Guardian Industries Employee Reviews for Packer

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 267 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is for those that need to make more than a 40 hour paycheck.
Packer and Skill position operator (Current Employee) –  Carleton, MIMarch 13, 2019
On the surface the rotating schedule, 2 on, 2 off, 3 on, 2 off, 2 on, 3 off, repeat. Seems pretty good. But then you add in mandatory OT and you seldom ever have a whole weekend off. There is no work / life balance. This job is built for people that cannot live on a 40 hour weekly paycheck. Lots of OT available and good health benefits. Pays the bills but your kids will never see you.
Pros
OT and good health benefits
Cons
Poor work/life balance. Petty management. No paid sick days and if you do call off, it is held against you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stable place to work.
Glass packer (Former Employee) –  Corsicana, TXOctober 15, 2018
Guardian Glass Industry is a stable company to work for. They offer good benefits. They are a company that has been around for years and will probably be around a long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
packer/box maker/forklift driver
Packer (Former Employee) –  Richburg, SCJune 14, 2018
pack glass off the assembly line, as a forklift driver I had to get the packing list it lets you know what glass that the line is running so that I can set out the boxes that the glass go into.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Packer (Former Employee) –  Corsicana, TXJuly 17, 2017
Good learning opportunities for everyone. Nice people. Good boss. Weather is hot and dry for not too bad. Really layed back everyone friendly. I would recommend to other people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected.
D Crew Line 1 & 2 Packer (Current Employee) –  Carleton, MIJuly 3, 2017
I've spent most of my life in customer service of one form or another. This being completely different, I didn't know what to expect. I thought the work / life balance would be better than what it actually is. Shifts run a little over 12 hours but with the constant swings both weekly & monthly, it does make it hard to have a good work life balance. Half the time your really busy, which is good, but the other half is a lot of standing and just waiting, which really makes things drag.
Pros
The benefits they offer
Cons
alot of waiting for work & constant shift swings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and a very great place to work
Pack and grain operator (Former Employee) –  Corsicana, TXJune 16, 2017
Working at Guardian for couple couples years was a great experienced for me. I have learn so many things through my days at Guardian. Safety is the most important rules. Employees are hard working including myself and very helpful. We do are dask following the rules and very productive. Guardian is a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, disorganized.
Lower line/packer (Current Employee) –  DeWitt, IAFebruary 4, 2016
12 hour swing shifts. I'm not a fan of working nights, this was a new experience for me. Don't see my family enough. The job is a lot more monotonous than I originally thought it would be.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
long hours, very monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job is very dangerous, dealing with glass sheets
GLASS PACKER / LINE WORKER (Former Employee) –  Richburg, SCNovember 20, 2015
very physical place to work in. swing shift that will take a min to get use to. have to wear suits for protection. have to withstand the heat in the summer months
Pros
psyrate decent
Cons
passing out in the summer, work scedule, staying alert
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Packer (Current Employee) –  Carleton, MIOctober 14, 2015
A typical work day is coming into the plant finding out what kind of glass to pack for the day and pack it until your relieved by the next crew.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Glass Packer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 13, 2014
it was a good place to work for the money but the place wasnt going anywhere cause there were so much problems with the place.
Pros
money n overtime
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty much a dead end opportunity
Line Tagger/Packer (Current Employee) –  Carleton, MIJuly 4, 2013
Pros: Virtually unlimited overtime
Old school style factory setting
Decent health insurance

Cons: Low pay
Boom or bust schedule.. expect to work 70+ hours in the summer and beg for overtime in the winter.
Management.. yikes.
Epic good old boy system. Hard work will get you noticed but brown nosing is the only sure way to the top.
LAZY LAZY LAZY co workers.
Pros
Steady job
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work life blace
fab/packer (Former Employee) –  Webster, MAFebruary 17, 2013
your were never given a set schedule but most times you were made to work 12 hour days under unsafe conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work - they think they OWN the workers.
glass packer (Former Employee) –  Floreffe, PASeptember 8, 2012
They have absolutely NO regard for the workers.
They only pay about half of the industry standard wage ($14.40/hr).
Seniority does not exist. More years gets you nothing - no
additional pay, no preference on job bids and no job security.
If they don't like you they will fire you.
Very hot - 100 degrees is typical in summer.

The worst part is that the union (USWA local 1408) is owned by the company and allows them to do anything they choose. They should be de-certified and replaced.
Pros
nothing
Cons
12 hour days with three 20 minute breaks (no lunch hour)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive worplace
Packer, Backup tagger and close up (Former Employee) –  Carelton MiDecember 2, 2011
Get a good work out lifting glass. Fast Paced. Tough Management, Tough to advance because of limited positions.
Pros
workout, co workers
Cons
short breaks, strenuous, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report

See more Guardian Industries reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Guardian Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 267 reviews
561
483
369
233
121

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture