Guardsmark Employee Reviews

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 1,048 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5246
4286
3280
2117
1119
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,027 reviews matching the search See all 1,047 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a public place
front desk officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
Working my post at elpaso energy was very pleasant, the people were nice ,and friendly , i really enjoyed the company and work environment. I enjoyed the work staff and organization of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ramsey, MN 55303July 6, 2018
Guardsmark was a nice place to work. The job was pretty much stress free. The only bad part was that the pay was very low. I do not remember if they had any benefits but i know i did not have any through them
Pros
good life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok security
Security Supervisor (GDIT) (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAJuly 2, 2018
This company is officially closed. It was brought out by Allied Universal after losing a contract. No one can apply because it is no longer in business.
Pros
Good Job
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company has closed it Memphis Corporate office.
A/R Clerk (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 1, 2018
The Company has closed it Memphis Corporate office. Everything was structured, everything had its place. Following the rules was important to the Owner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and rewarding.
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 21, 2018
Very productive and a great opportunity to grow. Education program so that you further your career and education. Opportunity to get promoted within the company.
Pros
Pay for schooling
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work enviroment
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  New MexicoJune 18, 2018
Guardsmark was not a great company to work for it was poorly managed and most of its empoyees did not enjoy working for the company. the pay was poor and the management seemed as if they did not care about its employees
Pros
none
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and repetitive environment
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Saint Marys, GAJune 18, 2018
Slow paced with moments of excitement, provided good training for basic security needs. Little chance for advancement and few positions available for growth.
Pros
Good training and fair wages
Cons
Little advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 18, 2018
In the beginning it was a great company. They were fair. Not a company I would work for again due to poor management and favoritism. Got invited to the "Top Dog" awards ceremony, but found out that someone forgot to nominate me, so I never got rewarded or recognized for the work that I did. Scenario: A guy came up to the pool deck, stole a guest purse with all her personal belongings, money and camera. The guest was devastated, so the guest wanted to make a report, I called the police, checked video footage, remembered the description of the guy. Found out he was still in the area, police came, I followed and tracked the guy with police help, he ended up in the back of the hotel, and they apprehended him. The guest personal items were returned.
Pros
free uniforms
Cons
Not being able to advance within the same company, had to move site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company till they sold to allied universal
Asst. Director of Security (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 18, 2018
they should have never sold out to allied universal worst move guardsmark did was a great company and worked with there officers , advancements with in and new hires
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and fast paced
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJune 17, 2018
Great place to work! The company has moved to California. There may be one local area left but I am not sure. I learned to pay close attention to people and their actions in the workplace.
Pros
Free health insurance
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to work.
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 6, 2018
The sites we worked are sites where you have the opportunity to walk around and/or drive a golf car so we are never at a particular place for too long.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Not enough opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nicely organized work flow
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJune 6, 2018
For what is to be expected in this role, this is an ideal place to work at when learning the basics of working as a Security Officer. The Guardsmark contract expired there.
Pros
Organization of work objectives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 25, 2018
Management let a supervisor hit an officer and did nothing about it. They suspended the supervisor but let him take vacation pay to cover the time he was off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 24, 2018
I had a good time working for Guardsmark, and I enjoyed meeting new people while I was there. My co-workers were good people to be with and I learn other aspects of the job through yearly training.
Pros
Flexibility of schedule
Cons
Pay scale needed improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average security job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 22, 2018
ok place to work. Client company was Spacex. 12 hour schedule, four days then three days. Location was at Cape Canaveral Air Force
Station. Mostly granting access to launch pads.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work environment for those who can adapt
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 11, 2018
Guardsmark will provide you with the minimum to do your job and it is up to you to handle the rest using your better judgment and the minimal training offered by the contract you are sent to work at. I liked the solitude and it's an easy job for students but advancement is very limited and cut-throat whenever jobs do open up.
Pros
easy job for students
Cons
limited prospects for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 10, 2018
- Strategically steered safety-focused security operations across multiple properties in Ohio and Texas, including effectively securing properties and performing comprehensive interior and exterior patrols per key company protocols.
- Led targeted shift-based decision-making among a top-notch staff, including prioritizing workflow to achieve objectives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working under kansas city power and light
SECURITY OFFICER/SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 6, 2018
I worked under contract with KCPL with GUARDSMARK from 1999 to 2004, I worked with some good and not so good people. I learn the trade of security work.
Pros
N/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  DeRidder, LAMay 4, 2018
Honest company, good people hire to fill position, Provided training needed. CPR and First Aid Provided. Excellent relationship with client. Driver's training Safe driving award provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees in our branch all worked well together.
HRS/Admin (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAMay 1, 2018
Guardsmark's corporate office was out of state. There were a lot of policies and guidelines we had to adhere to that were at times inconvenient due to the time difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport