Group 1 Automotive Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work
VIP Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Harris County, TXJanuary 17, 2018
friendly environment, growing opportunities, training provided, career development oriented. worked with a very professional team that gave me support all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Controller and Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2017
No way can i recommend this operation.
Been with them 9 years and just retired. This is the most dysfunctional company I ever worked for. Criminal in so many ways.
Truly a company that will skin you alive. Skimming and adjusting the numbers so as not to pay employees what they really earned. Customers are just as vulnerable and often cheated and lied to. This behavior is ramped and starts at the very top. It's all about the money and screw anyone that can't be exploited.
Pros
Close drive
Cons
As many as there are stars in the night sky.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst automotive company in my 30 year career.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  TexasDecember 18, 2017
A numbers only company. They care nothing about employees or customers, just the bottom line. Management changes are frequent. You don’t make the numbers, you’re out. Long term employees are too costly, you are quickly replaced with cheaper inexperienced people.
Pros
None
Cons
No steady management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Parts Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stratham, NHDecember 4, 2017
Company is a terrible place to work. Promise you everything under the sun and don’t come through. Was promise a raise after 6 months of training. I was here for a year and a half with not a penny raise.

All management is terrible no matter what department.

Stay away from this company!!!
Pros
Drive nice cars on occasions
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with great benefits
Billing Clerk Level 3 (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 24, 2017
EXCELLENT COMPANY WITH GREAT BENEFITS! GROUP 1 OFFERS MANY REASONS TO STAY WITH THE COMPANY AND MANY OPPORTUNITIES FOR GROWTH AND ADVANCEMENT. The work days go by swiftly because there is plenty of work to do. Never a dull moment and everyone is eager to work together as a team. IF you are a worker who prefers an individual work environment, they will accommodate that as well. they care about their employees as much as they care about the company growth. they believe the success of the company is driven by keeping the employees happy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Service Scheduler/ Senior Agent (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 20, 2017
This is a good company to work for. They do promote from within. Management is willing to work with you if you are having personal issues. Overtime is offered but not manditory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I have worked for.
Sales Manager, Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 6, 2017
Excellent continuous training, support and opportunity for growth. A great company to work at. I learned a lot over the years with Group One Automotive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement no raises work you like a dog for nothing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 22, 2017
This place is a joke. The management spoils one department and belittles another, takes away food for meetings for one department everyone else gets it, pays next to nothing, and treats employees like they are nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated and Unfocused
Sales and Service (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MASeptember 18, 2017
The stores are being mismanaged from ancient schools of thought about customer service, productivity inspiration, and methodology to name a few. Very little room to grow, improve, or succeed in most departments. The mission and directives change too frequently to be rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Grind
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 13, 2017
Car sales is not easy. While I thoroughly enjoyed working with most of management, truth be told, I'd rather work for a smaller family owned operation than a large corporate one such as Group 1.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for beginners tech.
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Danvers, MASeptember 11, 2017
You learn good as hourly because all the good work goes to hourlys "they need to learn" Once you become flats rate good luck. Talking about Lexus Danvers.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Not enough work. They pick and choose. No help if you get stuck in diagnoses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Toyota - Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CASeptember 6, 2017
No work life balance. The management there was horrendous. Scheduling was always released late which made it nearly impossible for clients to schedule appointments.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Bad management, work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Sales (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, CASeptember 4, 2017
This company claims to be publicly traded but operates like the mob GMs run their stores like a gang and HR is off site don't make the mistake of setting foot in one of their stores
Pros
None
Cons
Run run run
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management staff and advancement opportunities
INVENTORY/BILLING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 29, 2017
Group 1 Automotive was an exceptional place to work. My manager was very fair and understanding and they were good about acknowledging and rewarding the efforts of their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, Relaxed
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasAugust 27, 2017
There is a lot of room for advancing in the company with all of the acquisitions that are happening. On the high-line side there is great pay with an easy schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 25, 2017
Customer service, in a high volume inbound call center. Chance of advancement in due time.
Hardest part of the job is disgruntle customers if you can not handle customer service.
Pros
Great location
Cons
mandatory 30 minute lunches if call volume is high
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized!!
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bmw midtownAugust 23, 2017
Turn around is horrible! More about numbers than customer service. Staff is not friendly and does not seem like a friendly environment. Customers feel inconvenient and as a matter of fact there is no customer service.
Pros
Free lunch dor employees on saturdays
Cons
Rarely get a lunch and expected to take your work home with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of culture
Schedule Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2017
The employees were amazing, management not so much. The managers were unnecessarily picky. The pay was not enough for the stress that employees went through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Netstar administrator (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, CAAugust 17, 2017
The place is always clean, all the coworkers are always friendly, they pay attention to your needs and concerns, parking is available, daily lunch truck.
Pros
Parking
Cons
Nothing to eat close by
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAAugust 16, 2017
Group 1, well actually Ira Motor Group when I began to work there in December 1998, was a great place to work. I was there for almost 13 years and learned a lot through my time with them. I left due to my pregnancy with my now 6 old twins. I was in the main accounting office when I left to go on maternity leave. In the meantime, the accounting office was centralized down in Houston Texas, which made it impossible for me to return back with the company after my maternity leave.
Pros
Great place to work, excellent learning experience.
Cons
Accounting office was centralized down in Houston Texas
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Group 1 Automotive. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 141 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8