Great Lakes Water Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If job work/life balance is a priority for you, run from this company as fast as you can.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 12, 2018
Management is a joke. It's managed like it's a Family Dollar store versus an Authority. Please do not leave your current employer for this place. You will regret it.

Learned how not to be as a manager and director.
Pros
Co-workers.
Cons
Poor management. If you're not connected, you will never get tapped on the shoulder for a promotion. Don't practice what they preach.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice job to have
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 5, 2018
It's a good job, nice pay rate, benefits are excellent, all my co worker are great workers and helpful, i would recommend this job to ant body who's looking for a Job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 14, 2018
Nice and Safe environment. That perfected the job properly so that there is any constructive criticism

I learned from the work that does not postpone action today for tomorrow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Know the right people
Office Support Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 15, 2018
GLWA is a great place to work and full of career opportunities if you know the right people to be connected to. For current employees that have advanced in education and skills, they have to seek employment at outside agencies to advance their careers.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Lack career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 12, 2018
The filling of providing a great product of drinking water. Having a hands on reason that this is accomplished with maintaining and repairing mechanical equipment.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
lack of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Team untrusting of organization and other departments
Professional and Administrative Team (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 27, 2017
Task are assigned as priority then changed and no longer a priority. Management is dishonest. It is possible to receive recognition from CEO for excellent work performance and within 30 days be fired for no reason.
Pros
matching 401k
Cons
Management Team ever changing and untrusting of each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough time there to properly assess
Public Affairs Specialist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 7, 2017
Unfortunately, I was not an employee long enough to give a fair review. I did have an opportunity to learn a new skill before leaving the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Control Center- Technician (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MI 48235November 28, 2017
All shifts have employees shortages. Stressful schedules for employees. Minimum scheduled breaks for co-workers. No training to new employees on the site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work with great people
Materials Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 22, 2017
People you work with are nice and considerate. Environment is great even though it is located at the waste department. Great 401k options and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Professional Administrative Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MI 48226October 15, 2017
This company is fairly new due to a bifurcation. There is a great emphasis on training, education and learning. This is good and bad. Sometimes it seems that there are so many mandatory training classes that there is no time to actually get work done.
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report

Want to know more about Great Lakes Water Authority?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the culture
Organizational Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 28, 2017
I recently joined the organization and I am glad I did. There is an emphasis on training and collaboration.
All of the people and managers I have met have been very welcoming and helpful.
Pros
High standards and a common focus on meeting customers needs
Cons
Older building makes it hard to see your coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Official response from Great Lakes Water Authority
September 6, 2017

We are glad you joined too! One Water One Team speaks to the emphasis on training and collaboration. Welcome!

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room for advancement.
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 3, 2017
Benefits are okay. Management lack interpersonal skills. fast pace and lack of compensation. Not enough staff making the job stressful. Do not value employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work!
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MI 48226March 11, 2017
Typical Work Day: Punching the time clock, changing into my uniform, heading out to my post to relieve that officer, and interacting with other employees, vendors and contractors.

Management: Very untrustworthy management team. At times they would yell and scream. Very unprofessional place to work.

What I Learned: Training programs were very helpful...combat gun training, report writing, communication, First Aid, CPR, AED, and Incident Command Center Training.

Workplace Culture: Culture Diversity Training

Enjoyable Part Of Job: The co workers I worked with on my midnight shift.

Hardest Part of Job: Having to deal with an unprofessional management team.
Pros
There were some good officers I worked with.
Cons
Management, supervisors, and lazy co workers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company lacks loyalty to diligent workers
Management Professional (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 5, 2017
I made less than the Team Leader I supervised for years at the City of Detroit, and when we transferred to Great Lakes Water Authority, I was told I would be made whole and it never happened.
Pros
Great Compensation for those who are liked
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STricht Policy management
INTEGRITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MI 48226January 26, 2017
No room for human error. Point system is designed to eliminate new personnel. Working around dangerous chemicals without proper equipment for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Great Lakes Water Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 16 reviews
55
41
35
22
13

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Great Lakes Water Authority Reviews by Location