Greenhorn & O'Mara Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Contracts Administrator (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDDecember 3, 2017
This was a great place to work and I enjoyed working with such a great supervisor. I was laid off from this location due to a loss of contracts. Even though, I did not approve of the CEO at this location, having a supervisor with great experience allowed me to become a better employee.
Pros
Flexible Work Schedule
Cons
Loss of Contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in a new office and location
Photogrammetrist (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 22, 2017
We were provided good equipment and training.
Workplace culture was good for all of the persons that were from other cities and parts of the country.
Enjoyed good benefits and a professional working environment.
Pros
Professional Atmosphere
Cons
Shift work required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
EEO Specialist / Human Resources Liaison (Former Employee) –  Nokomis, FLFebruary 15, 2017
Great company and great salary with good benefits. Would love to work for them again. Management had an open door policy which made it possible for any issues to be resolved immediately. The employees all got along and made for a great working environment.
Pros
Excellent salary and benefits
Cons
When project ends you have to seek new employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hydraulics & Hydrology Engineer
Water Resources Engineer (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 7, 2014
At G&O I enjoyed getting involved in a totally different atmosphere than my previous employer. I learned new skills and was eager to get working. The projects were lengthy and required new judgment as an engineer.

While there, I was able to experience stream modeling for FEMA and the NC Flood Mapping program. I enjoyed both as they had different requirements. Studies ranged from standard Zone -A to Detailed studies, which involved much more complex analysis.

I was also able to build on my storm drainage design resume, as I participated on several projects such as the Western Wake Expressway. I was able to perform storm drainage calculations as well as erosion control design on multiple roadway projects.
Pros
Good Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive focused company
Transportation Dept. Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJune 22, 2014
Knowledgeable employees and managers. Great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had 6 good years at G&O
Water Resources Department Mgr/Sr. Project Mgr (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDMay 29, 2014
G&O was heavily into land development so recssions took a toll on the company. It has since been bought by Stantec.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and wonderfu group of people.
Marketing/Business Development Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 14, 2013
If I had not moved from Atlanta, I'd more than likely still be working for EarthTech.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome Company
Senior Relocation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJanuary 11, 2013
Professional engineering company with great young staff doing big things in Penndot. hardest part of the job was travel. most enjoyable part of the job was being with bright young folks.
Pros
good pay, benefits
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with in the Raleigh office
Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 6, 2013
Easy going office climate, allowed to set your own hours within reason
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and job security. Nothing negative.
Consultant Construction Inspector (Former Employee) –  Fairmont, WVNovember 29, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 1/2 years with G&O. I hated to leave, but could not turn down an offer of $6.50 per hour increase by R.D. Zande, with work closer to home.
Pros
excellent management support and compensation package.
Cons
none. see previous review.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd rather not say
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDNovember 3, 2012
I did not have the best experience with this company so I rather not say anything at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be better
Technical Director 1 (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VAOctober 7, 2012
The company is going through a management and structural overhaul.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Party Chief (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 9, 2012
I worked for Greenhorne and O'Mara for 4 years and I can honestly say that it was the best company that I have ever worked for. Due the the economy, I was laid off in 2009.
Pros
everything about the company is a pro
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greenhorn & O'Mara. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 14 reviews
57
44
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.1Culture

Greenhorn & O'Mara Reviews by Location