Guckenheimer Employee Reviews

Found 110 reviews matching the search See all 111 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead-end Job
Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 7, 2018
The line employees are great as well as the customers. There is not room for advancement in this company. Whatever you are hired as with whatever the pay you agreed when hires is what you will be while you are working there period. They will constantly talk about it is a good time to be with the company since they are growing and there are opportunities but it is lie. There is also a huge politics game that upper management plays that adversely affects their accounts. I have seen them let an account fail to try to drive a manager out.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Bad Corporate Culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, somewhat friendly depending on location
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAJuly 4, 2018
The location I work at is pretty nice. Customers are mostly pleasant. It most of the time can get pretty hectic but it makes the day fly by. Sometimes it is so busy that you don't have enough time to finish what needs to be done. Management doesn't seem to like to hire more people and would rather over work their employees. When everyone gets along it can be a pretty fun work environment. Free food which is definitely a plus.
Pros
Free lunch, get to meet a lot of great people
Cons
Over worked employees with not enough pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bunch of confusion
Cook (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 2, 2018
I was hired initially for a 40hr per week job that then got turned into 37.5hrs per week due to "the needs of the business." Management is unprofessional and will talk about you, your work performance, and your personal life behind your back. They also try to put staff against each other. The revolving door of staff members means that they are never fully staffed so you're often expected to do the work of others including supervisor type work without a pay raise or compensation. Asking for help is useless because it's never provided and they try to shift the blame onto you for not getting your work done. The only good thing is that its Monday through Friday with weekends off. However if you're expecting to grow within the company or build up your skills try aramark.
Pros
Mon-fri work schedule
Cons
Back bitting, no support, overworking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great kitchens.
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  ArizonaMay 30, 2018
Wished the GM would listen to the employees or at least the chef. Great company and great Area Managers. Hope they're able to expand into the Arizona Market. Please stop bringing people from California to run Arizona kitchens, they have no idea about current trends in the region... Avocado doesn't go on everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management poor training
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Belfast, MEMay 17, 2018
Over worked under trained no support from corporate. Client is entitled and difficult. They say 45 hrs more like 60. Staff turns over constantly because outside of management they pay very poorly.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Robert Schmitz
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guckenheimer
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Newark, CAApril 25, 2018
I LOVE GUCKENHEIMER - a fair and honest company.

I LEARNED so much to be a well rounded chef

Work place culture is great

most enjoyable part of the job is sharing your talent and knowledge for the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you're a second tier hourly
Chef Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OhioApril 19, 2018
I started out as an hourly employee and was quickly promoted to management after sponging off of several chefs and i am blessed to get the opportunity to be salaried with this company. However the new cbord system is not a fit for what this company represents, its crammed down our throats. When clients want a lower subsidy the chef manager has to be under the microscope constantly. Overall i would say this job has taken 10 years off my life. Stand clear unless you are fortunate enough to have a client that understands and appreciates what guckenheimer stands forand is willing to pay that loss for the services.
Pros
Compensation, benefits, hours, hands off management
Cons
Stress, mental health, expectations, work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Pataskala, OHApril 11, 2018
The skills I have learned here could be used at any job, and even your day to day life. The staff is easy to work with, everyone is friendly and can make your day better.
Pros
Free lunch, paid time off, and no weekend
Cons
Nothing that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced placed to work but no room for advancement
Catering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 5, 2018
Overall a fun place to work. The clients as well as staff make it a fun environment to work in. The lack of advancement is slim unless you are willing to relocate.
Pros
Free lunch and good benefits
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible chef!
Job (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAMarch 28, 2018
The chef at the location I worked at was degrading. He was a jerk! Thought he was better than everyone else. Everyday was stressful because there was always way too much work for one person on each station. It was a horrible work environment everyone so miserable because it was so streasful. Company itself is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hourly pay with good tips.
Lead Staff (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 25, 2018
Quality clientele, tips well on top of high hourly pay. No benefits even when worked overtime for a long period of time, due to company policy loop-hole of PT food service employee. Stringent corporate rules, makes for a quality product. Room for advancement and then benefits when hired as FT non-serving emp.
Pros
High hourly pay.
Cons
No benefits for certain employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reported to a Non Guckenheimer manager. Stressful enviroment
Food Service Director, Business Service (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 14, 2018
I went to work at 6am to open up the food court kitchen for the employees. We had a group review with all the employees to review the menu for the day and see if there was catering for that day. I set daily goals and weekly goals. This group meeting also gave each employee to ask questions. A positive, relaxed, work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Redwood Shores, CAMarch 8, 2018
I truly enjoyed this position. Fast paced breakfast and lunch and also catering in a corporate setting. Wonderful, hard working employees and chefs. Company was outstanding to its employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours are friendly.
Cook (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 12, 2018
If you are a busy bee and also a morning person, then this would be a great place, you get off at 2 and you can go and do errands and beat the rush. Work-life balance is great.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Early birds only!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to leave because of the senior there but work was too much
Server (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAFebruary 9, 2018
This place had to much drama. The pay was really bad and the work was exhausting since the were so shorted staffed. But working with those seniors was the best thing they were so sweet and nice.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Shor staffed low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Assistant Manager & Project Lead (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 1, 2018
The location is a great place to work. The client provided a good environment. The location has a small team that provide a variety of services to a large client.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monday to Friday work
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 16, 2018
Very structured work environment. Company runs cycle menus which is nice for ordering and preparation. In-house executive functions allow creativity in the workplace.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
same customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guckenheimer
IT PROJECT COORDINATOR / OFFICE TEAM (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CADecember 20, 2017
Guckenheimer has been a delight to for, even as a temporary employee. The company, the management and the employees made me feel apart of their team. The comradery of the department I worked in was a welcome experience. I felt people truly enjoyed going to work as much as I did.
The workplace culture is an open door policy. I had such an awesome work relationship with my supervisor and colleagues, I wish it was a permanent position. However, the lady I replaced while out on medical leave, will be coming back, it's hard to say goodbye.
It has been such a wonderful experience to work here.
Pros
Snacks and occasional free lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filthy banquet kitchen and cut throat coworkers.
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 5, 2017
ZINC was touted as a fine dining establishment but the banquet kitchen area was filthy, coworkers were horribly mean and cut throat. The restaurant management was poor. Temp workers were regularly treated disrespectfully. I'd seen several temps cry over the things coworkers would say. Coworkers were constantly barking orders at newbies so much that it was hard to tell who was really in charge. This place is great if you want to work just a couple hours and take home minimal cash tips.
If working here, align yourself with the few helpful coworkers and you might do just fine.
Cons
Poor teamwork environment, backstabbing coworkers, ya gotta have tough skin for all the negative comments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Catering Manager (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAOctober 17, 2017
The work/life balance is huge for me. Plus, management seems to genuinely care about their employees. Compensation/benefits are slightly higher than similar companies. Great company to work for.
Pros
Free lunch, free work shoes, 401K, benefits, paid vacation/holidays, no weekends, day hours
Cons
Occassionally events can cause longer work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Guckenheimer. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 111 reviews
524
438
328
211
110

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight