Groendyke Transport Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search See all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job!
Regional Field Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Local > Granite City, IL Corporate > Enid, OKOctober 31, 2018
80% of the week you were away from home...….too much! Enjoyed the job duties and meeting warehouse personnel & local/OTR truck drivers. Taught & demonstrated proper safety techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people just need experience for too pay scale
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARAugust 13, 2018
Great people and environment. I recommend this company to any one with (2) years or more experience. As a beginner they really work with you and make sure the process is smooth. As with any job you must have the years of experience here to reap the full benefits of the top salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work enviorment
Mobile Heavy Equipment Mechanic Except Engines (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COJuly 11, 2018
The corporate level was easy to work with and say they are there to back you. The local management is not there to support you. They are trying to make the money to make the numbers look good. There is very little help for helping someone succeed at jobs that do not allow mistakes.
There are some good people there.
The drivers can make good money. The drivers are a very valued resource.
Pros
They were very willing to provide training
Cons
The management has a long way to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety Driven Company
Tanker Driver (Current Employee) –  Granite City, ILJuly 7, 2018
A Very Safety Conscious treat you like Family Company. You can stay on the road or be home every night. No forced dispatch. Really cares about your well being
Pros
Make as little or as much as you want. No forced dispatch
Cons
Expensive Health Ins.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 16, 2018
When I first went to work there it was a good company to work for, they had pretty good benefits and the pay wasn't bad. I found out that they drop your pay if you are coming back empty from taking a load out. In 2017 the insurance wasn't bad but in 2018 it became worse than Obama care. The insurance didn't kick in until after you had met the deductible of 6000/12000, I don't know of anyone that goes to the Doctor that is going to meet that kind of deductible.
Cons
Pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can never make a sterp without authorisation (not good)
Transportation Coordinator/ HR Assistant/ Training (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 25, 2018
Groendyke and its corporate family are always very helpful. The local terminal is what the issue is there are no policies and procedures but only the ones that seem convenient. The model is, its owner operator based so it can all be overwritten.
Pros
Its a stable company
Cons
the Management is not there
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay didn't quite live up to promised, but otherwise as expected
Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Junction, COMay 14, 2018
while i feel the wage potential was over promised and under delivered, i can say affirmatively that the training was thoroughly proficient, the companies culture overall positive, and the difficulty level and workload of the position relatively easy(and probably commensurate with the level of compensation). i was an asphalt driver, which consisted of filling a tanker, and delivering it to a plant or to location. very straight forward. the most difficult aspect was driving in this state(CO), over the passes, especially in winter.
Pros
home every night, light workload
Cons
inconsistent pay, low ceiling
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful from manager
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Tulsa okApril 11, 2018
I worked at Groendyke for 4 years received one raise did many rolls at Groendyke but management was disrespectful, and I wanted to stay but they made it next to impossible
Pros
learned at lot
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay lousy insurance
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Enid, OKApril 9, 2018
People are nice but the dispatcher has his little group I was always available to work but not a lot of it to go around my earnings not enough to cover my bills
Pros
Nice people
Cons
No work lousy insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring management
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fountain, COApril 5, 2018
I had full exposure to the drivers and was able to get support from both the drivers and management. Their strong maintenance policy and support made me realize that I was not alone and there was support whenever needed. Very professional but yet casual interaction with the drivers and dispatch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Groendyke
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Longview TexasMarch 8, 2018
Hated to leave Groendyke. Great place to work. Salary was on the very low end for the work done. But the management was positive and helpful. Corporate was great as well.
Pros
Too many to list
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for
Field Safety Coordinator, Western Region (Former Employee) –  Western RegionDecember 26, 2017
A trucking company that id a family orientation business. Has several locations throughout the US and several long term customer and employees. Always enjoyed working for Groendyke Transport
Pros
Family orientated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deeply Challenging, Steep Learning Curve. Sastifying.
Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  TexasDecember 10, 2017
Get ready, as a TC, to be on your "A" game, keep your cool, and do everything you can to beat the learning curve. This is essential!

A typical day will include accepting transport assignments that you can provide service for on time, with HOS in mind. You are to also make sure that the chemical, acid, or fuel that your driver is hauling will be compatible with the trailer you will assign him. You will also need to ensure that the driver has required training for all chemicals and company he is hauling for.You will provide customer service as you work with the company hiring you and your driver. Monitor HOS and workload on TMW/PeopleNet. Work with other terminals to reduce deadhead, and productive backhauls. You may work on driver settlement issues.

Groendyke runs a tight ship, not much room for error--- beat the learning curve!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Maintenance Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 1, 2017
a typical day relaxed working on tractors management pretty good the hardest part was waiting for assignments lunch and working with other people and getting the job done
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreliable
Terminal Manager (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, AROctober 24, 2017
Just gonna keep it short. Unreliable, unfair to drivers! Not a company would recommend to anyone, enemies included!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very friendly work envirement
Dispatch Clerk (Former Employee) –  El Paso County, TXSeptember 21, 2017
poor management skills. operations manager had no experience in the fuel transportation industries. lots of turnover for the company. not family orientated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A compettive company for a competitive person. They offer good training.
Fuel Hauler (Former Employee) –  Granite City, ILSeptember 9, 2017
The company paid very well. I worked a lot of hours, but was able to still spend time with my family. I was trained in hauling hazardous material safely, which helped me get the credentials that I currently hold.
Pros
Good Pay & Flexible Hours
Cons
Infairness
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was very fun
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXAugust 21, 2017
I worked here before I had a family. This job was very rewarding and the things I learned I still use today. The staff was like family and helped me get through some difficult times.
Pros
Training
Cons
No room for advanvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office support and excellent safety culture
LOCAL DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Granite City, IL 62040July 29, 2017
Great place to make $55K to $60K and be home every night. If you are used to making $60k - $80k it's possible but be prepared to work hard for it. Take care of your business and management has your back.
Pros
Home every night, easy accessible safe gas drops, short hauls, two vapor drops
Cons
to make big bucks, you have to work very hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok if you don't mind being gone all the time.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 14, 2017
The only way to make good money with this company is OTR. They say you can still make good money locally but it's just not worth it. By the time you get your check it's deducted so much with the crazy insurance that you can just get a regular job in town where you don't have to be on the road in the truck all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Groendyke Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 70 reviews
517
418
321
27
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight