GSD&M Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work/family life balance
Production (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 4, 2018
work/family life balance, workplace culture, enjoyed the teams I worked with, management, fast paced, learn to work with many different personalities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Formerly great agency past its prime
VP, Strategy Director (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 26, 2018
Strong, cliquely culture of insiders with little experience elsewhere. Self-consciously creative the advertising they produce is mediocre.
The agency lost th plot when marketing became digitized.
Pros
Austin Insiders
Cons
Don't like outsiders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family and community-based ad agency
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 21, 2018
Strong family oriented company that values hard work and the creative idea. Core founding member principles are still well and alive today and that makes it a unique place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with a great reputation
INTERACTIVE STUDIO MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 15, 2017
Sometimes that reputation can get ahead of you. GSDM is big and that size brings its own set of issues. The employees all seem to be nice but there is a certain sense that all drink the kool aid.
Pros
nice office location, gsdm has lots of money to spend
Cons
competitive work culture, esp with departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gsd&m
Editor (Freelance) (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 23, 2017
My experiences with GSD&M have always been pleasant. The head creatives are also passionate and enthusiastic about the work they do and are great at collaborating with the editors to achieve their vision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A large creative place to work
Associate Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 21, 2017
It is one of the biggest shops in Texas and the creative is challenging. Can be intimidating for timid creatives and the final creative may end up watered down depending on the amount of fingers that are in the process.
Pros
Great Resume builder
Cons
Not friendly or inclusive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and the days vary on the difficulty
Park Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 24, 2017
It was steady moving job some days where harder than other but nothing i couldnt handle our employees are very helpful you catch on easy to the job assignments and day will be over before you know it
Pros
Quick money
Cons
Not enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talented Group
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 20, 2017
Very smart, talented co-workers. Lots of changes in recent months (but what ad agency isn't?). Heavy workload with little let up. Overall good culture and positive environment.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and wonderful place to work
Senior Media Buyer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 14, 2017
Wonderful place to learn all facets of the media business. Great management team. Wonderful working environment. Senior management created positive culture within the company.
Pros
Working environment
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture was very relaxed but at the same time it was very busy.
Production Artist/Lead (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 24, 2017
I worked at GSD&M for 11 years. I managed a production team.
There were a lot of late nights but the work we all did was impressive. I always felt that we were all a team working towards a purpose.
Pros
Culture
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the environment
Media Planning/Buying Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 1, 2016
I loved GSDM, it was such an amazing place to dive into the advertising world. I learned so much from my mentor. Management was friendly patient and had a passion for what they did. Overall it was a great place to be!
Pros
The staff was amazing and had a contagious passion for their jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be fun environment but not anymore
DIGITAL STUDIO ARTIST (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 6, 2016
They used to give a lot of cool benefits like free music shows and game days, but they have cut almost all of them. I have not been granted a raise the entire time I have been working here.
Pros
some fun pluses
Cons
low pay, no raises, hard to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Advertising Agency Experience in Austin
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 15, 2016
Plenty of large clients to gain experience in traditional media. Lacks digital chops young talent needs to be well-rounded.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Account M anager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 14, 2016
Great company. Learned a lot about advertising and marketing. The culture and people are about "work hard and play hard."
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun but can burn you out
account (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 18, 2016
Pleasant at times. Good people in a good space and location. Hard to move up with a top heavy archaic agency model and hierarchy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun and flexible
Drtv project coordinator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 20, 2016
the flexibility of my job is awesome. working w/ the team to get our client the most of their time and money. stressful at times but worth it in the end. the family feel of our agency is awesome
Pros
flexibility
Cons
last minute client decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, tough environment
Creative Services (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 9, 2015
Coworkers were great, management super. Very much encouraged personal growth. Large company that didn't feel large. Main problem was expectation of working a lot of hours and the obvious disparity in pay among employees.
Pros
Great absolutely topnotch benefits
Cons
Rough for work/life balance, underlying culture very competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Media Planner (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 13, 2015
The high-level managers at GSD&M really truly care about everyone's happiness and work-life balance. They take many factors into consideration when promoting or moving employees to different teams and care about all the input you can share.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Invoice Auditor (Former Employee) –  DowntownApril 10, 2015
I really enjoyed my time at GSD&M. There are lots of fun activities planned for employees and they are great about balancing work and time off. Once you are in a certain department though, it is not as easy as they say to move to or gain experience in another department. There are also some micromanagement issues that don't necessarily vibe with their core values though I'm sure that doesn't apply in all departments. All in all, it's a great place to work and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to work in the advertising world.
Pros
Great people, great location, very fun work environment
Cons
micromanagment issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Assistant Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 7, 2015
Takes pride in their work culture, but needs to have a better training program. You also have to be very proactive to even get annual reviews.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GSD&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
59
48
38
21
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

3.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

GSD&M Reviews by Location