but when the higher guys are getting there extra work don't rock the boat but once they lose that extra work. We all need to stick together. For me that was the hardest part of the job. I hate games. if you do your job and if everyone did there job none of this would happen and stop worrying about other people things would work great.

What I enjoyed most there was driving the semi the freedom of being out there and being my own boss. the friendship I made
  more... being there for 22 years.

The Coca-Cola that once was I would tell everyone to work there you could move up in the company. You get in there part time and move up to a position that you could make a living at and start a family. That is gone. The new Great Lakes Coca-Cola all there care about is the bottom line. If they can bring it from Alaska and they will save themselves a dollar they will do it. They don't care about the people they laid in that city where they are bring the product but you can bring all you want but when no one has a job then no one can buy the product.
  less
Pros
Vending machines for pop is cheap
Cons
everything that has been taken to keep things so you have a better now those are all gone too
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay company, not all that great of a job
Account Manager Relief (Current Employee) –  MidwestMay 3, 2018
The company itself seems to be going places and I have much respect for. I had more issues with mid-level management, however, and the work load was excessive most of the time. Depending on where you are, 50-60 hours a week on non-holiday weeks was average for me, and from what I heard I wasn't the only one enduring that. On top of this, time was necessary outside of work to plan ahead for the next week/s, and answer calls or emails from store managers or merchandisers if issues arose. For what I was getting paid, it wasn't all that great a deal.

I learned a lot with sales and large scale business, which I'm grateful for. They may improve in the future, it's not a good enough work/life balance for me right now.
Pros
Sales training, benefits
Cons
Work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work environment
Field Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Highland Park, MIApril 25, 2018
High paced environment. best party to see the different places we place Coke in-stores and restaurants and customers being happy
union environment made holding employees accountable difficult
Pros
.50 coke at plant
Cons
union, mgmt
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNApril 25, 2018
Great Lakes Coca-Cola is a great place to work because it has a nice balance of work and life. They know the importance of family and that is why we are here. I think it's a great way to spend the rest of my working years, plan on retiring here for sure! Highly recommend, especially after we were purchased by a private company - so many improvements are happening and I'm sure some lazy and unhappy people will leave because of it, but I'm excited about the new changes.
Pros
Company events; work/life balance; happy environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 30Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  WIApril 20, 2018
Work/Home Life balance is terrible,you are expected to eat,sleep,breathe, Coca Cola. Micromanaging is through the roof. There are reports for everything. Bonuses use to be quarterly but now are yearly,so you work your tail off for the year and hope you hit all of your goals.They continue to pile on more work and expect it done in a short amount of time. They took away the employee order and expect you to buy the product in the store. Sorry but i will buy whatever is on sale on my own time.It's not what you know,but who you know. If the top dog at the local level likes you and you say yes to everything then you are safe. If you question or challenge things then you are frowned upon. Morale continues to be in the toilet.


There are a lot of good people who work here,but when people with longevity start leaving something is terribly wrong and it starts at the top.
Pros
Its Coca Cola
Cons
The list is long
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Driver/Delivery (Current Employee) –  Eagan, MNApril 18, 2018
Not a good place to work. No work life balance at all. Wharehouse is totally unorganized. Wharehouse supervisors walk around and do nothing . Dispatching of routes is horrible. Upper management has no clue what goes on they do not take any advice on how to make things run better and more efficient from people that actually know how to do the job. Immediate surpervisors are pretty good.
Pros
Vacation time
Cons
Pay.hours. work life balance. Poorly ran facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job
Merchandiser-PT (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIApril 16, 2018
The job is a great starter job. You need to have a reliable car you are willing to put miles on. You do get compensated for mileage above the average rate
Pros
No experience necessary
Cons
Lots of miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report