HP Hood Employee Reviews

Showing all 166 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother applying
Driver (Former Employee) –  ConcordDecember 2, 2018
Don't leave your job for this company. In the 60 days i was ther i saw at least 15 to 20 drivers quit. Why do you think there is an ad all the time! I gave them the benefit of doubt and i should of listened to all the other reviews. They are absolutely TRUE! They do not pay overtime, it is a salary position. Drivers are working 6 days per week because no one wants to work there. Management absolutely lie to your face. There are cameras in the truck staring right at you. If you pick your nose they see it. The trucks are governed at 62 mph. Your are carrying heavy dairy products. You are lucky to hit 45 mph going up hill. You will be averaging about 450 miles per day. Do the math! You will only get 3 days off per year for Holidays. (Xmas, New Years and Thanksgiving. Plan on working all the other holidays. I did not meet a driver who actually enjoys working there. If you are married and have kids, plan on getting a divorce! STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
$$ is ok, benefits
Cons
hours, time off, family life, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great now it's awful
class a dsd driver (Former Employee) –  Vernon, NYNovember 27, 2018
Used to be a good job now it's awful. Management has no clue what's going on. Force you to use two hour short haul exemption at least once a week even will make you reset to use another one. Advertisment fails to mention all driver unload using handcart and hook, 250lb. Stacks of milk. 10 to 18 stops. Start time 20:00 to midnight. 14 to 16 hour shifts. Very little ot opportunities. Much much more cons to this gig, stay away!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Management
Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VANovember 9, 2018
Working for such a huge company has taught me how amazing people are willing to teach you new things. The most enjoyable part of my career is the skills I keep learning everyday. When I go into work I am excited to see what new project needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Barre, VTOctober 22, 2018
great place to work, fast paced, safety oriented, employees are taken care of. 401 k match, health benefits, incentives, profit sharing, vision, dental.
Pros
family oriented
Cons
7 days per week, 365 days per year, the plant is never closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many new things to learn if you are willing to learn
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  HP HoodOctober 7, 2018
I have started out as a separator operator and learned the ins and outs of the beginning stages of receiving milk to separating it to loading trailers. This also involved CIP and hand washing. I then moved to the fillers to learn how to put the products into a cup and learned how the machines run. The next step was blending cottage cheese and helping others. Now I am a maintenance mechanic. The facility is actually a decent place to work. There are many frustrations that come with it but keeping a good attitude and gaining knowledge helps keep things moving. If you are just starting out, chances are you will be working a lot of overtime due to seniority. The production scale can be complicated at times but most of the time, the company is good to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Conditions At H.P. Hood
Selector/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Agawam, MAOctober 6, 2018
Very Good Place to work until they moved me to 3rd shift.
My Co-workers were all professionals and they were committed to the success of the product/company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Lead Talent Acquisition Partner-Consultant (Current Employee) –  Lynnfield, MASeptember 24, 2018
HP Hood is a great place to work! The employees care about each other and take pride in the products they produce. The leadership is strong and has a commitment to their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Bad Place
Consumer Affairs Representative (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYSeptember 18, 2018
While I was hired part-time with the pretense that eventually the position would become full time, that never came to fruition. I stuck it out hoping that they would at least cave on the fact that you had to work 35 hours or more to qualify for tuition assistance that they offered and would not cave on that either.
Pros
Short work hours, free dairy products
Cons
nonflexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HP Hood
QA Technician (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 2, 2018
24 hour facility processing dairy, almond, and bottled products for large scale companies such as Almond Breeze, Lactaid, McDonalds, Muscle Milk, SlimFast, and Kelloggs. Union job with excellent benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is a joke
Vacation Relief (Former Employee) –  New York StateAugust 26, 2018
Constantly looking over shoulder to see who was gonna throw you under the bus next. Training sucks, Management is complete joke, only want to make themselves look good. Some Supervisors don't even know what they are doing.
Pros
Good money
Cons
No life outside of plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Dairy Processor (Former Employee) –  Concord, NHAugust 20, 2018
I do not have any comment for this section. Management is made up of mostly people that have been there a long time. They are very set in their ways. There really aren't any work instructions so it is "Watch & Learn"
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and detail oriented
Operated Filler (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 17, 2018
Filling your machine with paper for production while running the filling machine for production orders. Everything is based on quality check in order to proceed to the next step. You have manage your time and do things on a timely manner. Due to working on night shift I didn't have to deal with management. The workplace culture is not the best but not the worst like everywhere there's certain kind of politics.
Pros
good pay
Cons
not flexible work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work life balance
Manager (Current Employee) –  HP HoodAugust 9, 2018
Great pay and benefits. Ownership seems to really care about safety and employees but somehow that doesn't seem to get down to the site and department manager level. Productivity is king. Very little flexibility. A lot of scrutiny and opinions. You need to make Hood your #1 priority above everything to be successful here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great people, good benefits and Management isn't too bad either. Communication could be better. I really enjoy working here
Warehouse Planner (Current Employee) –  Batavia, NYAugust 8, 2018
I've had the opportunity to be part of a brand new plant and was there for the first product released. Its great and I couldn't be happier. I really enjoy this place, and would tell anyone they would be silly not to get a job working for HP Hood.
Pros
Benefits are great, Great people, great pay and a lot of time off
Cons
People complain about the dumbest things
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary not applicable
Brand Manager (Current Employee) –  Lynnfield, MAJuly 17, 2018
Typical Day is average brand management experience with a full CPG portfolio. Project management and cross functional team skills are essential to success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJuly 7, 2018
It was a milk Factory and it was a big facility in Winchester, and northern Virginia, I had opportunity to learn food safety and quality management in this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of vision and leadership
MAINTENANCE MECHANIC C (Former Employee) –  Oneida, NYJuly 3, 2018
zero training received, zero assistance received, terrible attitude from maintenance supervisors, nothing but negative attitude. never met the manager.
Pros
production employees are friendly and helpful
Cons
maintenance department leadership is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was once a great company
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Chareledtown, Ma. Tauntin Ma. And Concord, NHJune 24, 2018
I worked as a route driver for 18 yrs. It was a great company when they were located in Charlestown, Ma. But after they closed that plant and moved a bunch of routes to Taunton, Ma it started it's downfall. When I transfered to Concord NH it was a whole new workplace and it was really bad. The management don't give a rats A about you and they are so cheep as far as compensating you for OT. If you are a young guy do yourself a favor and go elsewhere unless you like being a brown noser.
Pros
Working by yourself
Cons
Hours, pay, and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All work and no play
Vacation Relief Operator (Former Employee) –  Oneida, NYJune 24, 2018
This job is minimally hard work but the hours and time will keep you away from your family and social life. Great pay, and company compensates you well for your dedication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good pay
Fluid Fill Operator (Former Employee) –  Agawam, MAMay 29, 2018
the best thing about this place is the pay. they pay very well and the bnefits arent too shbby either. the people are cool too. work is easy if ou follow directions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport