Grocery Outlet Employee Reviews

Found 992 reviews matching the search See all 997 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish it was a better store sometimes.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Yakima, WAOctober 9, 2019
Really wish it was a better Company. I believe it could be a great store if there was more hours to give and the managers really cared about customers and their staff because we truly do work hard.
Pros
Good Managers, Good Atmopshere, Good Customers
Cons
Rude Management, Favortism, Bad Pay, No Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prouctive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Madras, OROctober 9, 2019
An relaxed ambiance. Owners work well with employees and are flexible when possible. The pace varies with season, customers can be difficult but it is passed on to management.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each store is run differently. Easy to move from one store to another if your a good employee.
Grocery Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 9, 2019
Each store is run a little differently. The harder you work the more advancement you get no matter what your gender or race is. Very casual. Not union so some things happen that wouldn't in a union store. Franchised. When a new owner comes in they will probally bring in some of their own employee's.
Pros
No limit to ad advancement if you work hard and are reliable.
Cons
Franchised. Each Owner/Manager has their own methods. Everything can change over night.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Owner Operator
Grocery Manager (Former Employee) –  South Lake Tahoe, CAOctober 5, 2019
I was a department lead in charge of Grocery. I loved working for our operators they were knowledgeable, understanding, and caring. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxed
Front-End Manager (Current Employee) –  Oroville, CAOctober 4, 2019
Working at Grocery Outlet is a productive, fast-paced, relaxed environment. You'll learn essential skills needed for further advancement with other and more larger companies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place. Great Co-Workers
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Oakley, CAOctober 3, 2019
Overall I enjoyed working at Grocery Outlet.
A typical day at work consisted of starting at 6:00 Am. and working till 11:00 ( i was part-time)
I learned the do's and don'ts of the workplace
Pros
fun atmosphere. Friendly and Accepting
Cons
Short breaks. Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an amazing experience
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Rosemead, CAOctober 3, 2019
Is a good place to work for .
This company does not offer heating insurance or holiday pay.
They only offer full time to people with knowledge and understanding about the benefits of the store .
Pros
Lots to learn
Cons
No insurance or holiday pays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working ours.
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Middletown, KYOctober 2, 2019
This is a good place to start but it gives u experience to move into maybe management level jobs. It prepares u to be able to explore further and future options in this industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Coworkers are Great Rude Customers are the Problem
Stocker & Janitor (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 1, 2019
I worked as Janitor / Merchandiser/ Stock. You do one favor for a Customer mistake they then think its the norm. Rude customers ruined this great job.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Rude customers entitled think they are trash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level
Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, CASeptember 30, 2019
All Stores are ran differently depending on Store Manager.
They train u in store no experience needed.
friendly environment and reasonable pay.
room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Palm Springs, CASeptember 30, 2019
It's all good i enjoy work at the grocery outlet and it a wonderful experience it's fast and teamwork and it's a family................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun family friendly store
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Everett, WASeptember 30, 2019
grocery outlet has always been a great place to work, its very family oriented and extremely nice owners at each location i have worked at.
As a team we always had great customer service a and that would lean to many returning customers sometimes daily.
the hardest part of my job was not being able to always meet the customers needs.
the best part of my job was seeing employees grow and take on things they didn't think they could, having customers tell me how much they enjoyed their time shopping and how helpful the employees are
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 30, 2019
A typical day at work was fun excellent place to work at owner are really nice help workers when needed mangers always available price on items are great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Cashier/Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Marina, CASeptember 29, 2019
Nice community environment with neighborhood assistance programs and funding in mind. Supportive management with employees, their families and personal first
Pros
Nice company to work for
Cons
Not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  OregonSeptember 29, 2019
Management doesn't know how to manage employees.
Employees quit they brought with them from another store.
False promises are made. Don't expect to get an hourly wage or hours that are promised during interview.Management treats customers like they are criminal, follow them in the store and accuse them of stealing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun because I made coworkers into friends and customers, so i was constantly hanging out.
Grocery Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Placerville, CASeptember 28, 2019
Busy, I restocked shelves as a merchandiser, worked produce and cashier. Some times the bosses were a little out line but everyone has tough days. I was happy to have a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay busy and stay out of trouble
Cashier and Stocker (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, WASeptember 26, 2019
Put as much product out that you can showing prices. Backup cashier as needed. Slacker cashiers are had to rid. To many Chiefs in the building. Blah
Pros
A handful of good people
Cons
not recognized for a good job well done! Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Closing Manager / Grocery / Produce (Current Employee) –  Auburn, WASeptember 25, 2019
It's almost the same thing every day, or "Following the yellow brick road". Not much changes over time. Including people's work ethic. Over all, it's ba fun place to work and the people are amazing.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
People who don't care about their job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not want to work there for the rest of my life
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Paramount, CASeptember 24, 2019
It is an easy job but as an engineering major I can not extend my participation in the company because of my school hours. I would much rather work at an engineering related company where I can exercise and develop more skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Cashier/Deli Department (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, WASeptember 24, 2019
It was a good first real job. It has option to go up but nothing that is honestly career worthy in my personal opinion. Its not necessarily a dead-end job, but there's no point in worling there for 5+ years just to become a supervisor that's paid 5$ more an hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grocery Outlet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 997 reviews
5291
4293
3238
289
186

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Grocery Outlet.

Powered by Comparably