Groundworks Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a marketing gimmick, nothing more
Certified field inspector (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCSeptember 3, 2019
It's a high pressure sales job, you're trained to hard sell homeowners something even if they don't need it. You're assigned in home appointments up to 100 miles from your home and you're not allowed to qualify them before you go.

It's 100% commission and you pay all your expenses, including vehicle and phone/internet.

Forget about getting a "Sales Manager" or anyone else to help you, you're on your own, the sales manager is too busy reassigning all the bad leads that he and his favorites don't want to you and other new people

The way the pay structure is set up you've got to sell the homeowner overpriced products in order to try and make any money, if you don't mind ripping people off this is the job for you.

The company has extremely high turnover, and there's a reason for that
Pros
Can set your own hours, sort of
Cons
Forced to give free crawlspace "Inspections" for people that have no intention of buying from you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned about insecurities in our community and city. I learned how to improve my public speaking. Work place was very teamwork based.
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJAugust 23, 2019
The most enjoyable part was the food pantries helping low income families get food because they couldn’t really afford it. See people happy that this food was being supplied. See that there were benefits the people were very happy that we were supplying them with the information about the benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full-time army vey
Army vet (Current Employee) –  Korea, VAJuly 20, 2019
I like working with army. You can go all place.in the world.to see. Help all country to stay in peace.
School Is good. Then you get out.
Nice people are good to talk with around the would and see.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership and attendance
Installer (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOJuly 16, 2019
This company is so disorganized and all over the place, they let anyone show up late for no reason and only let those who have been there foronths leave without question. People fight with each other everyday and unless your a sales person or foreman don't plan on getting paid good or treated like your opinion or thoughts on the job are worthless. Morally all they care about is the job andoney they lose we had a customer who didn't want the job done if it didn't work and we still gave him the bill and did work he did not want so now this 70 yr old man has to pay for work that didn't need done this company takes advantage of whoever they can and acts like their caring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They work you like a slave
Driver (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 8, 2019
Worse job ever they offer nothing and if you say anything about it your fired simply like that. You don't even get sick pay i was there two years and nothing vacation sick days nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GroundWorks Landscape Management
Commercial Landscape Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 5, 2019
The GroundWorks staff is a collaboration of landscape professionals with decades of experience gained from some of the largest companies in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place to Grow Your Career with an Industry Leader
Marketing Operations (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 6, 2019
This is a rapidly growing company (Inc. 5,000), with a great culture and outstanding team of people who are committed to doing the right thing. Due to massive growth and a meritocracy mindset, there is ample opportunity to grow in your responsibilities and build a strong and fulfilling career. The company has been experiencing massive growth. For anyone who is looking for a secure company and who wants to grow both personally and professionally, I highly recommend Groundworks!!! 5 STARS!
Pros
strong culture, great people and an industry leader
Cons
not for people who don't want to put in the effort to be the best
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
building my leadership skills
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Somerville, MAApril 25, 2017
A typical day at Groundwork is working with my peers to help develop their skills. The hardest part is about my Groundwork is trying to build up other employees who are not as vocal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  New Bedford, MAMarch 15, 2017
Typical day included helping to market Groundworks to clients and help target a broader audience while also providing a marketing strategy for the company to expand
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to be outside and enjoy work
Landscape Laborer (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INDecember 9, 2016
typical day would consist of leave removel general yard work plant flowers landscape ,mow lawn,build rock steps or walls. drive around to clients houses and do basic yard work or resedential areas.
Pros
outside
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Gardening Company in the City
Senior Horticulturalist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 18, 2016
Groundworks was an amazing company to work for. The owners are competent and the team is incredibly professional. They do beautiful work and are incredibly thorough. They'd rather get the job done right than cut corners. I truly can't speak highly enough of this place!
Pros
Amazing rooftop views, Great team, Easy scheduling, Education opportunities
Cons
Freelance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more Groundworks reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Groundworks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 14 reviews
55
43
32
22
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture