Groundworks Companies Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search See all 94 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Employee (Current Employee) –  Lees Summit, MONovember 5, 2019
Great place to work for motivated professionals looking to be directly rewarded for their hard work. Team / helping atmosphere. Ongoing training and support. Lots of room for advancement with hardwork and dedication to continued growth and improvement. Wouldn't work anywhere else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mismanaged, unfocused, unethical company!
Administrative Assistant/Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chester, VANovember 4, 2019
No processes and procedures in place. Employees fired every other day! No control over your job as other responsibilities from fired employees are heaped onto you. Lack of communication! 18 years of backlogged problems that you are expected to reconcile, but they refuse your solutions! Very poor management with no forethought! Do not plan to work here. It’s a slave galley with no office space or proper tools to accomplish what they demand!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for, steady work with little to no supervision.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAOctober 28, 2019
As long as you come to work everyday and give them 100% you will have a position with the company. It is very important to keep up with collections so that the bills can be kept up to date.
Pros
Free parking, Health and Dental Insurance
Cons
Irate customers, not much overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Certified Field Inspector (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCOctober 10, 2019
They are terrible do not work for them!!! They have no idea what they are doing. Management is terrible and tells you nothing but lies. They still owe me $1800 from jobs I sold. So if you like working for nothing they are a great choice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Manassas, VAOctober 9, 2019
This company is fantastic! There is so much room for professional growth. People are constantly being promoted and rewarded for hard work. There are some great contests each month as well.
Pros
Good work environment, competitive pay, and room for growth.
Cons
Not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company if you have ample time to work and no kids
Forman (Current Employee) –  Twinsburg, OHSeptember 19, 2019
great company to work for other than the long hrs i average 12-14 hrs a day mon -fri i need to write more so im just babbling at this point so i can move on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome HR Department
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 13, 2019
The SVP of Human Resources was awesome to work for! She had our department running and operating very smoothly! If I didn't have to relocate, I would still be on her team! She was really an effective leader, and I miss her, and our team dearly. Since I left, I've also moved into a leadership role, and I am so happy, that I have her to mentor me on my new journey!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Installer Tech (Former Employee) –  Whiteland, INSeptember 10, 2019
They don’t care what’s going on in ya life their bottom dollar is money and that is all they care about.
Pays decent .. lots of overtime .. expect to be homes around 7-9pm or later during summer .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Coforeman (Current Employee) –  250 nw commerce lees summit 73112September 10, 2019
Good ok if you like to work alot of hours anytime but if u like money its cool because thats excellent to change your life . i have definetely unlocked potential through my job that i didnt know i had
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meetings
Appointment coordinator/sales outbound. (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 5, 2019
bad management. no one knows what they are doing. don't do it!!!
they will tell you one thing and not do it. no raises. they want you to do more for the same pay. management doesn't know how to help the team grow and do better.
Pros
none
Cons
dont pay well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Installer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 31, 2019
Great job to have alot of experience in the company to grow people are great and customers are very happy with products salaries are limited but could be increased
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for some
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJuly 17, 2019
If you like customer service both in and outside the office, this is the job fir you. Management really helped out when my family was in need of my personal attention. I am always grateful for my HES Family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PEOPLE but not worth it.
Co foreman (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJuly 1, 2019
BIG BIG BROKEN promises dont believe anything this company offer's you. The communication sucks and there just jobs for some people and this one here half shouldn't even be there for my opinion but for 12.00 and hour it's not worth it. And by the way GOOD LUCK getting a raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
think again!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJune 20, 2019
If you like poor management, crude and unprofessional people with low pay than the market demands. Sure then try this place is perfect for you. Good luck!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hard work
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Whiteland, INJune 5, 2019
The laborers are cool but can be exhausting when they quit or don’t show up for work . They will lie to you to get you in the door then say they never said that . Management are 2 faced and bad mouth Forman and laborers all the time . Health insurance is unaffordable and they Change providers every year. You will work average 55-65 hrs a week and hardly any raises. The operations manager is a goon who gets short with people and has a mouth with no filter . They hire junkies and pot heads . Getting time off is a joke as well . Don’t make plans on a weekend because if someone or a crew doesn’t finish they will leave messages on the board when you come in after work to tell you that your working with out a notice . If you work here don’t plan to retire because I don’t think anyone could handle that place that long . Good luck
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work.
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Chester, VAJune 3, 2019
I started working at JES when I was 19 yrs old in 2004, it was the best decision I made in my life. Since then I have done nearly every job in the company as I have basically grown up in the company, I started in the office phone room finding that wasn't for me I switched to the field installation team, eventually working hard to become a foreman and run my own crew, as I mastered the skills needed to take care of our customers at the highest level possible, I was called on to work in the service and production manager role. When I wanted to make more money the company gave me the opportunity to try my hand in sales. I became a master of the sales process and finding solutions to homeowners most difficult issues,with the companies encouragement and OJT of the sales processes, and customer service eventually taking on a Jr. Sales Manager then a few yrs later regional sales manager where we were able to quadruple the size of the branch in 4 yrs, through the years of training and development this gave me the opportunity to apply and accept the General Manager role in our Richmond Va region. The core values of our company are the glue the holds the company together. The practice of Meritocracy is what makes me never want to leave (your paid exactly what your worth here) They pay top dollar to top talent, and have a ton of opportunity to grow, in 15 yrs since I have been here we went from 31 employees to over 900, and we are continuing to grow at 20% per year. I truly LOVE working here and though some days are long it never feels that way when you know your fellow co-worker all have  more... the same determination to work until the job gets done right.I would recommend this company to anyone who is honest, hard working and wants to go to the next level!  less
Pros
Career advancement, On the Job Training
Cons
Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for some
In Home Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Twinsburg, OHMay 8, 2019
Ohio Basement Systems can be a great opportunity for salespeople who enjoy memorizing and regurgitating 25 pages of scripts in a presentation that averages ~2 hours in length. "Pre-qualified appointments" are nice if you don't like canvassing or cold calling. However, MANY are one leg presentations, cancellations during the 3 day rescission period are common and a lot of customers never get financed. You get zero compensation for those "deals." There doesn't seem to be any pre-qualification of the appointments before you're sent on them. I believe their appoinment setters get paid on the number of appointments they set - regardless of meeting any sort of qualification. They do provide you with a laptop and a very impressive digital presentation that to my knowledge the competitors don't do. It definitely helps explain the problem & solution to the homeowner. This is definitely a one-call close selling environment so if anyone tells you they don't expect you to use high-pressure tactics they're being less than authentic with you. Decent commissions can be made if the deal actually goes through and you remind management to pay you for them. Half of your commission is paid up front if the deal is approved for credit or the customer deposit clears. The balance is paid when the project completes, typically 2-3 months later due to a usual production back-log. You have to stay on top of your commissions because there is often something that gets overlooked by someone up the chain preventing you from getting paid on time. "So and so has been slammed so they didn't process your deal.  more... You'll get it next pay period." They pay a weekly gas allowance which helps keep the tank full but does nothing for the additional maintenance your car will need since you'll put a lot of miles on it. But that can be said about many in-home sales positions. Just keep it in mind. You're also required to buy your own ink/paper for the multi-page proposals you print on a portable printer for every estimate you do - there's no reimbursement for that. Also like many other sales jobs, mandatory weekly brow-beating sales meetings are the norm. I'm not saying work for them or don't work for them. Hopefully, this review will help in your decision process.  less
Pros
Decent commissions when they actually are paid, semi-home based, quality product/service with many favorable online reviews
Cons
Too many one-leggers/unqualified appointments, Having to chase after commissions you earned, non-reimbursed out of pocket expenses; long hours including hours of paperwork after you get home, can be slow in winter months
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardwork
Construction worker (Former Employee) –  Placerville, CA 95667April 10, 2019
job recommended for hard workers, long day, but good pay and benefits. always work to do, places to go, early mornings, 30 minute lunches pretty standard work for construction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Installer (Current Employee) –  Chester, VAApril 4, 2019
Good company to work for. Great opportunity to grow, great benefits over all its great company with great people running the show.. they give people with records a second chance at life..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing too quickly
Certified Structural Consultant (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAMarch 14, 2019
The company is wanting to grow. Unfortunately they are throwing up on themselves because of over work due to increased chaos. There is not enough labor to cover sales
Pros
If run correctly, huge money making potential
Cons
Pyramid for sales with the bottom turning ang burning
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Groundworks Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 94 reviews
541
415
316
26
116

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture