Guckenheimer Employee Reviews

Found 148 reviews matching the search See all 149 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job Management Unsure of all
Cashier/Barista/Server (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 1, 2018
Loved the job. My coworkers and the customers we serve were amazing. Few bad eggs, but overall good. Management needs work and help. Manager was great but sometimes indecisive.
Pros
Great Job
Cons
Management needs work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work great people
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 28, 2018
Had a great time working there met some great people there and had great success and experiences there. I would have stayed with the company but my last manager I refused to worker under.
Pros
Great benefits, chances to advance
Cons
Training could be better, chefs spread thin at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mahwah, NJOctober 9, 2018
Nothing bad to say.. i would go back if i could but had to move out of state.i would recommend to anyone.. the benefits and schedule was perfect! And management was awesome too
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAOctober 5, 2018
Guckenheimer is a very nice company to work I definitely recommend to any one to work there . in guckenheimer you have the opportunity to develop and practice your knowledge in all levels . nice people and the management is high qualified person to be there
Pros
free lunches
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 1, 2018
Guckenheimer lack of management support in the East Cost it is amazing. Although the hourly employees at the Unit I was assigned to are super hard workers and care about their job the lack of support of the company is just too much. When they signed me up for the job I was told that it will be 10-11 hours shift and I don't remember the day that I left work without at least working 15 hours shifts.
The benefits package it is fine but they don't match your 401K.
If you are planning to work for Guckenheimer think of applying to any west cost unit. The reality of the company there seems to be way different and so much better places to work.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours of work, lack of management support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was unorganized and rude.
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 28, 2018
I was pregnant at this job and they did not believe I was so they refused to allow me breaks for the restroom and until my Doctor confirmed my pregnancy I was not allowed to eat or drink during my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Cashier , barista , stocker , food prep , catering (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CASeptember 18, 2018
Great benefits . Love working . I would recommend to anyone looking for a job . Very nice people . Good pay . Insurance . Paid time off . Paid vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manager/Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 17, 2018
I enjoyed working for Guckenheimer but I have to move on because of my relocation. I tried relocating my job to other units within the company but it has not worked so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was poor
UTILITY PERSON (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 5, 2018
There was no advancement, poor communication, and lack of management skills. The environment was stressful and sometimes non productive. Restricted to communicate with other employees, manager was too controlling and bossy. Could not talk to Human Resources or payroll, we were not given the numbers needed to contact these department. Everything went through the manager.
Pros
Help me pay my bills
Cons
Stressful and poor work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible leadership under head manager
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 4, 2018
Negative work environment, supervisors talking about employees to other employees. No training, supervisors walk around doing much of nothing. Poor environment and pay.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Managers talk about employees with employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company for food Service
Front House Staff/ Cashier (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CASeptember 4, 2018
Start 6am
Break 10 min paid
lunch 30min not paid
to busy for pm 10 minute break have never took one
punch out on average 3:3pm

6am rush to set up and breakfast service begins 7am-10am
Break Down Set Up Lunch
Lunch 11:30 am to 2:30PM
Break down Clean
Set up for next day
Do It All Over Again REPEAT REPEAT REPEAT

Average Temp in Kitchen this summer 88 degrees
Front House 75

Must lift 25 lbs, Heavy, Hard Work on Feet 9.5 hours
Manadatory OT but OT rate is only is not paid if holiday, sick, personal day.

I want to work at a desk administrative not in food service
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Hard, Hard on Feet, Very Physical
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKSeptember 3, 2018
Not a good place to work I would not recommend to anyone. Please consider anything else than Guckenheimer. Consider getting out of the service industry if this is the only job open
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 31, 2018
This company offers great work life balance with paid holidays off. The management encourages their employees to take vacations and enjoy themselves in order that when they are at work they are happy and productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy, racism , agesim,
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  VeniceAugust 20, 2018
Poor Management, the fact that the company overlooks hardworking dishwashers. Thats the main reason that the compnay loose them. You are promised advancement in positions , if you show you like to work. That's what i did. They kept me at dishwasher for a year and hiring new staff for cook/porter/Day shift positions. Also, the pay was unfair especially when catering and morning shifts work fall on you
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Racism, Politics, harrasment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Driver (Current Employee) –  South San Francisco, CAAugust 19, 2018
Management only cares about certain groups. If you only speak english they talk about you in Spanish. The quality in food isn't good. Menus are horrible.
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced
Pantry Cook (Former Employee) –  Buena Park, CAAugust 14, 2018
Very fast Paced, and stressful environment. High demand in work load and not enough time allotted to carry out necessary tasks. Only a short time allowed for customer service.
Pros
only worked 32 hours.
Cons
Very negative and stressful atmosphere in the kitchen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace no room for mistakes
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 3, 2018
Nice job good hours for someone looking for morning jobs but must be fast pace, and know your way around the kitchen. Must get along with different personalities fairly easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAJuly 19, 2018
Fan every day no stress very good management work place culture very creative , hardest part was when we have a big event meaning to much work but at the and averybody go home happy end ready for the next day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cash Lead (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 19, 2018
It's an ok place to work, very fast paced. Dealing with alot of hungry workers some super nice, others very rude,pay is ok ............................
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Grneral Manager
Pantry grill cook and catering production (Current Employee) –  Palato, GAJuly 15, 2018
My typical day at Guckenheimer Enterprise is I work under the General manager and Executive Chef as one of the catering chef.

I feel my job is not stressful for I love what I do, for cooking is my passion. I love what I do and the General Manager and Executive Chef give me the freedom to empress my talent want in the kitchen.


For me the most enjoyable part of my job is at the end of the day is when the General Manager and Executive Chef tell me a job well done
Pros
I learn a lot at Guckenheimer
Cons
none just reach job salery for my job title
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Guckenheimer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 149 reviews
534
445
339
218
113

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight