Grocery Outlet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PAAugust 14, 2018
I have nothing to say besides it was an ok place to work with having very young owners. I would not work for them again but that's my personal prefere
Pros
5 percent discount
Cons
No stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and fun work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Gardnerville, NVAugust 12, 2018
Had a great time working for grocery outlet. The entire staff was treated fairly. Grocery outlet was a community favorite and the customer service was outstanding!
Pros
great connections with all of the loyal customers
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery outlet
Frieght Associate (Former Employee) –  North Highlands, CAAugust 7, 2018
I loved working there in the beginning. New owners came in and we're paying employees that came with them higher than employees that had seniority. I was let go due to medical issues and denied unemployment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pacifica, CAAugust 6, 2018
Great management and loved working with the public. Flexible working hours. Clean environment. Great variety of products. Competitive pricing. Fair pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
GROCERY STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Auburn, CA 95603August 1, 2018
I kiked working at grocery outlet because the hours were great the people were awesome we worked together so well. the customers were all a hoot they gave me a lot of gifts.
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
great management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing
Forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 31, 2018
It is a young business still growing. I wish I could say, they were the best but no. They need to step it up for a better management support group. They don't supply enough reliable resource for everyone and they don't know how to train people or deal with tough situations.
Pros
Decent pace job
Cons
Employee mistreatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company for entrylevel applicants
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Jackson, CAJuly 30, 2018
I would guess this work environment is fine for entry level or first job applicants. But, seasoned employees might find the operation a bit behind the time.
Pros
none really
Cons
slow customer count that made days boring, little customer service interaction made the day long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun place to work at
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Seaside, CAJuly 27, 2018
It gets busy at like 5pm
Didn't really learn anything at grocery outlet.
There wasn't any culture at the place.
The job wasn't hard it was just annoying
Pros
lunch break, days im not working
Cons
standing at cash register all day long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and family oriented.
Clerk, Merchandiser, & Produce (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 23, 2018
I started as a clerk and was then trained in two more positions; merchandiser, and produce. I would recommend to anyone wanting a small business to own to invest in one of these franchises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay workplace
Cashier/Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Vallejo, CAJuly 20, 2018
Perfect for getting customer service experience, operators are okay went through 3 operators working here. Went through a lot of employees, had a lot of no shows or lots of call ins, customers are nice you have your typical roudy customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job, lots of standing
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJuly 19, 2018
The job was fun, I liked working with the customers. I did not like standing all day and working late at night. The management was a couple that brought their personal life into work.
Pros
Fun, working with customers
Cons
Standing, working nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with good music
HEAD CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAJuly 18, 2018
I enjoyed my job and was good at it and learned many different skills.
I learned to work at a fast pace and be efficient .
There were many job requirements as Cash handling ,I was promoted to shipping/receiving where I input all hardline merchandise in store system and then placed on store sales floor.
Pros
That job was close to home
Cons
Other employees were unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but do not advance.
Receiver/Stocker (Current Employee) –  Roseburg, ORJuly 18, 2018
I have been here for four years and my experience has been decent. Ready for a higher paying and more reliable job with benefit. It's more of a starter job and not a career.
Pros
I get weekends off
Cons
No benefits or discounts, raises are seldom
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandiser/Cashier (Current Employee) –  The Dalles, ORJuly 17, 2018
Great place to work if you want to get a good feel for different positions. Great management. Good place to start out but not much to further your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid if you can
Closing Manger in training / produce Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 17, 2018
the location i worked at, was not a good location. they all have favorites and will talk behind your back and take all kinds of things without paying and will try to blame you. they also dont really like to give raises instead they would prefer to pay you under the table. also they sometimes ask you to work while your still on your break or lunches having you clock in early early
Pros
na
Cons
alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
every department that needed help (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJuly 16, 2018
everyone knows everyone who works there. you could not work a day without drama and the management was so poor. there were favorites and also the pay was so horrible it was a joke. you did too many things and did not get paid for what you were worth
Pros
same shifts
Cons
coworkes/managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are nice people.
Deli / Dairy Manager (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVJuly 16, 2018
Management is. Horrible. Rude to The employees. No structure. The owners are selfish people, who don't care for there most loyal employees. They kee0 people who steal. An break the rules.
Pros
Laid back
Cons
Managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individually owned
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cloverdale, CAJuly 14, 2018
Job will depend upon management and how they set the tone. Could be good or could be bad. You will spend alot of time working with the public, so you really need to enjoy that aspect.
Pros
You will always be busy
Cons
You will always be busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery outlet
All Purpose Clerk (Former Employee) –  Redwood City, CAJuly 13, 2018
I would arrive and immediately go to the back warehouse to see how many go back carts there were and would sort them work on them. At some point they would need me in the front to assist with cashiering so I was then go to the front and assist my coworkers where they needed help, when it got slow I would go back to doing go backs or stocking something else that didn’t have much merchandise with the rest. It was a very fun job and the employees were amazing. I enjoyed assisting the customers it was the most rewarding getting to know them personally and seeing them regularly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful work environment
Checker (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 12, 2018
Great management great work environment and flexibility work schedule needs a better pay and needs more work benefits it’s great communication with the managers and the ceo
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grocery Outlet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 670 reviews
5198
4197
3161
261
153

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

2.8Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight