Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Employee Reviews

Found 87 reviews matching the search See all 103 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racism
Lead Bartender Trainer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas Valley, NVNovember 5, 2018
The worst place I have ever worked , they do illegal things dont know how to run a bar are always out of stock the bartenders are lazy and the servers never tip out their bartender
Pros
nothing
Cons
racist, got hit on by manager, fired so they could hire a friend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Branch Dependent
Senior Hostess (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 27, 2018
As a chain restaurant, it really depends on the manager to make the branch either a great branch or a terrible branch - to customers and staff. Certain managers were amazing and made the workplace run fluidly and others just made terrible judgments and caused more delays with seating.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
No PTO, Sick Days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work environment
Host, Server, and Floor Manager (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAOctober 25, 2018
Managers try to work around time schedules of the servers. Colleagues are hard working and work to make your job easier. Days can either really busy and other times really slow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive team members
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 13, 2018
i enjoyed working for the store just not the manager. When i was working there the management was terrible. I learned how to properly cut New York Steak and other steaks, and Salmon (SEAFOOD)
Pros
The food was good
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with lots of team work
Server (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CAOctober 11, 2018
I really enjoyed working there. Coworkers and managers were easy to talk to an everyone was all-hands-in. Everyone helps each other out, and the amount of communication keeps everyone in check while having fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere and easy to learn
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 10, 2018
Began working here during college, starting with a few weeks of training. Schedule was very flexible, allowing you to write down your availability each week,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional ran by lazy managers
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 29, 2018
This place has to be the most unprofessional job I have ever worked at. Managers are very lazy, Didnr get paid fairly at all same with tips most people are not trained properly honestly I do not understand how that place is still going
Pros
None
Cons
No brakes lousy pay Lazy Workers and managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fast-paced
Server (Former Employee) –  Cerritos, CASeptember 13, 2018
The job was fast-paced, which helped the shift move by quickly. However, management and inventory was inconsistent. Tips were nice. Scheduling can be inconsistent as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, productive.
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 4, 2018
Not hard work, busy at time but easy. A lot of down time to clean. Managers are easy to talk to. Most of the time will give you days off if you need them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Busser (Current Employee) –  Canoga Park, CA 91303September 3, 2018
the only good thing is that they are willing to work with your schedule but they almost never promote from within and when they do its usually forever that they do. Plus the stress is too much on weekends and the comp is unfair from the work from FOH and BOH.
Pros
70% discount on first food then 20% on everything after
Cons
Stress work, No opportunity for 10 min break til after last call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Kaneohe, HIAugust 23, 2018
A great place to work and enjoyable environment. Alot of stress and not alot of time for family. I enjoyed my time at Gyukaku and learned alot especially with trying my best to be a great lead for my coworkers. the management took care of me and saw that i put in alot of hours and compensated for that. I would definetly go back. It is the perfect job if you are single. It is a little more challenging if you have a family
Pros
Superior management
Cons
Too many hours and not enough time with family, High stress level as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at, learned a lot
Host/PT Server (Former Employee) –  Valencia, CAAugust 22, 2018
Overall busy days, part time hours, great pay, great managers, holiday parties and exchanges.
I learned it was a great place for customers to socialize.
Pros
discount lunch
Cons
not enough mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with competitive pay
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2018
Gyu-kaku is a great restaurant overall when it comes to food, however if you are working there you may start off with only receiving 50% of your tips for several months. I'd recommend looking into this prior to applying.
Pros
Discount Lunch
Cons
Competitive pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your job title will be up to how well you do o scores
Server (Current Employee) –  Canoga Park, CAAugust 14, 2018
It can be fun but very very stressful and hard but you have I be fast and do your job to 120% it takes a lot of effort and the type of coustomer we get are very very needy so it gets very demanding for a minimum wage job
Pros
After you work with the company for a year they will offer you health insurance oucan get fro them.
Cons
A lot of rules and needyness from both coustomer and company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to make money, but not if you don't function well under stress.
Server (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 14, 2018
I had a horrible experience working here. The management was absolutely horrible, unnecessarily strict, politically biased among their employees, impatient and rude. The only good thing that makes up for the reck is the pay. The job pays fairly well for a serving position, but definitely not worth your mental and physical health if you asked me personally.
Pros
Compensation, free lunch (only for day servers)
Cons
No breaks, management, scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for starting servers
Server (Current Employee) –  White Plains, NYJune 9, 2018
good for starting servers they will train you. It can be fun, but the management is very frustrating. the way they give or cut hours is through peoples scores on your service and amount of emails you collect.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressing but friendly
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJune 3, 2018
Loved the place despite my short stint.
Staff was friendly, management was awesome, it was very coordinated.
But it was too stressful because this restaurant tends to be crowded with so many people. Which is why I think it's so successful.
Pros
Great food, friendly staff
Cons
Fast paced environment catch up to you if you're not fast enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great reataurant
Main Bartender (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYJune 3, 2018
Great environment. Just be prepared to learn a lot of stuff.. it was great to work with this awesome people. The happy hour it was out of control, and tips depend on how good you are
Pros
Schedule
Cons
No free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2018
There isn't a lot of room to grow in the company. Management is very secluded and doesn't seem to care much about employees. Great way to get your feet in the door if you want to work in the restaurant business but no room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 31, 2018
This place is run by disorganized lackluster leaders. They have no clue what their staff is doing. Horrible training regimen, super unorganized and not worth the headache.
Pros
Decent food.
Cons
Everything you can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 103 reviews
521
434
328
210
110

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture